We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be aware”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #199 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Be aware”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family and I stayed at the hotel for three nights. Positive things: clean, decent breakfast. The negatives and be aware: far from the Metro, in the rooms do not get Wi-Fi, did not provide additionally means such as showers caps and shoeshine sponges after the usage, especially to business personnel – they didn't provide iron. Hereunder catastrophic story that happened to us that will give you something to think about before booking this hotel: we checked out in the morning because the flight was in the evening and we left the luggages in hotel stored room while each one marked with sticker with the room number. We returned to the hotel about half an hour before the taxi booked to take us to the airport. We were surprised that our luggages had disappeared. I told the reception and they did faces prison understand. After some discussion, I asked them to check if they returned the luggages to the room where we were but they were not there. Concern our luggages got on any tourist bus tour, the guy in the hotel reception started to call travel agents to find the drivers and check whether they carry our luggages. Needless to say, the pressure we were in for fear of loss and the possibility that we would lost the flight. After 40 minutes were able to locate the driver with our luggages and were lucky that the bus traveled only around Rome and not to another city that would otherwise be more catastrophic. We were told at the reception that the bus will return for another 10 minutes but it came after 40 minutes and immediately upon arrival we take the taxi to the airport. Needless to say, the injustice done to us and the pressure we were under this situation, mentioning the disaster service - Not offered us even a glass of water to drink, and even though any compensation so as even Sorry we did not hear. When I asked the hotel at least to take on their responsibility and pay the taxi they told me to go out. It was shameful! We arrived at the last moment to the airport, when we exhausted with the clothes from the morning. This is not an expected service and attitude. Just a shame! So take this experience into consideration when you booking this hotel. Beware!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank danny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    372
    103
    51
    16
See reviews for
195
341
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We took a tour of Italy for our 30th wedding anniversary, and this was our hotel n Rome. It's located right inside the ancient wall of Rome. Most European hotel rooms are smaller than US ones. Our room had the sink and toilet, along with a bidet, in a room on one side while the shower was behind a door across from it. Not all the rooms are like that. Bring washcloths. Two of the three hotels in which we stayed in Rome didn't have them. This Hotel is in a great location near restaurants, the subway, and within walking distance of many attractions.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Songbird811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Two elements make this an excellent choice when staying in Rome. First, the location: at a few steps from Via Veneto and Villa Borghese, yet in a quiet street. Second, the very good attitude of the personnel. One can feel an excellent training and an effort to really care about the guests. Plenty of good restaurants and transportation around and an added bonus: the special fixed taxi fare from the airport to Rome and vice-versa only applies to locations inside the ancient "walls". This hotel is in the last street before them.

Room Tip: The view of the ancient walls is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good little Hotel that has recently been renovated. Nice Bar as well as a decent restaurant where you also have breakfast. In summer you have also a stunning roof terrace overlooking a small park.It takes only 10 minutes walking to the Spanish Steps. Hotel staff has been helpful in any respect.

Room Tip: Try not to be next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muelheim63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed for three nights. Our room was comfortable with two twins beds pushed together. The location is across the street from Borghese gardens and walking distance to the Metro. The staff was helpful. Breakfast was probably the best of the four different hotels we stayed at in Italy. The only one to have cooked scrambled eggs in addition to breads, cold sliced meats, yogurt beverages and hardboiled eggs.

Room Tip: We booked in advance and got a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent our last 3 nights at this hotel in Italy after traveling for a month. We booked our room directly with the hotel because we had specific requests - balcony, king size bed and breakfast. Booking via email was very easy. The response was prompt. The location was nice because it was at the end of the shopping street Via Veneto so there wasn't a lot of noise from the street but it was very accessible to shopping, restaurants and the metro. We were very impressed with the staff from check in, to breakfast to dinner. Just first class, professional service all around. The price was great too. The next time we come we will definitely stay here again.

The only drawback is wi-fi is not available in the rooms and the internet on TV was very slow. I didn't have an ethernet cable so I couldn't use wired internet. This is a very minor drawback though, because wi-fi works well in the common areas - breakfast area, sitting area and the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlieandbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two nights earlier this month. Generally, we like to stay in very high end hotels, but this trip we really wanted to save some money on hotel costs because we were not going to be in the room much. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to try the Hotel Victoria because of the location near the Via Venetto. The reviews were all very accurate. The hotel was very clean, and in an excellent location. We really have no complaints at all about the room and we felt that we got good value for the money and that the rooms and bathrooms were exceptionally clean The major difference between Hotel Victoria, and the more luxurious hotels on Via Venetto is the service. The front desk staff were hesitant to provide any assistance to us, nor did they provide recommendations for restaurants, means of transportation etc, when asked. The food in the breakfast room was also quite poor.

If you are prepared for the lack of service, then this hotel really is good value. We would stay here again despite this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_L830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Tribune Hotel
The Tribune Hotel
#106 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#125 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#178 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#152 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#245 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Via Campania 41, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#206 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#224 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class**** boutique Hotel Victoria, built in 1899, is located in the historical center of Rome, off Via Veneto in a quiet area and across the street from the Park of the Villa Borghese.Our 4 stars hotel features a large collection aspects and views of Rome from the 18th and 19th centuries. These paintings, together with the largest open air roof garden in Rome full of rare botanical plants, are the genius loci of a Mediterranean awareness.This Swiss owned and run boutique Rome Hotel is an understatement to traditional Italian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rome
Hotel Rome Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing