We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room; great location”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #199 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Small room; great location”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our room, Rm. 428, was small but the bed was comfortable. There was a safe in the closet and several English language stations. WiFi was free but access was spotty; try going to the lobby if the WiFi doesn't work in your room. The sound-proofing was good. The room was in need of a touch up because of scuff marks on the wall from luggage. The breakfast buffet was good.

The bathroom, which has white tile, was very, very bright. Otherwise, the bathroom was problematic: there was a moldy smell (which management addressed after it was brought to its attention) that hit us when we walked into the room, there was no clothesline, and the hot/cold water mixture for the shower was difficult to regulate. The bathroom counter was small.

On Via Veneto, there are a lot of restaurants. Adjacent to Harry's Bar, which is on Via Veneto, is a tunnel/shortcut that leads to the Spanish Steps. As you walk through the tunnel to the Spanish Steps, you will find Carrefour, a large Euopean market chain. Around the block from the hotel is a small market next to the police station.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Villa Borghese.

Please check "Yes" if this review is helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SDAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    372
    103
    51
    16
See reviews for
195
341
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had booked the Hotel Victoria for an evening stay in Rome the night before we were to fly back to the United States. We booked the hotel a couple of months in advance. When we arrived at the hotel (at around noon), we were told that there was a "mistake" and they wouldn't be able to accomodate us. The front desk clerk was unbelievably rude, and acted as if he couldn't even be bothered explaining the mistake to us. The manager was little better, only saying that they were overbooked and they arbitrarily decided to bump us. The bellman who "helped" us bring our luggage to another hotel literally threw our bags to the ground and walked off. Nasty people. Don't reward them with your patronage!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for Via Veneto and many great local Trattorias. Its on the edge of the Villa Borghese gardens which I would have gone walking in had the weather been better. The hotel restaurant serves fantastic local Roman style food and is reasonably priced. We had two rooms for single occupancy which were very comfortable, spotlessly clean and had all the amenities that you needed. But most of all, the staff were excellent, in particular the Hotel Director Christos. Everyone here is unbelievably friendly, but then that was how I found most people in Rome. If you visit Rome, the Hotel Victoria is a great place to do it. I have already recommended people to stay who are on their way this week!

Room Tip: Room at the front for views or at the back to avoid street noise. 5th floor superior rooms have a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonhemmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location of this hotel was excellent and staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived quite early and our luggage was held securely for us while we toured the nearby Villa Bourghese. The Via Veneto is just around the corner and attractions like the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Pantheon are an easy walk. The hotel also has a lovely rooftop terrace. I had a single room which was adequate and clean. The bath was a decent size but limited/no counter space. My friend, also in a single room had a much larger room and bath. As we stayed just one night as a jumping off point for our trip, it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyCrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location is excellent, 150 meters from Via Veneto, across the street from Villa Borghese and minutes away from the Metro. This hotel shows its age and in my opinion is more in line with a three star hotel rather than the four claimed. I stayed for a whole week and my remarks follow. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the bathroom was OK except that while taking a shower it was difficult to adjust the temperature of the water and the amenities were barely adequate. Another issue was the unavailability of Wi-Fi in all rooms. I had to change mine because I was unable to use my PC. Wi-Fi works well in the lobby of the hotel. The breakfast was mild, boring and the lack of variety propelled me to seek alternatives elsewhere (not difficult, considering the neighborhood). A very rainy and cold evening I had dinner in the hotel's restaurant, the Belisario. I was the only guest and the food was paltry and unremarkable at best. This was quite unexpected since in Rome it is very difficult, almost impossible to have a bad meal. The staff was "bipolar"; some where more than friendly and helpful while others were impolite and almost adversarial. A must see for this hotel are the superb views of Rome from their roof terrace. With all the accommodations available in Rome, I would recommend that potential guests consider other options before booking the Victoria.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

An amazing find in the historic city of Rome. We stayed here for two nights in July. We had a lovely, clean room with a large bathroom. The staff was helpful and friendly offering suggestions for dinner and gelato. We could walk to many attractions, including the Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps, Villa Borgese, shopping and Harry's. The terrace bar was lovely and the terrace restaurant was very good as well. The morning buffet was a fine way to start the day of touring. Would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here on future visits to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamalovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This seems a well-run property with very professional employees. Of note is the doorman/bellman Clemente (che tempo fa oggi, clemente?), who gave us suggestions for dining, the closest subway station, and even some brief history lessons about Rome and the old city wall which lies just beyond the front door of the hotel. Our room had a quirky arrangement, with the bathroom facilities divided into two -- sink/bidet/toilet on one side of the entry hall, and the shower occupying an entire room on the other side of the hall. The shower was first class with good pressure and quite large. Our room faced the street behind the hotel, and was perfectly quiet. Breakfast was more than adequate. I'd love to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilGalese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Tribune Hotel
The Tribune Hotel
#106 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#125 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#178 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#152 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#245 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Via Campania 41, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#206 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#224 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class**** boutique Hotel Victoria, built in 1899, is located in the historical center of Rome, off Via Veneto in a quiet area and across the street from the Park of the Villa Borghese.Our 4 stars hotel features a large collection aspects and views of Rome from the 18th and 19th centuries. These paintings, together with the largest open air roof garden in Rome full of rare botanical plants, are the genius loci of a Mediterranean awareness.This Swiss owned and run boutique Rome Hotel is an understatement to traditional Italian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rome
Hotel Rome Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing