We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable & friendly”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #94 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I have stayed at the Amalfi several years ago and enjoyed this stay just as much. The staff are friendly and helpful, rooms comfortable and spotless and we got a bargain room price booking directly on the hotel's website. The hotel is very conveniently located with all main attractions within walking distance. Only gripe was no fresh fruit on the otherwise fab breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemzhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor comments. We are really very happy that you came back here after several years. As you told in our website there are often same discounts and is a good idea to give a look before booking somewhere else. We are looking forward welcoming you back at the Amalfi Hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 959 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2011

The Amalfi Hotel is a lovely little hotel, 5-minute walk from the main train station and a safe distance away from the grimy, sleazy area around the Termini.

Our room was a "double standard" located on the top floor, a decent size and comfortable even for two singles pushed together (which we weren't expecting). The bathroom had a shower, toilet, sink and bidet (for those that use such things).

We had a charming view of the Santa Maria Maggiore (see picture), one of the largest churches in Italy, which served a more than adequate alarm clock. As with most places in Rome, roads are noisy but the sound-proofing in the room is very good. The TV didn't carry any English channels like Sky News, CNN or BBC News 24.

We found the staff to be very helpful, during check-in the information was clear and detailed. They recommended a nearby Pizzeria and offered us a 10% discount if we ate there. Should you find yourself without dinner plans and want to grab something quick to eat, there are plenty of places to grab a bite although you might have to travel to the Barberini, Spagna or Piazza Navona areas for something more hearty.

Included in the price was a free continental breakfast with croissants, bread, rolls, cheese, pate, cakes, biscuits, fruit and cereal served daily 7:30-9:30am. You will also find a steady stream of free tea and coffee served with a smile. The Amalfi hotel only had six tables for Breakfast and seemed a little busy on Sunday morning but the lady serving Breakfast had a cheery attitude and buzzed around keeping everyone topped up with tea and coffee.

To service four floors there is a flight of stairs and one small lift, with a capacity for two people each with a suitcase, although if you've stayed in a boutique hotel before you would know what to expect.

From the hotel, you'll find both the Colosseum and the Roman Forum a firm 15-minute walk. The nearest subway/tube stop is back at the Termini, we only used it once and that was to visit the Vatican which is completely the other side of Rome. The Metro costs 1 Euro per person and because it doesn't run through Rome we walked to most places, although Taxi's (official ones are White with a yellow light on top) are always available.

Overall, it suited our requirements perfectly, a clean and comfortable hotel a decent distance from most of the major attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damienstjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review after your staying with us at the Amalfi Hotel. We are really glad that you have appreciated the room and our staff. Location clearly plays a key part when choosing an hotel and I'm delighted to hear that the positioning of our hotel provided convenience for you.

We have just solved the problem with the Tv and now (10-03) is possible to see both CNN and BBC News 24.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We arrived to find our tour operator Directline Holidays had not paid our bill or apparently other bills we were told by the manager "for some time". The manager was very apologetic and extremely helpful and had still kept our room. A phone call from us to the company resulted in our particular bill being settled, but not the best start. However the hotel and room (ok our shower fan didn't work) were excellent value. The staff were just so friendly.The breakfast was cold continental but fresh and more than enough for us. It is situated 10 minutes walk from the Termini which hasn't got a great name for security but we had no problems at all.It's also about 10 minutes walk to the next nearest Metro. If you're ok with walking then the hotel is fine, it's about 15minutes from the Colosseum. Enough good restaurants in the area, so if like us you were worn out at the end of the day, you didn't have to go far for a good meal and drink. The Basilica just across the square is magnificient.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

The hotel was located within 5 minutes' walk from the Termini station. The room was well -appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The "continental" breakfast was plentiful, with a very wide choice, and unlimited coffee.
Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: January 2011
Thank Back_t0_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

Dear Guest,

A big thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. Looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

I felt at home. I was treated very well by all staff. Great location and great breakfast.
The price is good and the hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tutto33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

It was a great surprise to find a great service and cordiality in this small hotel near Santa Maria Magiore in Rome.
All staff very courteous, worried about the satisfaction of the clients, always ready to help. Clean room, excellent location, few minutes from the metro station and the Termini Train Station. Very near the Coliseum and Roman Foro.
Very good breakfast with espresso coffee, breads, cheeses, and so many other things!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SileneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

For a long time, we thought that the most important things for a hotel lie in: it is clean, warm (in the winter) , quiet, and has a good location. However, after the trip to ROME we have to say that the staff of the hotel are more important!

We spent three wonderful days in the hotel Amalfi in ROME. besides what i mentioned above, the most impresive thing for us is that the staff there are so nice, just like your old friends, which made me suddenly have a very good impresion of italian and forget all of the unluncky things. they are gentle, polite and humorous...

I remember clearly that the day we left, they gave us a small gift to remember ROME, and the lady in the cafetaría gave us a piece of cake for our trip to spain...

I don´t know if there are better hotels in Rome, maybe it is not very luxurious, but this is the best one we have stayed, not because the hotel itself is good, but bucause the staff there are really difficult to forget!

since we have thrown the coin in Fontana di Trevi, the day when we come back, we will stay in this hotel again, just like to visit our old friends:)

Tao

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xyxy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#97 of 1,271 in Rome
970 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,531 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#70 of 1,271 in Rome
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#152 of 1,271 in Rome
678 reviews
Esquilino
Mecenate Palace
Mecenate Palace
#169 of 1,271 in Rome
1,742 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,271 in Rome
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $75 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing