We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #90 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed at the Amalfi Hotel for 5 days in April 2012. Very friendly staff, very nice lady housekeeping staff who are helpful & attend to the morning breakfast & are pleasant & friendly. Breakfast is a variety of cold selections, cereal, juice, pastries, cheeses, salami, ham slices, yogurt, fresh fruit & coffee. Great location to Termini Station. Can walk to the Trevi Fountain in 15 minutes, Colosseum in 10 minutes. Day or half day bus tours can be arranged by the staff. There was a problem with the wifi which the staff fixed promptly. Wifi is free. Safe location, restaurants right at the front door. Self serve laundry facilities near by. Great value for a 3 star hotel. I had a single room with a single bed, which was very affordable, but I am used to a larger bed. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chester38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for reviewing us!

We have also single rooms with larger beds, just send us an email next time and we will reserve for you!

We hope to see you in the future in our Hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    350
    69
    16
    3
See reviews for
166
468
70
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel is placed in a great location which is ideally for sightseeing, while it is walking distance from the central train station. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not quite spacious, but this is not a problem as most of the hotels in Rome have small rooms. The breakfast is of low quality as there isn't great variety and most of breakfast goods are not freshly made. However, this hotel is value for money and is recommended for short stay holidays in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VforVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for reviewing us.

We're happy that you liked the Hotel and our Staff.

We hope to host you again the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Firstly I was sceptical at staying in a small hotel near a railway station, however I have been enlightened to discover the warmth and geniality of the owners Cosimo (senior) his son Francesco together with the staff of this small very well run family hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. we stayed in a triple room with a balcony ( the only one) overlooking the Street. Traffic noise was minimal if you kept the windows closed. All areas were very clean and rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels if needed.
The only downside was the bathroom which was small could be made bigger if the bidet was removed otherwise adequate.
Breakfast was continental, as much as you wanted and fresh, and could not be faulted.

This Hotel is situated were everything is nearby and the metro is only a few minutes walk away. with restaurants and a supermarket close by. All major bus tour ( pickup point ) just around the corner and one can be booked at the hotel (very worthwhile) hop on and off all day..but can get busy so book early.
Our trip was marred by the fact I was pick pocketed at the Trevi Fountain lost my wallet..my own fault really dropped my guard during all the excitement of the ROME MARATHON there are obviously gangs operating in this area and I do not thing the authorities are doing enough to combat this however, in my hour of need The hotel helped me to contact card providers to cancel my cards.
All in all very we had a very nice time..complimented by our stay at this Hotel most definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Harald3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We wish to thankyou for your kind review.

We're happy you had a nice stay at the Amalfi Hotel (except the problem of the wallet :( .. ).

We hope to see you again in Roma!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We went to the Hotel Amalfi as part of a 2 city break. It is conveniently placed for the train station and in walking distance of all the sights.
The staff were excellent; my wife forgot her umbrella the hotel posted it back to the UK without cost; i was happy to pay their expenses.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHalAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We arrived back from a 2 night stay at the Amalfi two weeks ago, had a fantastic time whilst there. The Hotel Amalfi is a small pleasant hotel with excellent service and exceptional cleanliness. We took the bus from Flumincino airport to Termini Station for 4 euros each as it was outside rush hour times and we were not hurrying. Bus took 40 mins but didn’t seem to have a timetable so had to wait 30 mins for it. Hotel is a 5 minute walk from Termini. We took the Leonardo Express train from Termini on return which took 30 mins and cost 14 Euros each.
Our room at the front was small and the bathroom very small, especially the shower, but as we only needed the room to return to sleep and freshen up it was perfect. The weather was exceptionally warm during the day (24c in March) and so was the room but if you suffer the noise with a window open for ten minutes it cools. Shut the windows, blinds and curtains and there is next to no noise at night.
Cosimo greeted us on arrival and within a few minutes we were checked in with maps and directions for everywhere we might visit and discount voucher for their recommended restaurant (Il Nipotino, reviewed separately).
The only disappointment with the hotel was breakfast, lukewarm coffee, packaged meat and cheese and possibly also the croissants. Fresh produce was rolls and some fruit but all ok and plenty for the start of day. Also the breakfast room gets busy if you’re not early and sometimes people had to wait for a table.
Tripadvisor doesn’t seem to allow for total trip reports so I include our trip highlights here. We did not book any organised tours, did not use a taxi, metro or bus, just walking. The advantage of this is finding wonderful narrow streets with antiques or specialist shops for a myriad of things. The hotel is within walking distance (if reasonably fit) from all sights but plan your trip. The map from the hotel was also excellent. On the afternoon of Day 1 (after a light lunch) we visited the Colesseum, Forum and Palantine true ancient wonders, then wandered down to the stunning Piazza Venezia. Day 2 was an early start to Campo dei Fiori market (slightly disappointing as there were very few flower stalls, Piazza Navonna (beautiful church and fountains} and Pantheon (impressive with the xylophone player out front). We then went on to the Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel for a 1pm booking(allow at least 2 hours here and be prepared for a sore neck from looking at the ceilings), back to St Peters Basilica and then late afternoon climb Castel de Sant’Angelo for great views and beautiful cupid statue. Day 3 was St Maria Maggiore early, the beautiful basilica closest to the Hotel then along to the Trevi Fountain (where we actually managed to stand by the edge and throw coins in) then up to Piazza d’Espagna/Spanish Steps followed by the calming Piazza del Popolo. From here we walked towards Villa Medici through the gardens where we found a treasure of an oasis in Casina dell Orologio in Via Orologio. This beautiful bar/restaurant was the most attractive and cheapest place for a drink that we found (only 5 euro for a coffee and glass of wine) so we took some time resting here! Finished the day with a walk down Via Corso for shops (not as good as side streets) and the Presidential palace Quirinale to see the guards (couldn’t see them).
Skip the Line? What line? The only place we booked tickets for was the Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel as we knew our time was tight. Did this online with the official Musei.Vaticani site for a reservation fee of 4 euros (total 18.00 euros each) but didn’t need it, walked straight in. Longest queue was into St Peters which was 10 minutes! Assume queues were short as it was pre Easter time.
A really great trip and a hotel which was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lateromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in an economic double room which was small but fine as we were out sightseeing most of the time! Close to the main attractions and convenient location for getting the train from and to the airport. Staff were helpful - recommending restaurants, giving guidance on public transport etc. Breakfast was ok although nothing special. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for reviewing us!

We hope to see you in the future in our Hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and overall the stay was comfortable. Best point about this hotel is the location. 5 mins walk for main train station of Rome- Termini, 15 mins walk to the Colloseum, 15 mins walk to the Trevi fountain, Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore is right outside the hotel, Imperial Forum, Spanish Steps, Piazza Novona, all within walking range. Room are small like all Italian hotel rooms but are clean, bathrooms are also clean. Breakfast is okay, not too much variety but decent enough. Many good restaurants are outside and they are open until late. We used to walk late night in Rome and did not have any problems, there are lot of people on streets at night. Franchesco, among the hotel staff, usually at the reception was very polite and helpful and gave us tips to plan the day and outings. We also had a Roma Pass which helped us in entrance to 2 monuments/museums with free transportation in bus/subway for 3 days of activation. You would also have to pay 3Euros/night as city tax apart from your reservation and other charges.

Room Tip: Request a room opposite to the main street to avoid outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank rishparmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for sharing your review with Tripadvisor users.

We're happy that you liked the Hotel and our Staff.

We hope to see you again the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#74 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#84 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#99 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#100 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#83 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#62 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Property: Amalfi Hotel
Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing