We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, location and staff.”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #101 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent value, location and staff.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Firstly, I must say how I am extremely picky about cleanliness and I would say that this is my top priority; my standards are very high. The Amalfi did not disappoint me AT ALL- it was SPOTLESS! The service was fantastic, my boyfriend and I tried to use our Italian and the staff were very patient and helped us with the language. We were made to feel very welcome from the start and the room had everything that we needed for a fun visit. There was a selection of foods to choose from at breakfast and again, the breakfast staff were polite and helpful. Lots of beautiful things to see just on your doorstep, for example, theBasilica of Santa Maria Maggiore not to mention within walking distance to the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and other fantastic sites and great and cheap transport links to Vatican City.There was a well-stocked mini bar with reasonable prices, we were given great recommendations for local restaurants and the standard of the bathroom was excellent. The shower was powerful, which we didn't expect seeing as we were right in the centre of the city. Furthermore, the bathroom was quite roomy, my boyfriend is 6'6 and he felt comfortable. We were in room 314 19th-21st February. This was actually a special birthday present for my boyfriend and I am thrilled that I chose this hotel as they didn't disappoint and helped to make his birthday extra special. We would love to visit again. Thank you Amalfi!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Actress-On-The-Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    355
    70
    17
    4
See reviews for
169
480
72
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The 5 nights spent at the hotel in February 2013 are unforgettable: the staff and owners are very nice and helpful, the room and bathroom were very clean, we felt like home.
The breakfast starts at 7:30 and sometimes the area was already full with tourist who head an early flight or excursion. The breakfast is hearty and the lady who served breakfast is the sweetiest person I have ever met (try HER capuccino, it is sooo yummy!), and she always makes you laugh.
The location is fantastic, just about (by foot): 7min from the Termini metro and train stations, 15min from Colosseum (if you don't get lost), 20 min from Trevi fountain and 30min from Borghese gallery.
Don't even hesitate when choosing your hotel in Rome, it is the best quality/price albergo in the city!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coquine_936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Super hotel-clean, comfortable and excellent value. Breakfast is good, although get in early if you want the fresh bread.
If your a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of house.
Free Wifi which a major bonus.
Absolutely great location to see all the attractions on foot. That said we got lazy and got cab to the Vatican, only €10.
Termini is 10 min walk max.
I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night shah at the Amalfi Hotel and have no complaints regarding the hotel,service and location. The staff were fantastic, very helpful and eager to please, the breakfast lady was brilliant! She was very friendly and made breakfast very enjoyable. Breakfast was good, great selection available. Free wifi. Beautifully clean rooms, basic but more than adequate. The hotel is in walking distance of all attractions, the nearest being the colosseum and the furthest being the Vatican. Local restaurants were good, best priced restaurants can be found on the side roads. I'd happily return to the Amalfi Hotel in the near future! 10/10.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned last evening from a 4 night break styling at the Amalfi. We were warmly welcomed by Francisco, and shown to our very clean and pleasant room. The room, 105, was an ideal size, at the front of the hotel with a view of the piazza and Basilica Santa Maria Maggiore. Breakfast was more than we expected with a good selection of cheese, cold meats, bread and pastries. Also on offer was cereal and fruit with juices, coffee and tea all served in such a friendly way by a lady who's name we do not remember.
The important thing about this hotel is that it is managed and staffed by members of the same family and the pride in their establishment and the service they give was for us exemplary.
You can of course pay a lot more elsewhere, you may get a bigger room, you may get a larger bar area, you will probably pay extra for breakfast, but for a 3 star hotel the Amalfi is a hard act to follow.
Other reviews talk about location, but we can add that we were able to walk to all of the main sites of Rome, the farthest being the Vatican Museum, but it was only about 1 hour away, including the odd coffee stop!
Nothing to do with the hotel, but beware of taxi rip off's from Fiumicino airport, should be no more than 40 Euro, we shared a mini bus with 4 other couples and still were charged 40 Euro, Francisco was so apologetic even though it had nothing to do with them!
Around the hotel are numerous restaurants, pizzeria and cafe's. Contrary to reports Rome is not an expensive place to eat, we paid on average 50 Euro for dinner, 2 course each, with a litre of wine, but you could eat well for 20 Euro for two including a glass of wine or soft drink.
Summing up, we do not often send in reviews but this was such a good experience on a sensible budget that we felt compelled write. A little gem!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front afford great views of the street, but if you are a light sleeper you will need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A very nice little hotel - cosy and charming. Only 10 minutes walk from Termini railway station. Our room was facing basilica Santa Maria Maggiore which added charm to our stay. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and air-conditioned. A nice choice of dishes at breakfast together with cheerful disposition of the waitress make you feel very welcome. When I visit Rome next time Amalfi Hotel will definitely be my choice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in Jan 2013 and had an amazing stay - we didn't want to go home!
Great location - just round the corner for the sightseeing Rome bus (highly recommend this), about 20 mins to the Colosseum and a 10 minute walk to the Termini Station.
Very friendly staff, showed us on a map where and how to get to all the key places in Rome, and also recommended us a FANTASTIC restaurant - Nipotino del Solitario.
Room was good, comfy bed and nice bathroom, never got a chance to try the breakfast.

Can't wait to come back to Rome, wish we could have stayed longer here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsundoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,258 in Rome
842 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#59 of 1,258 in Rome
715 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#99 of 1,258 in Rome
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#78 of 1,258 in Rome
662 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#77 of 1,258 in Rome
2,453 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,258 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Property: Amalfi Hotel
Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing