We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Victoria situated close to Via Veneto.”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #197 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel Victoria situated close to Via Veneto.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here in September. A small boutique style hotel with small rooms that are very nicely appointed. Great bathroom with white marble and tile. The staff is wonderful and could not be more helpful. We had dinner with friends on the rooftop garden restaurant. Great atmosphere and very good food and wine. This hotel is conveniently located to Borghese Gardens, walk to shopping on Via Veneto and adjacent street, Spanish Steps, Trevino Fountain, and many wonderful historical sites. If you want to take the on and off bus to get a tour and good overview of some of the sites in Rome the bus stop is less than a ten minute walk. Highly recommend this hotel and location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbiz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    379
    106
    52
    16
See reviews for
205
347
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

In the Northern part of the city surrounded by some of the most expensive restaurants but only a 10 minute walk downhill (don't forget the way back) to Trevi, Spanish steps and some outrageously priced designer shops. Nice greeting, good quality rooms and a lovely roof top restaurant very well priced. 17 euros for a good size fillet, sirloin or sea bass all cooked on outside grill and they specialise in Rose wines all at 18 euros which is well priced in comparison to local restaurants and nice to get involved in the tradition of the hotel although Rose and steak would not normally be recommended.
There are bus tours which cost around 50 euros for two people for 2 days which we found invaluable. They run every 30 minutes and take you around the city with stops at the Colosseum and the Vatican aswell as lots of other sites. You are also 15 feet up in the air(top floor obviously) which gives you great photo opportunities, get the back seat and no heads in the pictures. The whole circuit takes around 2 hours but it really gives you a sense of what is where.
Finally if you want some cheap plonk to pop in the minibar or some soft drinks then if you come out of the hotel to the right take the first right at the Pommodorino restaurant there is a Spar 300 yards on the left. The only difference is a brown sign compared to the UK green but you can buy nice parmi, wines and other basics, Cards accepted.
One small disappointment was being conned at the Colosseum. A long queue to get in but then you are approached by guided tours which promise a quick entry subject to a short intro from a guide and 25 euros instead of 12. After an hour learning about all sorts including the main attraction you eventually get into a quick queue but the people you pitied have been in the site for ages and you are being given some good info but interupted by water sales followed by book sales followed by postcard sales, all clearly linked into the same package. Having said that when you come around the corner and see it for the first time - Wow, very emotional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel Victoria was our first hotel stay in Italy. The hotel was an excellent standard and in a fantastic position, right across from the Aurelian Wall and the Villa Borghese. The hotel was within easy walking distance of so many of Rome's main sites.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaying32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is set in a quiet good location and not to far away from the main attractions.
First thing to tell the girls, is to pack a hairdryer, as the one in the hotel is not good, my wife said that i must mention this, as it is very important!!!
The rooms are fairly basic and as one previous traveller mentioned, the room smelt very musty, good breakfast, good air conditioning, helpful concierge, but typical city hotel,not really good value.
Couple of tips, go out the hotel, turn right and walk to the corner, you will find the I'l Pomodorino restaurant, if you are on a budget, you can eat there for Approx e40-50 including a caraf of house wine, on the same road is Papa Bacus, far more expensive, dish of the day and an average bottle of wine e124.00. Just a bit further down the road is the Spar shop, great for water and a bottle of Prosecco to chill in the fridge and enjoy after a hot day sightseeing. Further on down the same road is Eduardo's, down the side of the American Embassy, very good for around e80.00 with wine, as usual, stay off the main drag, unless you have bottomless pockets.
Enjoy, because Rome is a great City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Exellent choice for all types of travel (exept small children) .Very family small botique hotel vith plesure stuff, exellent ,silent place and very good breakfast . I stay there 3 nights and vas very satisfied from all above. Near ( 50 meter from this hotel ) you can find also good restaurant " IL POMMODORINO " - one of best (on my opinion ) . Approx. 15 min walk - underground station . Many bus stops around. Over old stone wall - villa Borgese with green pleasure garden for walking . I think ,I'll back here in future

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Victoria in Rome on August 17, 18, 19, 2012 for three nights. It was our third city in Italy (after Milan and Florence) of a two week vacation there. This was one of the better hotels in Italy we stayed at.
First off, the location is really good. You’re right next to the Villa Borghese Park. The Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are also in walking distance. Via Veneto is right around the corner. Some people feel the Via Veneto area is a tourist trap but we didn’t feel that at all and enjoyed the walk, the people, and some of the restaurants. Grab an Italian Tomato/Tuna or Tomato/Mozzarella/Basil Sub at one of the Via Veneto bars for 6 Euros each to go and take it back to your room and eat like a king and queen.
You’re about a 15 Euro cab ride (with tip) to the Vatican (west) or the Coliseum (south). We elected to have a private driver take us to the Vatican for 30 Euros there and 30 Euros back which worked out well. We took a cab to and from the Coliseum.
The front desk staff in this hotel is the most professional we have ever encountered. The majority of them are middle aged men decked out in three piece suits, with ties, and are extremely serious and meticulous in what they do.
They will go out of their way for you if you treat them with a little respect which they deserve. For us they recommended restaurants, called in reservations, help us with talking to our transfer drivers on the phone, and remembered our names and greeted us every time they saw us walk in the lobby.
A few Italian pleasantries go a long way here like: “Boun Giorno” (Good Day), “Grazie” (Thank You), “Prego” (Your Welcome), and “Come Sta?” (How Are You?). Try it. Even if you don’t speak it well they’ll appreciate it.
My wife and I are Italian Americans and speak some Italian. We have a pretty good knowledge of the basic Italian Language since we grew up with it. Although it is extremely helpful and makes your stay in all of Italy more gratifying, I don’t think it’s essential here but it would still be nice to know.
Our room was very nice, clean, quiet, and efficient. The only downside to me was that the TV was a very small flat screen that you needed binoculars to see it from the bed (but I didn’t come to Italy to watch TV) and they had no iron in the room. When we called down to the front desk for an iron they said they did not have one but did have a shirt pressing service which cost 6 Euros a shirt. I wore my shirt wrinkled until I got to the next hotel.
The morning breakfast is the standard American breakfast with a little Italian twist. A full buffet with eggs, ham, bacon, sausage, cheeses, hams, fruits, breads, deserts, etc. Their ham, sausage, coffee, chesses, etc. are different than ours but what the heck you’re not in your country. Enjoy their culture. That’s why you’re there.
The rest of the hotel staff was all mostly friendly to English speaking people and spoke very good English.
The bar on the roof of the hotel is very nice and a great place to relax.
One of the older bartenders on the roof gets a little attitude once in a while but he’s harmless. I actually had a good time talking and messing with him.
All in all I liked this hotel. Probably a little better than my wife did but I give it a full thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scmez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

positives: warm welcome, helpful and friendly staff, great location near to Spanish Steps, perfect breakfast, excellent roof top restaurant; nice view of city and delicious foods,very good service, near to restaurants (Italian pizza)
negatives: pretty old accommodation, be careful; swindler waylays out of the hotel!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#99 of 1,257 in Rome
496 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Tribune Hotel
The Tribune Hotel
#100 of 1,257 in Rome
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#165 of 1,257 in Rome
1,299 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#261 of 1,257 in Rome
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Via Campania 41, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#206 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#224 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class**** boutique Hotel Victoria, built in 1899, is located in the historical center of Rome, off Via Veneto in a quiet area and across the street from the Park of the Villa Borghese.Our 4 stars hotel features a large collection aspects and views of Rome from the 18th and 19th centuries. These paintings, together with the largest open air roof garden in Rome full of rare botanical plants, are the genius loci of a Mediterranean awareness.This Swiss owned and run boutique Rome Hotel is an understatement to traditional Italian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rome
Hotel Rome Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing