We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for families”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #174 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
burlington,ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not for families”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel has one English channel on T.V. making people pay the very expensive rates for their WiFi. Only time charged for this service in the 4 hotels we stayed at on our trip to Italy The bathroom has one shampoo and 2 slivers of soap per room, hand towels were thinner than the toilet paper. I had to use a bath towel to wipe bathroom floor dry when we arrived as floor was wet. We went out leaving plumber to fix leak in bidet and when we came back dirty bath towel still on floor. Got wine glasses from bar to toast my wife's 60th birthday, next day glasses left in room not even cleaned. Room okay for business people who only need a bed/shower and can write off cost off WiFi/internet.
Only plus was nice breakfast served in basement.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apheresis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    505
    200
    52
    32
See reviews for
236
573
33
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon,
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel is in a good location not far from the nearest underground taking you to all the major sights. You can walk to the Spanish steps which is about 10 minutes away and also the Trevi Fountain which is about 15-20 minutes walk. The rooms in the hotel are clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly. There was quite a good selection of food at breakfast. The roof bar/restaurant was nice with amazing views across Rome, though we did not eat there as we went out to eat. The only thing that did disappoint us was that we could not use the roof bar for 2/3 nights of our stay as they rented this out to private parties. All in all we were happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a non smoking floor after reading previous comments by other travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leggy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, January 10, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This turned out to be a Great Choice for Location, Location, Location! 5 to 10 minute walk to The Trevi Fountain as well the Spanish Steps. 2 minutes from Barberini Square. The staff at the front desk were very kind and helpful. The rooms were a fair size and the bathrooms were large as well. No complaints there. Elevators were slow but to be expected in this age of building, I guess. I was not to happy about paying extra for WiFi connection. Kind of thought that the Savoy was a bit tight on this expense. Went around the corner and had a beer at the cafe and it included Wifi. So I would suggest that this being a upscale hotel with an upscale price, Wifi should be inclusive. Rooftop restaurant and bar was beautiful but very overpriced. I would stay here again because of the location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, January 10, 2015
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
I regret that our provider of internet connection made our guests pay for the WIFI. I take this occasion to confirm that from now on WIFI is free to guests in the whole Hotel.
.

Kindest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Lovely hotel in a very nice part of town and feels premium. My only complaint is the wireless internet was not free, but 9€ for 24 hours, which, for a hotel of this price and standard I find appalling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMPCC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
I regret that our provider of internet connection made our guests pay for the WIFI. I take this occasion to confirm that from now on WIFI is free to guests in the whole Hotel.
.

Kindest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

On our recent August trip to Italy, we landed in Rome from our NY overnight flight. Upon our early AM arrival, our room was not yet ready. Reception immediately accommodated our family with a room to rest and freshen up. We were able to get to our Vatican tour on time that afternoon, rested and refreshed, thank you to the staff!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, January 10, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is currently specializing in pre cruise stays. The staff is pleasant if a little stiff. The location is excelent, about 1/2 block off the Via Vineto. Avoid the roof top restaurant, the food and service is not acceptable. The hotel is being renovated and could be a much improved property when it is finished.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_Jimbo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here in Sept 2013,for the second time in 16 years and it did not disappoint.Staff were excellent and friendly.Well run hotel,attentive front counter.The room was functional and clean neat and tidy.Bathroom modern,everything working.The breakfast typical Italian hotel fare, good selection of fresh food. Location fine,easy access to the via Veneto (metres away) also close enough to walk to the spanish steps,Trevi fountain and other sites.We came by taxi from the Termini,not expensive and easy as.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silkster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dearest Silksister,

thank you for sharing your positive comment.
Returning Guests always make us very very happy! I could say that that is the reason of working in the hospitality.

So let me thank you and wish to have you at the Savoy once again in the future..

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,476 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#287 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Romanico Palace
Hotel Romanico Palace
#299 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,806 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#108 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#195 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#262 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy is a traditional, historical hotel with elegant decors and modern facilities with a superb location, just off legendary Via Veneto in the heart of town, a few minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery and the most famous Italian Fashion shopping district, at walking distance to Fontana di Trevi . Each of the 124 guestrooms are classical in style and extremely comfortable, with a/c, hairdryer, safe and free wifi. The hotel has a Bar, a pc corner with printing facilities and a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants theaters and shops. There are 4 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 120 people for conventions meetings banquets exhibits; audiovisual equipment available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing