We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium Option”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #167 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Premium Option”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Lovely hotel in a very nice part of town and feels premium. My only complaint is the wireless internet was not free, but 9€ for 24 hours, which, for a hotel of this price and standard I find appalling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMPCC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
I regret that our provider of internet connection made our guests pay for the WIFI. I take this occasion to confirm that from now on WIFI is free to guests in the whole Hotel.
.

Kindest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    521
    209
    54
    32
See reviews for
254
597
37
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffern, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

On our recent August trip to Italy, we landed in Rome from our NY overnight flight. Upon our early AM arrival, our room was not yet ready. Reception immediately accommodated our family with a room to rest and freshen up. We were able to get to our Vatican tour on time that afternoon, rested and refreshed, thank you to the staff!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, January 10, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel and found the staff to be courteous and helpful. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.

Warmest regards

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is currently specializing in pre cruise stays. The staff is pleasant if a little stiff. The location is excelent, about 1/2 block off the Via Vineto. Avoid the roof top restaurant, the food and service is not acceptable. The hotel is being renovated and could be a much improved property when it is finished.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_Jimbo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here in Sept 2013,for the second time in 16 years and it did not disappoint.Staff were excellent and friendly.Well run hotel,attentive front counter.The room was functional and clean neat and tidy.Bathroom modern,everything working.The breakfast typical Italian hotel fare, good selection of fresh food. Location fine,easy access to the via Veneto (metres away) also close enough to walk to the spanish steps,Trevi fountain and other sites.We came by taxi from the Termini,not expensive and easy as.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silkster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dearest Silksister,

thank you for sharing your positive comment.
Returning Guests always make us very very happy! I could say that that is the reason of working in the hospitality.

So let me thank you and wish to have you at the Savoy once again in the future..

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was picked as part of a cruise by the Azamara Cruise group. All hotels picked by them which we had travelled to before had been very good. Not this one! Looks the part, staff are charming , but the rooms are awkward, beds very hard, pillows also biscuit hard, bathrooms tired, I.e., rusty sinkholes, scales taps, scaled up shower heads, etc. Worst failing is the toilet behind the door with the toilet roll holder so badly positioned you could get a hernia trying to use it! Why do they not make the doors outward opening if they are stuck for space?

Breakfast the worst ever in Europe we have ever had. Lots of smiley staff standing around doing very little, tables too small to cope with normal breakfast plates etc., not a lot of choice and the "hot" food was tepid, the rolls, and general baked goods were minimal, fruit rock hard, coffee etc. (awful), not served, orange juice not fresh but carton horrid stuff! Turns out that the breakfast is "franchised" out - which explains a lot! Sack the breakfast team and live or die by your own staff. Reception thought I was exaggerating, so I asked a complete stranger, American, standing at Reception at the same time what he thought, and he gave the same complaints that I did!

Not a cheap hotel and definitely not 4 star!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is our 2nd time at the Savoy and it won't be the last. I highly recommend this hotel.....location is fabulous, staff is Excellent, food is the best and our room was magnificent. Can't wait to go back........

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogey-Mozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Susan,

we can't wait to have you here again..

Thank you very much for your zest :-)
Kindest regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

First of all don’t be fooled by the name. The Hotel Savoy is not part of the Savoy or Fairmont group.

We booked this hotel following a Cruise that finished in Rome and caught the train up from Termini. If you want to use public transport instead of a taxi then the closest train station is Barberini which is a 5 minute walk.

Check in was efficient and reception offered to book us a taxi to the airport the next day for 6 of us which was 90Euros.

There were 3 couples and we all paid the same rate for the rooms but all were different in size and state of repair .Some are super swanky with rainshowers and double sinks whilst others are nice but not as upmarket. It would be worth specifying which sort of room you’re after when booking.

Breakfast is down in the basement but I was pleasantly surprised with the offerings and variety. There was something for everyone.

There’s no rooftop pool at the Savoy (look at the mecure colloseo if you want one of those) but it does have a rooftop bar. I woke up early (7AM) and thought it would be nice to go up on the roof and read but found it was locked up. When I went to reception and explained I wanted access and in no way wanted service they refused and said I had to wait until 11. So my one complaint/suggestion would be to open it up for people to enjoy all the time. Apart from that the front desk were helpful allowing us an iron, luggage scales and providing helpful suggestions.

The hotel is located in the posh part of town right near some of the top hotels and some of the foreign embassies (e.g USA) and the Villa Borghese park. When in Rome it’s best to get a decent pair of walking shoes on and explore on foot. But if that’s not for you then the open top tour buses leave about 100m away and reception will provide you with a leaflet on which ones to get. If you are thinking of visiting the Vatican then definitely take a guided tour. It avoids the huge queues and you’ll learn much more.

This is a well located hotel within an area that felt safe at night and delivered what it said.

If you found this review helpful let me know by clicking yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hills86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Hills86,

first of all I want to thank you for taking the time to post your comments and suggestions here on Tripadvisor. I think your review is useful for all and also correct in remarks.

The Savoy Rome is not part of the Fairmont Group; it sometimes happens to disappoint guests just because of the name in common with five star hotels. I will never stop pointing out that the hotel I manage is a four star hotel, with a terrific location, ancient palazzo and welcoming helpful staff.

I appreciate your suggestion regarding the roof top opening at all time; unfortunately fixed safety rules force as to lock the access when the terrace is unguarded. As you could see, the seventh floor is actually protruding into the void.

I hope to have you again at the Savoy Rome in the next future,
kindest regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#274 of 1,258 in Rome
924 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,258 in Rome
2,331 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Romanico Palace
Hotel Romanico Palace
#286 of 1,258 in Rome
1,668 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,680 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#23 of 1,258 in Rome
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#195 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#262 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy is a traditional, historical hotel with elegant decors and modern facilities with a superb location, just off legendary Via Veneto in the heart of town, a few minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery and the most famous Italian Fashion shopping district, at walking distance to Fontana di Trevi . Each of the 124 guestrooms are classical in style and extremely comfortable, with a/c, hairdryer, safe and free wifi. The hotel has a Bar, a pc corner with printing facilities and a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants theaters and shops. There are 4 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 120 people for conventions meetings banquets exhibits; audiovisual equipment available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing