We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close To The Train Station”
Review of Mecenate Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mecenate Palace
Ranked #171 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Close To The Train Station”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Because we wanted to take the train over to Florence for a day trip, our travel agent booked us here. Other than its' proximity to the train and the St. Maria Maggiore Church, it is not particularly well located, as we walked our feet off for the Colusseum, Vatican, Trevi Fountain, Steppes for shopping, etc. The front desk staff speak eloquent English and are well-informed. The rooftop restaurant is pricey but airey and elegant, with beautiful views of the Church and sunset. The front desk staff also directed us to other restaurants nearby on the nights we wanted variety, and their suggestions were excellent, short walking distance, etc. You have to pay for wi-fi which is unusual these days. Rooms were nice and clean, as were the bathrooms (with bidets). Street-level outdoor dining was nice too. ATM right across the street. Nice stay but next time I want to stay over next to the shopping at the Steppes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    672
    178
    60
    59
See reviews for
376
724
54
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our first time in Rome, we booked this property based on TA reviews and instinct. It exceeded our expectations. The hotel was only 1-1/2 blocks from Roma Termini train/bus station and 1 block from a Metro station. It is beautifully situated across from the stunning St. Maria Maggiore church. The roof-top restaurant and bar have to be Rome's best-kept secret, as we enjoyed a delicious dinner while overlooking the Rome skyline. Great dining room service as well. Hotel staff was courteous and professional, and I wonder that some reviews stated that the staff seemed unfriendly. Could be that Americans expect everyone around the world to have the same "How ya' doin'!" attitude which is a poor expectation. We found the staff helpful and pleasant, but "friendly" as defined by Americans? No - but I'll take pleasant, courteous, professional and helpful any day over benign, overly informal incompetence any day. Room was much bigger than TA reviews led us to believe. Our triple room was spacious and clean, with tons of room to store clothing, luggage, etc. Floor-to-ceiling windows with "marguerite" drapes made us feel like we were staying in a 4-star hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Two great cafe's on the block made an afternoon snack-break worthwhile!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room that does NOT overlook the street so that you will not have to listen to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here a couple years ago. The location was great since it was easy walking distance from the Train Station. Traveled with a carry-on suitecase and we had no problem walking to the hotel. We wanted to stay close to Rome Termini so we could utilize the train and subway for our exploring. It was only two stops to the Coloseum on the underground. A couple stops the other direction to the Spanish Steps. These sites are easy to walk to also from this hotel. But on a real hot day the underground is nice to utilize when returning to the hotel. Also used the train to get to Tivoli. The hotel room was excellent but there were some issues. They didn't have our reservation for both nights. For some reason they got confused because we had two seperate reservations, one for each night from an online booking company. This was because we decided to add a day in Rome on our vacation. So they put us up at a comparable hotel a couple blocks away for one night and we returned there for the second night staying in the top floor suite with our own private balcony. Really a great! room, but nothing like what I would normally expect. I really appreciated the effort they went though to accomodate us. Sometimes even went hotels make mistakes their effort to correct the problem is lacking. Not the case here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel was conveniently located two blocks from Metro. A few stops on the Metro to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Coliseum and Vatican. Hotel's rooftop restaurant/bar was a hidden gem. It was relaxing and food was beyond expectations. The chef came out after dinner to make sure we enjoyed everything. Rooftop restaurant/bar has a beautiful view of Basilica Santa Maria Maggiore. Our room also had this spectacular view. We went on a bus trip one morning before the restaurant opened and hotel manager surprised us with a prepared breakfast to go. Hotel arranged our pick up from airport to hotel and departure from hotel to airport which was convenient and stress free. The towels were soft and fluffy. Bathroom was spotless. Sheets were changed daily. Hotel staff was friendly and accomodating. Stayed six days and wished we stayed longer. I would highly recommend this hotel.

The Bronca family from South Philadelphia, PA

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baker0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Triple room booked and we actually got a room in the annexe down the street, in what looked like a 2 bedroom flat. So that was nioce, to start with. Clean, comfortable and excellent views from the rooftop garden. Good location for the Colesseum/Forum. Close to Termini station/metro. Helpful staff too. Very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

From the minute we walked into this hotel we felt like we were welcome. I have stayed at many hotels in Rome but this one took care of us like we would exspect from a 5 star hotel in the US. A porter carried our luggage to our room, the front desk staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and spacious. There were even slippers on our bed for our use while at the hotel and to take home. The room we had was a suite as we needed seperate beds for four. Every thing was as we ordered and the air conditioning did not cost extra and we kept it as cold as we wanted. Our beds were turned down at night and little cloths on the floor next to the bed to wipe your feet before getting between the sheets. The view from the roof top restaurant and bar was beautiful We had drinks out there at night and breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was all you could want, boiled eggs, meat, cheese, bread, jams, fruit, juice, coffee and more. I would give this hotel 5 stars on service and all the little extras.
Jenny

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoGaeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Excellent hotel, it does need a little revamp in places but overall it was clean and comfortable. The roof top terrace is a must but be aware that the drinks are expensive when drinking on the terrace after 18:30, we payed 15 euros for two drinks so we only stayed for just the one! The breakfast on the rooftop terrace was lovely and very unique as a lot of hotels do not offer this service and the food was very nice. The location is excellent, placed directly in front of the Santa Maria Maggiore and only a 5/10 minute walk from Termini train station. It is advisable in the Summer months to buy a ticket for a Rome tour bus as the heat can make it very hard to walk around everything. We went with City Sight Seeing Rome and it cost us 25 euros each for a two day pass but it was well worth the money to avoid walking in the 38 degree heat! All in all it's a great hotel and we would go back there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Santa Maria Maggiore but this is at an extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#102 of 1,263 in Rome
923 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,263 in Rome
873 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#160 of 1,263 in Rome
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#175 of 1,263 in Rome
2,199 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#104 of 1,263 in Rome
3,055 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,263 in Rome
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecenate Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecenate Palace

Property: Mecenate Palace
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#163 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#181 Family Hotel in Rome
#195 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mecenate Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a 4-star luxury hotel, located in the historical centre of Rome, near by Colosseum and Roman Forum, overlooking the breathtaking façade of Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Eternal City's unique skyline.Dimora dell'800 confort del 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mecenate Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome
Mecenate Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing