We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home - as always”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #97 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

It was a pleasure to return to the Hotel Amalfi after a year's absence. I arrived at around midnight after a very long flight with my luggage left in London. The night receptionist was sympathetic and helpful. The room I had requested was ready. Next day Cosimo was very helpful in contacting my insurance company in Australia and in directing me to an English speaking pharmacy to obtain medication.
Over the next three days the hotel staff maintained contact with the airline to check on my luggage until it finally arrived.
They had prebooked my visit to the Museo Borghese and were always polite and helpful.
My room was spotless, quiet and comfortable and there was a good variety of food and excellent coffee for breakfast.

Room Tip: There is at least one single room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisshunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 957 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Got an absolute bargain package including flight and Amalfi Hotel so this was a value holiday for me. Please note that this review is based on my stay in November 2012. Just to keep it nice and simple the plus sides are

1. Location - not so far from the Colosseum and the main metro station Termini.
2. Breakfast - simple but tasty
3. Service - staff members are extremely helpful the breakfast lady is amazing.
4. Value for money - amazing for the price, considering the area and it is extremely clean.

The negatives are

1. Wifi is not so great and is temperamental
2. The lifts is really really, really and yes really small

Overall the positives outweigh the negatives and as a result I give this lovely hotel a very strong four stars.

Room Tip: 1. Ask for a room with a window view of Santa Maria Maggiore Church. 2. Email in advance and ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenisShukur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a great little hotel to stay in for 6 days of sightseeing in Rome. Really helpful and friendly staff. Very clean room. Lovely breakfast. Good location. We highly recommend it and would return.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a room at the front.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BritAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a family operated Hotel about 10 minutes from the Termini Station and in the shadows of Santa Maria Maggiore Church. I stayed 8 nights, thru 4 May. My room was comfortable, well furnished and very clean. The staff is a delight. Mr. Cosimo and his son showed great hospitality. Mr. Emilio recommended a great restaurant in the area. If you are looking for a nice hotel experience in close proximity to just about everything, this is it. Bravo and Prego!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was fantastic experience, great location close to terminal station, metros, many restaurants and close to Santa Maria Maggiore, infact we had view of the square from our window, which was great!!!
Staff at hotel were very friendly and helpful. Entire hotel is impeccably clean.
I highly recommend this hotel, great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shilpa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is well sited for walking to many of Rome's historical attractions as well as the bus and train station which are just a few minutes walk away. It is spotlessly clean and staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. Our room was 'compact' and I'm glad that my wife and I were there for only three days. Still, it was comfortable enough and nicely decorated. The breakfast room is clean and bright but the variety and quality of food and drinks is not very good. I suspect that the food was bought on price and not quality. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay at the Amalfi and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilbo471118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Amalfi for 4 nights in April 2013. The hotel is ideal for a short break in the city. It is only 5 minutes walk from Termini station and the train is the easiest way to get from Fiumicino Airport.
As previous reviewers have highlighted the rooms are quite small, however the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. The hotel will provide a kettle, but if you need any tea or coffee supplies these are not provided, as standard.
Breakfast was usual continental fare, fruit, cereals, rolls, cheese, ham, eggs, etc, so no complaints there.
All of the staff are very friendly and helpful with tourism advice and restaurant recommendations, there are a number of reasonable local restaurants within a few minutes walk. We did follow the advice of a previous Tripadvisor reviewer of a nearby restaurant (located right out of the hotel, down 1st small road on the right and short walk down on the corner on the left) and it was a disaster! So probably better following the hotels suggestions!!
I do not have any recent experience of similar hotels in Rome, but the Amalfi ticks all the boxes for a cost effective short break in Rome and if I return to the city will certainly consider staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JR_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,271 in Rome
965 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,271 in Rome
2,528 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#70 of 1,271 in Rome
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#138 of 1,271 in Rome
678 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#126 of 1,271 in Rome
1,334 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $77 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing