We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need for a city break. Highly recommended”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #98 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I booked a spontaneous two day break in Rome and what a wonderful time we had. Great hotel that ticks all the boxes which offers everything you'll need. No frills, family run establishment offering a clean, comfortable sojourn. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.
For some reason Tripadvisor jumps from either "average" ratings to "very good" I have asked them several times why they don't allow a rating of "good" but have never received a reply. I have given Hotel Amalfi only an "average" rating for Sleep Quality, Location and rooms when it really deserves a "good" so my apologies to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misterhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanyou very much for your nice review!

We're happy that you had a nice stay with us and this is the most important for us!

We really hope to see you in the future in our family hotel!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for Amalfi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 938 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

just returned after a 3 night stay at the Amalfi. location was perfect just a 5 minute walk from the termini station with a superb view from the window, rooms were clean, continental breakfast was good. asked for kettle and were given fresh milk, teabags and coffee. WiFi worked well in room. bathroom was small but perfectly adequate.
the hotel staff recommended a superb restaurant around the corner (la forchetta d'ora) which in fact we ate at for all of our 3 nights. good menu and very well priced.
all in all we had a superb stay and would definatly recommend the Amalfi to anyone.

Room Tip: room over looking the street on a high floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brogs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We wish to thankyou for your kind feedback.

We're happy you had an enjoyable stay and that you appreciated our location!

We hope to see you again in Roma!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was simply wonderful. My mother and I traveled through Europe in July of this year and were fortunate enough to stay at this hotel. It is very close to the main train station in Rome, as well as the Colosseum. The staff was great and very friendly. The room was clean and spacious, and the wifi worked well.

On our last night in Rome we asked for a nice restaurant to eat at that was moderately priced and they recommended a wonderful place right around the corner from them.

I highly recommend staying at Amalfi Hotel if you are visiting Rome, I know I will when I return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We wish to thankyou for your feedback.

We're happy you had a good time at the Hotel Amalfi.

We hope to see you again in Roma!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Amalfi for three nights the end of September, 2012. My husband, myself, our three grown sons, our new daughter-in-law and a girlfriend finished up a Mediterranian cruise with four days in Rome. After months of research, we chose Amalfi for its location and the excellent staff reviews. We were not disappointed! The staff could not have been more accomodating, friendly, helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was better than typical in our view with fresh pastries, fruits, yogurt, meats, cheese etc. The rooms were spotless and decently sized. It's location to the Basilica was great, we visited two separate times. It was a short walk to the train / bus station which allowed us to get around the city quite nicely. Our only complaint (if you can call it a complaint) was that many reviews advised you could easily walk to all the major sites from this hotel. This is true, but it takes at least 15 to 20 minutes to get to any of those sites, and we just didn't have the time (nor the energy) to trek all over the city. We ended up taking many cabs which was costly and next time we will stay closer to one or two of the major sites and go out from there. We also found the Trastevere area on our last night (go to Carlos Restaurant - best meal we had in Rome and incredibly reasonable)and we will look to stay in this area next visit as we loved the ambiance and energy. Would recommend the Amalfi hotel as a clean, reasonable, centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for reviewing us!

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Six of us had a wonderful 3 night stay at this charming hotel. We were able to check in early, staff was very friendly and accomodating. Got an upgraded room at no charge and was exceptionally clean. Typical European breakfast included every morning. Great location, easily walked to major attractions like the Colosseum. Staff even made us a breakfast to go one morning when we had to leave for an early tour. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: On a busy street, ask for a room not facing the street if street noise bothers you
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenB667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for sharing your beautiful thoughts with TA users!

We do hope to host you again in the future!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed just one night at this great little hotel and would not hesitate to return. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I had written a request on my reservation to have a room not facing the street and they were able to accommodate. I had fantastic room #420 - a single but much bigger than anticipated and it came with a lovely balcony looking down onto a back courtyard! It was a lovely place to sit and relax after an afternoon of running around Rome. The bathroom was really great, very new looking, very well equipped. The location is great too - very convenient short walk to the train station but far enough outside of the station to not be in a seedy area. The hotel was very quiet the night I was there and though I'm usually a light sleeper - I slept great the night spent there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We're happy that you liked your single room!

The room 420 has a small balcony that can be very usefull to read a book outside or just to smoke a cigarette (inside the Hotel is forbidden to smoke).

Hoping to see you in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Lovely small hotel in a fab location.

Excellent helpful staff. Good clean and comfortable rooms. A little on the small side but not at all a problem.

Despite being in a busy road the hotel was quiet. This was a real pleasure to stay in.

Excellent location. Short walk from main station and to the colllosuem. Perfect.

Walking from the station the area looks a bit rough. But just a street over it is really nice with excellent places to eat very close by.

We will stay here again when next in Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJNZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We're glad that you liked our family Hotel!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#96 of 1,267 in Rome
894 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#68 of 1,267 in Rome
723 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#90 of 1,267 in Rome
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#99 of 1,267 in Rome
829 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,267 in Rome
1,305 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,267 in Rome
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $83 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing