We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #102 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Super hotel-clean, comfortable and excellent value. Breakfast is good, although get in early if you want the fresh bread.
If your a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of house.
Free Wifi which a major bonus.
Absolutely great location to see all the attractions on foot. That said we got lazy and got cab to the Vatican, only €10.
Termini is 10 min walk max.
I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    357
    72
    18
    4
See reviews for
176
485
74
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night shah at the Amalfi Hotel and have no complaints regarding the hotel,service and location. The staff were fantastic, very helpful and eager to please, the breakfast lady was brilliant! She was very friendly and made breakfast very enjoyable. Breakfast was good, great selection available. Free wifi. Beautifully clean rooms, basic but more than adequate. The hotel is in walking distance of all attractions, the nearest being the colosseum and the furthest being the Vatican. Local restaurants were good, best priced restaurants can be found on the side roads. I'd happily return to the Amalfi Hotel in the near future! 10/10.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned last evening from a 4 night break styling at the Amalfi. We were warmly welcomed by Francisco, and shown to our very clean and pleasant room. The room, 105, was an ideal size, at the front of the hotel with a view of the piazza and Basilica Santa Maria Maggiore. Breakfast was more than we expected with a good selection of cheese, cold meats, bread and pastries. Also on offer was cereal and fruit with juices, coffee and tea all served in such a friendly way by a lady who's name we do not remember.
The important thing about this hotel is that it is managed and staffed by members of the same family and the pride in their establishment and the service they give was for us exemplary.
You can of course pay a lot more elsewhere, you may get a bigger room, you may get a larger bar area, you will probably pay extra for breakfast, but for a 3 star hotel the Amalfi is a hard act to follow.
Other reviews talk about location, but we can add that we were able to walk to all of the main sites of Rome, the farthest being the Vatican Museum, but it was only about 1 hour away, including the odd coffee stop!
Nothing to do with the hotel, but beware of taxi rip off's from Fiumicino airport, should be no more than 40 Euro, we shared a mini bus with 4 other couples and still were charged 40 Euro, Francisco was so apologetic even though it had nothing to do with them!
Around the hotel are numerous restaurants, pizzeria and cafe's. Contrary to reports Rome is not an expensive place to eat, we paid on average 50 Euro for dinner, 2 course each, with a litre of wine, but you could eat well for 20 Euro for two including a glass of wine or soft drink.
Summing up, we do not often send in reviews but this was such a good experience on a sensible budget that we felt compelled write. A little gem!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front afford great views of the street, but if you are a light sleeper you will need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A very nice little hotel - cosy and charming. Only 10 minutes walk from Termini railway station. Our room was facing basilica Santa Maria Maggiore which added charm to our stay. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and air-conditioned. A nice choice of dishes at breakfast together with cheerful disposition of the waitress make you feel very welcome. When I visit Rome next time Amalfi Hotel will definitely be my choice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in Jan 2013 and had an amazing stay - we didn't want to go home!
Great location - just round the corner for the sightseeing Rome bus (highly recommend this), about 20 mins to the Colosseum and a 10 minute walk to the Termini Station.
Very friendly staff, showed us on a map where and how to get to all the key places in Rome, and also recommended us a FANTASTIC restaurant - Nipotino del Solitario.
Room was good, comfy bed and nice bathroom, never got a chance to try the breakfast.

Can't wait to come back to Rome, wish we could have stayed longer here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsundoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Amalfi back in October for our honeymoon and had the most wonderful stay. Previously we had read other comments complaining about the size of the room....this is Rome and a city hotel and if you want a suite then pay for prices for a suite in a large hotel, but our room was more that adequate in size and comfort, it was clean and being at the front of the hotel made the room light and airy with the shutters open but delightful darkness for a very good peaceful nights sleep with the shutters closed.
The staff were so very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was as it says...a continental breakfast which was more than adequate to set you up for the day and yes the breakfast lady bustled about making sure everyone was happy.
We found the position of the hotel perfect and walked everywhere. The day we had decided to visit the Vatican we did use the hop on hop off bus situated around the corner from the hotel as it was a 20 minute walk to the Vatican and we just wanted to start our day there. But walking from the hotel to the different tourist attractions was wonderful with amazing sights wherever you turned.
This was our first time in Rome and definitely not the last - an amazing honeymoon helped along by a very enjoyable stay at the Amalfi, we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here last November for 4 nights. Our plan for the trip was to go sightseeing and eat lots of good food and this hotel matched our purpose for our holiday. The Amalfi Hotel was very well located from the Roma Termini Train Station around a 10 minute walk. As we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the receptionist who explained everything we needed to know about the hotel and showed us to the lift. Baring in mind that we had a suitcase each, the lift as very small but luckily we crammed ourselves and suitcases in and made our way up to the 4th floor. Our room was directly outside of the lift within 5ft and the door was quite thin which meant it was very noisy late at night and very early morning. Room was good, cosy but bed was not that comfortable. Decent bathroom but it seemed like it was all crammed. The cleaner came round everyday and changed the towels and bed sheets. Breakfast was only served from 0730 to 0930 everyday and only had max. 5 tables. All cold and continental food but was nice as a light snack as we would need before a busy day walking! A 20 minute walk to the coliseum, and an hour to the Vatican but got used to the walking as there was always buildings to see and look in. A small supermarket was located opposite to collect small supply's if needed. Be aware of city tax on checkout as Hotels do not pre warn you about this. Everything is located down towards the coliseum and the Pantheon. A good little hotel which may be a little further out than you like but cheaper and worth it.

Room Tip: Do not get room 424.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,263 in Rome
873 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#69 of 1,263 in Rome
719 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#110 of 1,263 in Rome
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,263 in Rome
2,466 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#91 of 1,263 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,263 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Property: Amalfi Hotel
Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing