We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #159 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a great holiday in the hotel savoy in rome. The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful and helped us with finding places to go. The breakfast was absolutely brilliant lots of choice. Our room was lovely and it was in a good district in Rome I would certainly go back there

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara551801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel has one English channel on T.V. making people pay the very expensive rates for their WiFi. Only time charged for this service in the 4 hotels we stayed at on our trip to Italy The bathroom has one shampoo and 2 slivers of soap per room, hand towels were thinner than the toilet paper. I had to use a bath towel to wipe bathroom floor dry when we arrived as floor was wet. We went out leaving plumber to fix leak in bidet and when we came back dirty bath towel still on floor. Got wine glasses from bar to toast my wife's 60th birthday, next day glasses left in room not even cleaned. Room okay for business people who only need a bed/shower and can write off cost off WiFi/internet.
Only plus was nice breakfast served in basement.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apheresis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel is in a good location not far from the nearest underground taking you to all the major sights. You can walk to the Spanish steps which is about 10 minutes away and also the Trevi Fountain which is about 15-20 minutes walk. The rooms in the hotel are clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly. There was quite a good selection of food at breakfast. The roof bar/restaurant was nice with amazing views across Rome, though we did not eat there as we went out to eat. The only thing that did disappoint us was that we could not use the roof bar for 2/3 nights of our stay as they rented this out to private parties. All in all we were happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a non smoking floor after reading previous comments by other travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leggy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This turned out to be a Great Choice for Location, Location, Location! 5 to 10 minute walk to The Trevi Fountain as well the Spanish Steps. 2 minutes from Barberini Square. The staff at the front desk were very kind and helpful. The rooms were a fair size and the bathrooms were large as well. No complaints there. Elevators were slow but to be expected in this age of building, I guess. I was not to happy about paying extra for WiFi connection. Kind of thought that the Savoy was a bit tight on this expense. Went around the corner and had a beer at the cafe and it included Wifi. So I would suggest that this being a upscale hotel with an upscale price, Wifi should be inclusive. Rooftop restaurant and bar was beautiful but very overpriced. I would stay here again because of the location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
I regret that our provider of internet connection made our guests pay for the WIFI. I take this occasion to confirm that from now on WIFI is free to guests in the whole Hotel.
.

Kindest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Lovely hotel in a very nice part of town and feels premium. My only complaint is the wireless internet was not free, but 9€ for 24 hours, which, for a hotel of this price and standard I find appalling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMPCC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
I regret that our provider of internet connection made our guests pay for the WIFI. I take this occasion to confirm that from now on WIFI is free to guests in the whole Hotel.
.

Kindest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

On our recent August trip to Italy, we landed in Rome from our NY overnight flight. Upon our early AM arrival, our room was not yet ready. Reception immediately accommodated our family with a room to rest and freshen up. We were able to get to our Vatican tour on time that afternoon, rested and refreshed, thank you to the staff!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is currently specializing in pre cruise stays. The staff is pleasant if a little stiff. The location is excelent, about 1/2 block off the Via Vineto. Avoid the roof top restaurant, the food and service is not acceptable. The hotel is being renovated and could be a much improved property when it is finished.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_Jimbo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#288 of 1,272 in Rome
969 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#112 of 1,272 in Rome
888 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Tribune Hotel
The Tribune Hotel
#43 of 1,272 in Rome
316 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#64 of 1,272 in Rome
1,248 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#154 of 1,272 in Rome
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#163 Family Hotel in Rome
#195 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $143 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy is a traditional, historical hotel with elegant decors and modern facilities with a superb location, just off legendary Via Veneto in the heart of town, a few minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery and the most famous Italian Fashion shopping district, at walking distance to Fontana di Trevi . Each of the 124 guestrooms are classical in style and extremely comfortable, with a/c, hairdryer, safe and free wifi. The hotel has a Bar, a pc corner with printing facilities and a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants theaters and shops. There are 4 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 120 people for conventions meetings banquets exhibits; audiovisual equipment available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing