We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel in a Good Location”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #166 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I were booked into the Savoy at the end of a cruise. We were given a room which was a bit depressing and about as far away from the elevators as possible. When we complained, we were given a room right next to an elevator - very nice but a bit noisy at night. On the other hand, the hotel is located half a block away from the Via Veneto and within walking distance to several of the main attractions of the city. The hotel has an attractive roof bar and restaurant, although the drinks are a bit pricey ($18.00 for a J.Walker Black Label on the rocks). On one evening rain fell in buckets, prompting a lot of folks to eat at the restaurant. About 10-12 tables were served by one woman and a young man who was in training. As a team, they were outstanding - very efficient, but also very friendly - an amazing performance (and the food was very good). Breakfast was excellent, with a large assortment of eggs, meats, cheeses, etc. We would stay there again, but make sure we got a good room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VATraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2015

Dear Guest, 5

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Savoy Hotel Rome and thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel.

We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Savoy for 4 nights during our visit in Rome. We picked this hotel because it was involved in a package with our cruise line.

Overall we thought the hotel was very nice. The location is incredible and the roof top patio is a lovely place to relax.
The street was not too busy, but the walls between the rooms are paper thin. I’m sure that this is similar to many comparable hotels, but if you’re a light sleeper, be sure to bring ear plugs. During our first night, our next door neighbour watched TV until 2am (at not a very loud level, but it seemed like it was right in my ear) and then had wake up call at 6am. Both kept me awake. However, once we picked up ear plugs, we slept really well the rest of the trip and the bed was comfortable.

The breakfasts were good, the service was very good in the breakfast room and the upstairs patio and the bathroom and room were nice.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JBI747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2015

Dear Guest, 5

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Savoy Hotel Rome and thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel.

We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Yes, the hotel is in a nice area, and the rest?! Will definitely look for another hotel for the next visit.
Paid 12 Euro for 24-hour internet access, it's only available in the hotel and not bad connection. It's better to buy a local SIM card, much worthwhile!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tpetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We had our honeymoon in Italy and the first stop is in Rome.

The hotel is pretty charming and the service is acceptable. However, the location of the hotel takes quute a bit of walking and navigation.

It is abt 15 minutes from the Spanish Steps. Nearby the hotel, not much view to look at.

But overall, it is a comfortable place for 1 or 2 days of stay.

Just keep the maps handy.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel_chiang76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have some difficulties to know how to rate this hotel in my short review. The hotel got some good points as well as some bad ones. So I guess it boils down to what is most important to each visitor. The hotel is located in a good and convenient area. Staff was nice, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really so-so. All the basics you need for the day's start, but no more.
Our room was quite large and located in the 5th floor next to the elevator. And believe me - there can't be much insulation in the walls, because we heard VERY well the elevator noise all night...as well as fellow travelers talking/activities in neighbor-rooms. (Meaning it will be hard to relax and sleep well). In the closet, pillows of various hard/softness available.
Lighting in the room was a bit dim, missing some more light at the entrance/wardrobe area. Bathroom nicely decorated but small and could do with some more amenities for a hotel in this price-range/class. Further - be careful with the toilet - our got stuck more than one time even with use of minimal paper for the "daily duties". However, the room was well cleaned every day.
We didn't try any eating options at the hotel, so I can't comment.
We got free one hour Internet access. If you need a "real" longer time access, you will need to pay directly with your card to Swisscom something like 10 or 12 Euro for 24 hours - depending on your choice. Nothing wrong with the Swisscom service itself, but the hotel should really re-consider their Internet-access solution for the guests... hey, it's 2013 now :-)
Our room got a small refrigerator/minibar, but no coffee-boiler, complimentary water bottles or similar. Fine for us, but just worth to mention.

Room Tip: As far from elevators as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just back from 4 nights in the Hotel. Its a fantastic hotel in a lovely area to the left of the hotel there is lots of restaurants bars and shops, Harry's bar is a 5 min walk away and the Hard Rock Cafe isn't too far away either. The rooms are pretty basic, they have a tv but with very few English channels there's a mini bar in the room with reasonable prices, fresh towels and sheets daily and the room was immaculate. There wasn't any tea/coffee facilities but there was a safe. In my room the air conditioning didn't work but the windows opened so the room was cool enough.
The Spanish steps are a ten minute walk away and the hop on hop off bus stops almost directly outside the hotel. Definately worth going to this hotel.

Room Tip: The lifts are very eery and not being a lover of them I could only go in once and had to use the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgiawx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2015

Dear Guest

It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We are really pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on TripAdvisor! this is the best present a Guest can bring us.

All the staff at the reception has been informed about your comments and we all look forward welcoming you in the near future!

Warmest regards


Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is ok just for getting your head down, there are no extras, rooms a very basic, NO kettle, to make a cuppa after being out all day. so take a travel kettle, not even one for hire. the breakfast are ok, fill up, as it can be expensive in rome. we got a tea and coffee on way back to hotel one evening, it cost €12. becareful were you eat, and watch out for them selling you specials in restaurents the only thing special is the price. the reception staff were very nice in the hotel. the rooms were clean and tidy, there was no atmosphere in the hotel. people just coming and going. the hotel is only less than 10minutes walk down hill to the top of the steps and the fountain is also about 10 minutes walk in other direction.. take comfy shoes LOTS OF WALKING.
ROME IS A LOVELY PLACE LOTS TO SEE. BUT VERY PRICEY.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashieNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#283 of 1,270 in Rome
963 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#106 of 1,270 in Rome
886 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#135 of 1,270 in Rome
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,270 in Rome
3,037 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#198 of 1,270 in Rome
473 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#68 of 1,270 in Rome
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#163 Family Hotel in Rome
#195 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $138 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy is a traditional, historical hotel with elegant decors and modern facilities with a superb location, just off legendary Via Veneto in the heart of town, a few minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery and the most famous Italian Fashion shopping district, at walking distance to Fontana di Trevi . Each of the 124 guestrooms are classical in style and extremely comfortable, with a/c, hairdryer, safe and free wifi. The hotel has a Bar, a pc corner with printing facilities and a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants theaters and shops. There are 4 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 120 people for conventions meetings banquets exhibits; audiovisual equipment available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing