We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Rome”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Rome”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you are looking for a 5star fancy hotel then the Amalfi is not for you. But if you are looking for a lovely b&b style accommodation in a great central location then this is perfect. Was welcomed when we arrived to reception and directed up to our room. The staff were all very friendly. The room was basic but clean and perfectly comfortable. Restaurants and bars are located within easy walking distance and the reception staff were able to direct us to various places. Would definitely recommend. We got to the hotel using a shuttle transfer from the airport. It was 15euros each and dropped us right outside the hotel. The journey from the airport was about 40minutes. When leavin the Amalfi the receptionist kindly called us a taxi.

Room Tip: We had room 315 which was comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglandLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    350
    69
    16
    3
See reviews for
168
471
70
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Amalfi Hotel was a great hotel for our first trip to Rome.

The rooms are clean and have everything you need. Our room had a view as in the hotel photo on this page (with the flags) and had a stunning view of the basilica Santa de Mary of Maggiore.

The breakfasts were great and there was plenty to choose from (hot and cold) to set you up for a busy day sightseeing! The lady who helped in the breakfast room was lovely and could not be more helpful as were all the staff.

All the major attractions (Colosseum, Roman Forum, Palatine, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain) are within half an hours walk (maximum) of the hotel.

Finally, we would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rome and we hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The check in was easy and friendly. My room ( single #103) had very high ceiling with a skylight and remote which was awesome! Floors are marble and the room kept immaculate. Breakfast and the ladies were cheerful and friendly. Location is very close to the basilica Santa de Mary of Maggiore which is stunningly beautiful inside. However the neighborhood surrounding is pretty sketchy and after dark I wouldn't recommend strolling alone. It's a bit of a walk to any of the sights but can be done if you aren't trying to cram too much into your visit. There's a great little pizza and pasta shop a few doors down for take away food very reasonably priced

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RytNow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport-on-Tay
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel is in a good location with both attractions and restaurants nearby, and a shortish walk from the railway station. The hotel is tastfully decorated although our bedroom was very small with only space to hang clothes with no drawers (but they do find space for a mini bar). The breakfast room isn't big but the food on offer was nice. The biggest plus for this familyrun hotel is the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, even recommending a nearby restaurant and calling them to ensure we arrived ok!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest

We are happy to know you had a good time wih us!

Thanks for enjoying our service and the breakfast !

Looking forward to host you again the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

First class family run hotel. Rooms were excellent, cleanliness excellent. Facilities in bathrooms were also excellent. The lady who looked after breakfast was a really treasure. The owners were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble, they were always smiling. We would return with no hesitation.

Room Tip: We asked if we could have a large room when we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHarper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We're glad that you liked our family Hotel!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our first time in Rome was made all the more enjoyable because of the friendly welcome we received upon our arrival. The hotel is a family run hotel & the staff could not do enough for us.
My wife & I were given a smaller room than we had anticipated on arrival & when I asked if it would be possible to have a larger room it was done the same day with a fantastic view over looking the city. I forgot my adaptors & again I only had to enquire once & I was given 2 adaptors to use during our stay . lBreakfast was good & service again a high standard. The Hotel has been run for the last 30 years by the same family & we can fully recommend it .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for sharing such a beautiful review with TA users!

We do hope to host you again in the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our honeymoon. We arrived and the man working the front desk was very nice and helpful with places to go and eat. Our room was fine but it did smell strongly of cigarette smoke which I didn't like. We were staying in a non-smoking room. I took a shower, grabbed a bath towel, and the towel smelled of cigarettes too. After the room was cleaned once it was fine and the smell went away but not great to initially walk into. Breakfast was alright, nothing great but not bad either. Overall it was a fine hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bl4832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for reviewing us!

We're happy you had a nice stay with us.

We're sorry for the smell you had in the room the first night.

The Amalfi Hotel is a non-smoking hotel and in every room there is a no smoking sign.

Unfortunately, some people do not respect it and smoke in the room :(

Probably the cleaning lady has not been able to completely eliminate the smell of smoke.

If you had warned us we would have immediately changed the room.

Remember always to speak with us for any problem you have!

We hope to see you again very soon!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#76 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#89 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#98 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#101 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#77 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#58 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Property: Amalfi Hotel
Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing