We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ranked #58 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times. Elegant and upscale describe it best. Situated at the top of Borghese Park. Easy walk thru park to Via Veneto, but we usually take a cab to the Pantheon, and then walk from there.
Rooms are comfortable and the staff is courteous. Breakfast is excellent and the formal restaurant is one of the best I Rome. Expensive, but gourmet dining beautifully presented. Isreali embassy isvbehiznd the hotel, needless to say, security is excellent and we feel very safe at the hotel. Many dignitaries stay there. There was an EU meeting there while we stayed.

Room Tip: Bathrooms are beautiful if u get one that has been renovated. Ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlbertusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese. We truly appreciate it, your comments are extremely valuable for us and represent a high encouragement in order to excel on what we care the most: our guests’ satisfaction.

We constantly work with passion in order to deliver an excellent quality of service and meet our guests’ expectations. I will certainly share your positive feedback with the members of our team, the restaurant staff as well as our Chef Oliver Glowig who will be pleased to learn about your positive feedback about your dining experience.

Again, thank you for your comments, we will keep on working on the aspects you highlighted and more and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have been lucky enough to stay in some wonderful hotels. This hotel rates very highly. Could not be faulted lovely large room (deluxe),walk in wardrobe beautiful well fitted large bathroom.Lovely pool area with bar great coffee and biscuits and drinks and nibbles.Wonderful friendly staff.With great breakfast, the shuttle to and from the Spanish steps is great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lesleydean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldrovandiVBorghese, General Manager at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese.

The excellence of service is our most important aim as well as to ensure that our estimated guests can experience a memorable stay with us and it is always a pleasure to know that we achieved our goal.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations .

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best Regards,

Ugo Ossani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I Would like to share with you my expirience at the Aldrovandi Villa Borghese. I spent three nights there With my Family. It was very relaxing during the morning we went to visit the City, around lunch Time back to the hotel for a refreshing swim and a light lunch in the Garden Bar. The staff is very polite and careful to your needs. We Felt at Home and part of a bigger Family. And the breakfast ... Finally a real one!! Lots of choice and fresh ingredients fresh fruit, cereal, nuts, prosecco, croissant, a selection of Raw FISh and so on ...
The room was very Clean and comfortable. We can't wait to be' back definently next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

beautiful hotel, great pool area and really amazing food! Service is attentive and cordial.

great breakfast, rooms are spacious and decorated with taste.

i had a great stay and i will definitely go back.

highly reccommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baloo771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very disappointing experience.
-I arrived to the hotel at around 8pm. I unloaded the car by myself and since there was no bellman around I had to take my luggage by myself inside the hotel. The front desk manager saw me carrying the luggage but he did not make any comment and he did not provide any help

-the hotel is old and tired. The wooden furniture is dark, old and very outdated.

-the hall and my room had a wall-to.wall carpet which is old, full of stains. When I got out of the elevator in the third floor, the windows in the hall were closed and I could smell mould because of the humidity in the carpet. I complained with the front desk. The person was not surprised when I told him about the bad smell and he replied "we are starting already to change the carpet in other floors".

-Breakfast quality was ok but the brealfast room wa typical of a three star touristic hotel. Service was friendly but not a 5 star service

This hotel is a Leading Hotel Member. In Rome there are other Leading Hotel Members: Eden, Lord Byron, Hotel de La Russie, Majestic and Hassler. The Aldrovandi is a much lower quality and it cannot be a Leading Hotel Member. It is a touristic, 3-4 star hotel needing major refurbishment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fmanci01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This beautiful hotel was a perfect place to stay in Rome. Situated on the edge of the park it was quiet and serene, yet close enough to the heart of Rome to be just perfect for us. The hourly shuttle to the Spanish Steps made it very easy to get around. The staff was very professional, and eager to help. The breakfasts and the service there were outstanding. I would definitely go back and highly recommend it to anyone looking to experience the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: choose a garden facing toom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Chose this Rome hotel following extensive research on the internet.

Plus points: Location - not far from Rome centre, in a very quiet location next to Villa Borghese, a large park. A beautiful setting. As the location is too far for walking into Rome centre, the hotel helpfully provide a Mercedes shuttle bus to the Spanish Steps in the centre of the City on a half-hourly basis, with a return service from the drop off point. Pre-booking of the bus is required each day. Breakfast is superb and consierge very helpful. Service overall is excellent. In all a classy, old fashioned hotel.

Bad points: Amazingly tea and coffee facilities are not provided in the rooms - a serious omission. TV in the room is not very good, as very few English channels are provided, though you don't really visit Rome for the TV channels!

Tips: The consierge will help you to pre-book The Colosseum, The Vatican City etc. This is essential, as there is a two hour queue to buy tickets at the Colosseum, whereas if you pre-book you walk straight in! From this hotel there is also (100 yards from the hotel) a No 19 Tram direct to the Vatican City or a No 3 Tram direct to the Colosseum - only EUR 1.50. Avoid the mini bar in the room - the price list is hidden, but EUR 10.00 for a packet of crisps is extortionate.

Beware the tourist tax - EUR 3.00 per person per day, payable when you check out !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an "inside" room, with a pool view, rather than an outside view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#49 of 1,272 in Rome
675 reviews
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#90 of 1,272 in Rome
1,499 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#53 of 1,272 in Rome
1,441 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Villa Borghese

Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 15, 00197 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#54 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $205 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldrovandi Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the Eternal City in Rome's exclusive, residential Pinciano neighborhood, Aldrovandi Villa Borgheseis a palatial retreat that feels a world apart from the crowded piazzas of the Italian capital, although within walking distance of many highlights of the Eternal City. Overlooking the gorgeous greenery of Rome's Borghese Gardens, Aldrovandi Villa Borghese takes center stage in the Eternal City's poshest neighborhood. A former convent, this grand 19th-century ivory villa is dressed in marble and dripping in chandeliers. With its MYTHA SPA state-of-the-art fitness suite featuring the latest equipment, the one -Michelin-star restaurant Assaje, secluded garden with outdoor pool and palm tree-lined terrace, and a private shuttle to whisk guests straight to the Spanish Steps, this urban retreat offers all the perfect luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aldrovandi Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Hotel Rome
Aldrovandi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing