We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly hotel”
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amalfi Hotel
Ranked #93 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel was part of a package trip to Rome booked by my husband for my birthday treat. Whilst this hotel is only 3 star I would have to say, it gave 5 star hospitality. Our room initially was small and the bathroom very compact, and because of a light in the bathroom not working, our room was immediately changed with no argument. The staff at the Amalfi are worth their weight in gold, nothing, and I mean nothing was too much trouble for them. Their service was excellent and every query was answered :) the breakfast was great and our stay in Rome was great and only made better by the hotel's warmth, knowledge and friendliness. If you are on a low budget, I would recommend this hotel unreservedly. Thank you Francesco and staff. Marie and Jon Wright - 31/05 - 03/06/11

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear Guests,

Thankyou for having taken to time to leave your comment on TripAdvisor.
We're very happy that you liked our location and particularly our staff and this is surely the best compliment for us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 964 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I found this hotel on Tripadvisor, and I wanted to write in about our experience. It was great! This is a small, family-run hotel in a conveniently-located area of Rome. Francesco greeted us upon our arrival and gave us a brief orientation to the city and its sites (map included!). He was very friendly and helpful--helped arrange transportation for us to the airport at the conclusion of our stay. As well, anytime that we had a question or an issue, the staff was extremely helpful and gracious in assisting us--even called our room on one occasion to offer additional assistance and to make sure that we had resolved a problem during our stay. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. I can't say enough good things about the Amalfi Hotel and its wonderful staff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aemolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Dear Madame,

Thankyou very much for sharing your experience at our property with TA readers.
We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and our staff and we're very grateful for your compliments.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We booked our Hotel from tripadvisor comments so its only right that we add to the impressive number of happy visitors.
At check in we were warmly greeted and made to feel right at home. Being English and nowhere near bi-lingual was no problem here!
We were given a map and advised how much one could do in a day, areas highlighted and bus routes indicated!!!!
Our room was spotless, air con already on for our arrival (which is very simple to control!) Bed comfy, plenty of space for our clothing, room safe very easy to set up, mini bar replenished every morning and bathroom towels changed as needed.
Breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable in a nice airy room, Fresh pastries and rolls with enough meats and conserves to kick start your day, fruit salads, fresh fruit, hot drinks to order, each table vacated was quickly stripped and fresh table cloth laid out for the next guests, absolutely top draw customer service, the ladies who looked after us were very polite and friendly as was every person on reception 24 hours a day!
We wanted to make our Rome holiday as authentic as possible, we didn't want to go to a chain with HR trained plastic staff. I cannot say enough good things about the Amalfi, our stay was exactly what we wanted.
We would love to come back! Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_JC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the TA community. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location , accommodations and the staff. We always try to do the best for our guests and your words are very important for us.

Thankyou once more!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This hotel is a little gem so I will definitely return and would recommend this to all.

The staff were very friendly. On arrival we were allocated the incorrect bedroom, but were given a complimentary bottle of Prosecco for the inconvenience and the opportunity to change rooms.

The bedrooms were cleaned everyday so were immaculate. Although we had a good street view the others in our group had back rooms, but the benefit of these were that they were very quiet. Contrary to some of the reviews, the continental buffet breakfast was lovely.

The location was great, walking distance to main sites such as the Coliseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill etc, and there were some great restaurants on our street, I would particularly recommend: Scoglio di Frisio; Address: 256 Via Merulana. A fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyLeamington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Dear Madame,

Thank you for your positive comment. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the service and the cleanliness of the Amalfi Hotel and that you have appreciated our location.

Hope to see you soon in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We visited Rome to celebrate birthday and were given the only room with balcony. This turned out great as the Pope passed by just next to it on his way to the basilica next to the hotel - What an experience. Great location, very friendly and helpful staff - especially the lady in the breakfast room!

Room Tip: The room with the balcony is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KootaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review.
We’re very happy that you spent such great experience with us!
Hope to see you soon in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here with our friends; we found it a very good location only 20 minute walk to The Colosseum and 10 minutes from the station.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful, and breakfast is a good continental style buffet.
Rooms are very clean and comfortable.
I recommend the Rome Hop On/Off bus, a 2 day ticket for 20 Euro is good value and stops very near hotel. Go to Vatican City on a Wednesday morning and the Pope does an outside service infront of St Peter's at 11am.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank histonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thankyou very much for having time to review our Hotel.
We’re very pleased you had a nice trip in Rome at the Hotel Amalfi.
Looking forward to host you again in our property.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Amalfi Hotel in Rome is fantastic. It is located close to Termini Train station and within walking distance of Colliseum. Our room was a triple, and perfect for us with A/C and free wireless. Breakfast was included, and also great. Most of all, the staff at this hotel and is friendly, helpful and kind, and happy doing their jobs. We would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATSAR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmalfiRoma, Direttore at Amalfi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for taking the time to submit your kind review on Tripadvisor website.
We're are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and like our hotel.

Hope to see you soon in the future!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,271 in Rome
986 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,271 in Rome
2,542 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#154 of 1,271 in Rome
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#69 of 1,271 in Rome
741 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,830 reviews
Esquilino
Mecenate Palace
Mecenate Palace
#166 of 1,271 in Rome
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Address: Via Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $62 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing