We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CERTAINLY NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #169 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“CERTAINLY NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

CERTAINLY NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL
Room was very small and dark ,toiletries poor have had much better in a 3 star hotel ,bath was very small and hurt my leg on the taps in middle of bath as I took a shower also heated towel rail which didn't work and took to much space over the bath.
Breakfast was a joke sitting on garden chairs in the basement no room for anything on tables and no windows to see out ,scrambled egg was powdered and fruit was tinned or you could have deserts left over from evening dinner the night before .
We paid for Half board first evening meal was good ,second night a disaster ordered a penne pasta dish and was given big thick tube pasta when I said its not penne paste lady in charge told me pasta is pasta !!! I thought being in the capital city of Italy she should have known the difference ,main course was cold and lemon chicken had no lemon taste so I complained to main desk and next night at restaurant my wife and I were greeted by a manager called Aldo who said I believe you had a disappointing meal last night and he would let us have a meal from other menu which was very good although we still had to pay for the coffee and the wine but that is life.
It was a special occasion our 40th wedding anniversary which turned out to be a very disappointing and would not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to celebrate an occasion !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Maybe try another hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, F&B Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mr George,

I'm sorry we could not satisfy your expetations, although we tried in many ways.
Since your complaint about the unkind answer you received about the pasta size (I apologize again for that) we tried to meet your needs as much as we could. I'm still wondering why you had lemon chicken breast again after you hadn't liked it the night before. Just wondering.

I thank you in any case for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor, we are always keen of improving our services.
Best regards

Aldo Arrigoni
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    487
    194
    51
    31
See reviews for
232
550
32
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SouthernIll
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Savoy is an old hotel, updated and clean. We had an oversize room and it was updated recently. Very nice.

The Savoy is off the Via Veneto - which is full of restaurants and shops.

The Buffet Breakfast was nothig to write up home about...but sufficient.

The staff was also very helpful. I would stay at the Savoy again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60LilRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear LilRed,

thank you for sharing your opinion here on Tripadvisor.
My staff and I hope to have you as a guest again here at the Savoy.
Kindest regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Hotel Savoy and had an excellent experience! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the overall impression of the hotel is very positive. It is located in a well kept neighbourhood of Rome near the Via Veneto, convenient to all the major attractions - walking distance to Spanish Steps, short metro ride to Colisseum and Vatican.

I can only repeat what everyone else seems to have said. The reception staff on check-in and throughout our stay were excellent, happily answering our questions and giving useful information. We were travelling as a family of 4 booking two rooms, one of which was upgraded free of charge. It was our daughter's 21st birthday and she was delighted to find a surprise bottle of wine in her room given by the hotel on the day of her birthday. A big 'thank you' for that!

My only quibble - and I emphasize it is only a quibble and a very personal one at that - is a lack of tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. After a long flight or a long day exploring Rome it would be nice to come 'home' to a relaxing cup of tea or coffee!

However, don't let that put you off from choosing this hotel for your stay. You will not regret it and we very much hope to be returning to this wonderful city and hotel as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelJLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dearest MichaelJ,

greetings from Rome!
Thank you for posting your nice review, I'm glad you and your family enjoied your time in Rome and the Savoy.
We look forward having you here again in the next future,
kindest regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea,
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived at our hotel quite late in the evening and were checked in very quickly. The hotel foyer has a wonderful sense of old fashioned grandeur, with fantastic chandeliers and rugs throughout.
We were traveling as 3 couples for a sightseeing and rugby weekend. All our rooms were spacious and well-equipped, with an honesty bar and lovely big bathroom. All communal areas and rooms were spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was self service with as many different breakfast foods as you can think of!
The staff were extremely helpful with ideas, maps, taxis, etc.
The hotel is within walking distance of the Spanish Steps. I do think Rome is quite a compact city and all the attractions were accessible by foot from the hotel. Its in a brilliant location.
This was our second trip to Rome, and definitely the better hotel.
I can honestly say, that I can only hope I will return to this hotel again - in fact, I'm already looking to take my children there later this year.
Would not hesitate to recommend to anybody traveling to Rome

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulahoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dearest Lulahoops

greetings from Rome!
It is our pleasure, year by year, to have rugby people here at the Savoy! During the 6Nations tournment fun and peace are in the air and we love the idea to partecipate in a nice way to a happy event! some day Italy team will win also! :-)

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor, we look forward hosting you again in the next future, hopefully in the next 6Nations!
Best regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Would like to thank the staff at the hotel for taking excellent care of us during our stay. Convenient location in a nice part of the city. Would recommend it to others and would be happy to stay here again in two years time when we will return for another visit to the eternal city to watch the rugby. Once again many thanks to the staff at the Hotel Savoy for making our stay as comfortable as possible.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Euryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dearest Euryn O,

thank you very much for posting your experience, we are glad you appreciated the city and our Hotel. And.. we love Rugby too :-) Your thanks have been forwarded to our reception staff, thank you.

We really hope to welcome you here at the Savoy whenever you'll come back!

Kind regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Rome hotels can be notoriously poor but this one certainly does not fit in this category. Located at the top end of a street which dissects via Veneto, it is quiet, classy yet central enough to venture out in Rome on foot. We booked a basic room but were given a superior one for no extra charge which was huge. The room was utterly spotless, bathroom was large and clean, bed was large and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast was included in the price and the choice was extensive: again the staff in the breakfast room were excellent. I have nothing but praise for this hotel and I would happily stay here again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AscotTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

please let me express my satisfaction in reading your review.. This is actually the reason for loving my job so much, making our Guest happy and willing to come back.

Looking forward to welcoming you at the Savoy,

thank you.

Mario Rastelli
Hotel savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've just completed a 3 night stay at the Savoy and were very impressed. The grandiose exterior and interior is well complimented with the modern rooms which were spotless and well appointed. Recommend a visit to the rooftop terrace for great views and good food/drink. Helpful staff and a great location just off of Via Veneto, surrounded by good restaurants , makes the Savoy a very good choice .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HODGEY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Hodgey,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel here on Tripadvisor. We really hope to see you again in a next future.

Greetings from Rome,
regards

Mario rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,363 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Romanico Palace
Hotel Romanico Palace
#301 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#110 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#296 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#195 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#261 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy is a traditional, historical hotel with elegant decors and modern facilities with a superb location, just off legendary Via Veneto in the heart of town, a few minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery and the most famous Italian Fashion shopping district, at walking distance to Fontana di Trevi . Each of the 124 guestrooms are classical in style and extremely comfortable, with a/c, hairdryer, safe and free wifi. The hotel has a Bar, a pc corner with printing facilities and a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants theaters and shops. There are 4 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 120 people for conventions meetings banquets exhibits; audiovisual equipment available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing