We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP IN ROME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #54 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TOP IN ROME”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Three wonderful days. Excellent service, wonderful atmosphere and very elegant hotel. We had a great dinner in Oliver Glowig and we had the pleasure to meet personally the general manager Mr. Orsani, a real gentleman. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessandrospar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest

It has been a pleasure meeting you personally, I greatly thank you for your kind words regarding myself.

I am also glad to read your beautiful comments regarding your stay, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

I am delighted also to apprehend that you enjoyed our restaurant Oliver Glowig (2 MICHELIN STARS) which is definitely an extraordinary culinary experience not to be missed when in Rome and from now on offers the pleasure of a fantastic fine dining in the elegant dehors overlooking our private garden full of flowers and our outdoor swimming pool, and amazing and relaxing experience.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and have the chance to meet you again , please feel free to contact me directly I will be absolutely delighted to assist you again.

Kindest regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    245
    106
    49
    24
See reviews for
247
704
51
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is very clean and well staffed. The entrance is impressive and the reception area is large and well decorated. The room (we went for the "basic" one) was a good size as was the bathroom however was in need of renovation given the price. The breakfast was a wonderful experience. The dinning room was elegantly laid out with a good deal of attention. The tables had table clothes, tea served in lovely pots and the serving dishes were stunning. The food selection was adequate and of good quality. The location of this hotel is good however not in the heart of the city - the shuttle service, along with good organisation, compensates for this but don't forget that you can walk down, through the gardens in about 15 mins. There was no tea or coffee making facilities or bottled water in the hotel. This was a real pain as we were staying over 4 nights and frankly inexcusable given how much was paid for the accommodation. The cost of drinking or eating at the hotel was offensive - I'm talking 6 euros for a individual pack of 2 digestive biscuits. Did I have a nice time? yes, would I go again, probably not given the choice of other hotels in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igetaroundalottoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest

I am delighted to personally thank you for the positive feedback of your recent stay with us and most of all I am grateful you highlighted what makes our property a one of a kind among the city hotels - especially in a hectic city like Rome. I am referring to our location in the first place which is truly 10/15 minutes walking from Piazza di Spagna and which guarantee to our guests a great deal of privacy and relax as well as the true atmosphere of a city resort.

I am also referring to the high quality of the service offered by the members of our staff not to mention the constant drive to improvement which brought us to our recent choice of the luxurious fresh flowers decoration of our stunning hall, designed by our professional interiors flowerists.

This is our vocation, to anticipate our guests wishes, to surprise them anticipating and often going beyond their expetations which are – trust me - properly very high when they choose us, when they choose to stay in a 5 stars hotel. This is currently very challanging for us operators but it is exciting at the same time and requires a great deal of passion, work and obviously investments which not rarely are reflected in our service prices which are not ment by any means to be ‘offensive’ in any possible way of our esteemed guests.

I would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Aldrovandi villa Borghese in the near future, I am confident you will be amazed by other new aspects of our services.


Best Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This Hotel is on the edge of the Park. It provides peaceful surroundings, luxurious accommodation, helpful staff and the chatter of monkeys in the mornings from the zoo opposite. we enjoyed our stay and would. Be very happy to return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandcambia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent comment, I am delighted to apprehend you enjoyed not only the quality of our service and our rooms but also the beauty of our location.

The location is getting an advantage for us and for all of our guests who appreciate the privilege of being in a quite area of the city but at the same time literally only few minutes from the Spanish Steps and other key landmarks in Rome. I have to say that the sounds of the animals in the bio park definitely increase the feeling of being in a peculiar oasis of the Eternal City.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese very soon, please feel free to contact me directly I would be glad to assist you again.

Best Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Aldrovandi - which is a true quiet oasis after a day in hectic Roma. The hotel is a short ride from Plaza di Spagna, and there is a very convenient shuttle to take you back and forth. The drivers are always on time, and some will give you great tips about what to do and to see in Roma. The staff in general, including reception, staff, breakfast are all very helpful and polite, this is a true palace service. The hotel itself is an old-style building, classically decorated and we found it very charming. We would like to return once in spring or summer to enjoy the garden and outside pool, which also looked very appealing. Finally, we found the value for money excellent, especially with the good buffet breakfast included. Aldrovandi is an hotel I will return on my next stay in Roma.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexSwissTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

It is with great joy that I personally thank you for your kind words below.

I am glad you appreciated what most characterizes the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese and makes this property so one of a kind. Our location, so close to the heart of a hectic Rome but also offering the privilege of a quiet retreat after a day full of activities and our style, a true blend of tradition and classic taste so much appreciated by our affectionate guests.

These factors brought the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese to be awarded for three years in a row by the Condé Nast Readers’ Choice Award and be featured in Condé Nast Gold list as one of the world’s best place to stay in Rome.

I am delighted to apprehend you will be staying with us again very soon, as a matter of fact our private garden is a special gem in the spring and summer season, something deserve to be discovered by our guests.

Please feel free to contact me directly as soon as you have fixed the dates, I will be glad to assist you again.

Kindest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Absolutely fantastic old world charm pamper experience.Service second to none,magnificent food. The breakfast is simply unbelievable.Located a little walk outside Rome and the effort should be made although there is a luxury limo to whisk you to and from the centre whenever you want.Masses of staff in the hotel and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are better at the rear because of main road and tram at the front.Only complaint was that there was too much starch on the bed linen and a little bit too much enthusiasm from a couple in the next room.

Room Tip: Facing garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest

I am glad to personally thank you for your positive comment about your experience at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, I appreciate your words as the most high reward of our daily passionate work to reach and go beyond our guest’s wishes and desires!

I have ideed taken into high consideration your note regarding the bed linen which is not due to the starch - since many people might be allergic about it - but it is due to a special eco-friendly soap at a very low amount of pollutant
which may make the linen less soft. We will definitely take charge of the matter by adding more fabric softener – also with small quantity of pollutant - in order to improve this aspect.

Unfortunately, there is still not much we can do about the enthusiasm of our guests but we will definitely put all of our efforts in order to improve the soundproofing of our rooms. On the other end it is an absolute joy to apprehend your appreciation of our classic style – which is not to be found by chance but stronlgy wanted as a point of identification of our property.

I wish we could have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, I will make sure you will have a quieter accommodation as well.

Kindest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

An elegant hotel amidst the gardens of Borghese. A lovely place to stay while visiting Rome. They have private service to drive you the short distance to the Spanish Stairs. Once you have had your fill of touring the city and shopping you can return to the quiet and relaxing atmosphere of the gracious villa. The suites are pretty and beds provide a good nights sleep. We took advantage of the heated pool and enjoyed swimming, taking sun and a delicious lunch poolside. The lobby has a handsome bar for cocktails before dinner. The breakfast was incredible. Fabulous buffet selection under a gorgeous chandelier! The servers are most friendly and bring you the best cappuccino ever. We couldn't have been more pleased with the staff and the hotel. Our sincere thanks to all for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank On-our-way149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review and to post the pictures of your stay since you last stay with us last May, we truly appreciate this.

As you mentioned specifically the aspectts we have been putting hardly our efforts in order to guarantee the best comforts for our guests – the courtesy car to the Spanish Steps and Via Veneto and the selection of our buffet breakfast as well as the enjoyable atmosphere of our outdoor pool in the garden - I feel like we have accomplished our first aim to satisfy our guests’ expectations.

Therefore, please allow me to be the first to ‘Thank you’ for choosing the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, I wish this could be again your first choice on the occasion of your next trip to Rome.

Kindest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charente, France
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here on a travelzoo voucher and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a deluxe garden facing room (221) with a lovely view of the tree canopied garden, terraces and pool. By major city standards this was a very spacious comfortable room with a large marble bathroom and all the services and high standards of housekeeping you would expect of a hotel of this standing. Wifi connection is free with a code given for each day and worked well in all areas of the hotel, including bedroom. Excellent Concierge and friendly efficient restaurant staff in both the Grill Room and Sala Verde, where a sumptuous buffet breakfast is served overlooking the garden. Not cheap at 40 euros pp if you do not have an inclusive deal but cannot fault the extensive selection and quality and it is definitely worth it as there are few nearby options in walking distance of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing garden are quietest and have lovely views of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest

I am delighted to personally thank you for your enthusiastic comment about your recent stay with us. If actually there is one thing that we go proud of – among the other services we are able to offer to our guests – is actually the size of our rooms which can be definitely considered spacious for a city hotel, thanks to the historical origin of our valuable building which allowed us to use at best the consistent space available for our rooms.

Thank you for your appreciation about the level of our service, we may well say that ‘ensuring a high level of personalized service’ is our ‘mantra’ on a daily basis, I will share with pleasure your appreciation with all the staff involved and which you kindly mentioned.

Definitely looking forward to have the great pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, please consider ourselves at your complite disposal on the occasion of your next trip to Rome.

Kindest Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#91 of 1,258 in Rome
1,382 reviews
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,258 in Rome
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Property: Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its new SPA by LA MER and state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the two-Michelin-star restaurant Oliver Glowig, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing