We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #174 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea,
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived at our hotel quite late in the evening and were checked in very quickly. The hotel foyer has a wonderful sense of old fashioned grandeur, with fantastic chandeliers and rugs throughout.
We were traveling as 3 couples for a sightseeing and rugby weekend. All our rooms were spacious and well-equipped, with an honesty bar and lovely big bathroom. All communal areas and rooms were spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was self service with as many different breakfast foods as you can think of!
The staff were extremely helpful with ideas, maps, taxis, etc.
The hotel is within walking distance of the Spanish Steps. I do think Rome is quite a compact city and all the attractions were accessible by foot from the hotel. Its in a brilliant location.
This was our second trip to Rome, and definitely the better hotel.
I can honestly say, that I can only hope I will return to this hotel again - in fact, I'm already looking to take my children there later this year.
Would not hesitate to recommend to anybody traveling to Rome

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulahoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dearest Lulahoops

greetings from Rome!
It is our pleasure, year by year, to have rugby people here at the Savoy! During the 6Nations tournment fun and peace are in the air and we love the idea to partecipate in a nice way to a happy event! some day Italy team will win also! :-)

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor, we look forward hosting you again in the next future, hopefully in the next 6Nations!
Best regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    505
    200
    52
    32
See reviews for
236
573
33
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Would like to thank the staff at the hotel for taking excellent care of us during our stay. Convenient location in a nice part of the city. Would recommend it to others and would be happy to stay here again in two years time when we will return for another visit to the eternal city to watch the rugby. Once again many thanks to the staff at the Hotel Savoy for making our stay as comfortable as possible.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Euryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dearest Euryn O,

thank you very much for posting your experience, we are glad you appreciated the city and our Hotel. And.. we love Rugby too :-) Your thanks have been forwarded to our reception staff, thank you.

We really hope to welcome you here at the Savoy whenever you'll come back!

Kind regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Rome hotels can be notoriously poor but this one certainly does not fit in this category. Located at the top end of a street which dissects via Veneto, it is quiet, classy yet central enough to venture out in Rome on foot. We booked a basic room but were given a superior one for no extra charge which was huge. The room was utterly spotless, bathroom was large and clean, bed was large and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast was included in the price and the choice was extensive: again the staff in the breakfast room were excellent. I have nothing but praise for this hotel and I would happily stay here again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AscotTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

please let me express my satisfaction in reading your review.. This is actually the reason for loving my job so much, making our Guest happy and willing to come back.

Looking forward to welcoming you at the Savoy,

thank you.

Mario Rastelli
Hotel savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've just completed a 3 night stay at the Savoy and were very impressed. The grandiose exterior and interior is well complimented with the modern rooms which were spotless and well appointed. Recommend a visit to the rooftop terrace for great views and good food/drink. Helpful staff and a great location just off of Via Veneto, surrounded by good restaurants , makes the Savoy a very good choice .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HODGEY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Hodgey,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel here on Tripadvisor. We really hope to see you again in a next future.

Greetings from Rome,
regards

Mario rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent breakfast, we used to fill up so much that we wouldn't need lunch! The hotel is close enough to the centre if you don't mind walking a lot, but by the end of our week stay we were quite exhausted. A lot of the restaurants nearby on via veneto are very expensive, try and go to trastevere to eat while you are here, you can get a bus and then a tram, and it's a very authentic area with excellent and cheap restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alicem42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Alicem,

thank you for sharing your positive comments!

Hope you had a good trip back,
regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy from the 18 to 21 January and would definetely stay here again. The reception staff were very helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate. During our stay i celebrated my birthday and when the staff in the bar found out, i returned to my room to find a complementary bottle of prosecco. The best thing about this hotel was the roof top restaurant where the food and service was excellent. Thanks to Ambili S, Michaela and Agnesses for making this such a memorable trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brennanHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Brennan,

I really mean to thank you for your warm post. Please be assured that I informed the staff at the restaurant of your greetings. Thank you!

It is a great pleasure when our guests feel at their ease staying with us, we always try to exceed your expetations and needs.
I hope you had a good trip back home and wait for your visiting us again in the next future.
Kind regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice hotel in good location. Made for a good base for exploring Rome. Only 30 minute walk to Vatican and 20 minutes into the colleseum. Nice roof top bar to watch the sunset from......................................................................

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sampascoe1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
Dear Guest, 5

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Savoy Hotel Rome and thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel.

We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,476 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#287 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Romanico Palace
Hotel Romanico Palace
#299 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,806 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#108 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#195 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#262 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy is a traditional, historical hotel with elegant decors and modern facilities with a superb location, just off legendary Via Veneto in the heart of town, a few minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery and the most famous Italian Fashion shopping district, at walking distance to Fontana di Trevi . Each of the 124 guestrooms are classical in style and extremely comfortable, with a/c, hairdryer, safe and free wifi. The hotel has a Bar, a pc corner with printing facilities and a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants theaters and shops. There are 4 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 120 people for conventions meetings banquets exhibits; audiovisual equipment available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing