We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #96 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Amalfi hotel is situated within walking distance of the main railway station and is great for making it an easy two stop holiday which is what we did. It is also within walking distance of the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. The beautiful Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore Church is just across the road. Even though the hotel is on a main road it is not noisy the double glazing works very well. The staff are very friendly and helpful, giving out maps and marking all the places of interest on it. The continental breakfast is plentiful but not very adventurous, the normal bread, croissants, cheese and ham, cereals and yogurt, but as the food in Italy is sooo lovely we didn’t worry about it. Wi-fi free and worked very well, no problems with connection.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome, and would return again. It is also a great location if you are travelling on your own as there are a number of good restaurants close by.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms and both faced the main road, we had no problems with noise and the air conditioning...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin34_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for Amalfi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 938 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Charming hotel in a very good location. Close to the main tourist attractions of Rome such as the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The hotel itself is lovely, the staff are friendly and very helpful. Our room was very small but absolutely spotless. I enjoyed breakfast particularly the very helpful friendly lady who served us everyday. I think overall Hotel Amalfi is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucylou1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely 'bijou' hotel in the centre of Rome. Not dead in the historic centre, but very, very close. Collosseum within walking distance, for example.

The hotel is small but perfectly formed. It has everything a traveller may need inside. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi was free. I would happily recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the forth floor, facing the main street. Could see the Santa Maria Maggiore church...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

It was a pleasure to return to the Hotel Amalfi after a year's absence. I arrived at around midnight after a very long flight with my luggage left in London. The night receptionist was sympathetic and helpful. The room I had requested was ready. Next day Cosimo was very helpful in contacting my insurance company in Australia and in directing me to an English speaking pharmacy to obtain medication.
Over the next three days the hotel staff maintained contact with the airline to check on my luggage until it finally arrived.
They had prebooked my visit to the Museo Borghese and were always polite and helpful.
My room was spotless, quiet and comfortable and there was a good variety of food and excellent coffee for breakfast.

Room Tip: There is at least one single room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisshunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Got an absolute bargain package including flight and Amalfi Hotel so this was a value holiday for me. Please note that this review is based on my stay in November 2012. Just to keep it nice and simple the plus sides are

1. Location - not so far from the Colosseum and the main metro station Termini.
2. Breakfast - simple but tasty
3. Service - staff members are extremely helpful the breakfast lady is amazing.
4. Value for money - amazing for the price, considering the area and it is extremely clean.

The negatives are

1. Wifi is not so great and is temperamental
2. The lifts is really really, really and yes really small

Overall the positives outweigh the negatives and as a result I give this lovely hotel a very strong four stars.

Room Tip: 1. Ask for a room with a window view of Santa Maria Maggiore Church. 2. Email in advance and ask fo...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenisShukur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a great little hotel to stay in for 6 days of sightseeing in Rome. Really helpful and friendly staff. Very clean room. Lovely breakfast. Good location. We highly recommend it and would return.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a room at the front.
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BritAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a family operated Hotel about 10 minutes from the Termini Station and in the shadows of Santa Maria Maggiore Church. I stayed 8 nights, thru 4 May. My room was comfortable, well furnished and very clean. The staff is a delight. Mr. Cosimo and his son showed great hospitality. Mr. Emilio recommended a great restaurant in the area. If you are looking for a nice hotel experience in close proximity to just about everything, this is it. Bravo and Prego!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#93 of 1,267 in Rome
894 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#68 of 1,267 in Rome
723 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#90 of 1,267 in Rome
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#99 of 1,267 in Rome
829 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,267 in Rome
1,305 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,267 in Rome
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $83 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing