We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #178 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've just completed a 3 night stay at the Savoy and were very impressed. The grandiose exterior and interior is well complimented with the modern rooms which were spotless and well appointed. Recommend a visit to the rooftop terrace for great views and good food/drink. Helpful staff and a great location just off of Via Veneto, surrounded by good restaurants , makes the Savoy a very good choice .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HODGEY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Hodgey,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel here on Tripadvisor. We really hope to see you again in a next future.

Greetings from Rome,
regards

Mario rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    510
    205
    54
    32
See reviews for
239
585
35
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent breakfast, we used to fill up so much that we wouldn't need lunch! The hotel is close enough to the centre if you don't mind walking a lot, but by the end of our week stay we were quite exhausted. A lot of the restaurants nearby on via veneto are very expensive, try and go to trastevere to eat while you are here, you can get a bus and then a tram, and it's a very authentic area with excellent and cheap restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alicem42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Alicem,

thank you for sharing your positive comments!

Hope you had a good trip back,
regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy from the 18 to 21 January and would definetely stay here again. The reception staff were very helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate. During our stay i celebrated my birthday and when the staff in the bar found out, i returned to my room to find a complementary bottle of prosecco. The best thing about this hotel was the roof top restaurant where the food and service was excellent. Thanks to Ambili S, Michaela and Agnesses for making this such a memorable trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brennanHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Brennan,

I really mean to thank you for your warm post. Please be assured that I informed the staff at the restaurant of your greetings. Thank you!

It is a great pleasure when our guests feel at their ease staying with us, we always try to exceed your expetations and needs.
I hope you had a good trip back home and wait for your visiting us again in the next future.
Kind regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice hotel in good location. Made for a good base for exploring Rome. Only 30 minute walk to Vatican and 20 minutes into the colleseum. Nice roof top bar to watch the sunset from......................................................................

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sampascoe1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore generale at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
Dear Guest, 5

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Savoy Hotel Rome and thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel.

We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

Roberto Necci
General Manager
Hotel Savoy Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was here for almost a week and would consider staying here again. The downside to this hotel is that there is a daily charge for Wi Fi, which I consider shocking for an establishment of this caliber.
That being said, their roof top bar and restaurant is a terrific perk of this hotel. The breakfast and overall quality of the food was good.
The overall ambience of this property is quite nice, and the staff are always happy to help with anything.

Room Tip: We faced into the interior courtyard on an upper floor, which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JPA-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Jules,

thank you for sharing your opinion on our hotel here on Tripadvisor.
I had the opportunity to clarify the wifi cost before, saying that the provider we host is a premium provider Swisscom and we chose such a scheme after a disapponting experience of free internet, not adequate for modern mobile devices. We had preferred a high speed granted internet connection at a cost.

We hope to welcome you again very soon, it would be nice when the weather is mild and our roof garden is at its best!

Greetings

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pleasant hotel with nice,clean rooms. We stayed here in late Oct for three nights.The only glitch we had was with check in, when we were made to wait until almost 3:00pm for one of our two rooms even though we were very tired from our flight. If you like being in the Via Veneto area of Rome, this is ideal.It was a 15 minute walk to Spanish Steps.The Savoy is very near the American embassy. Very quiet location near many expensive restaurants.Harry's Bar is a 4 minute walk away. We needed a cab to get to most sites. It did have a nice breakfast.In general we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nanette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dearest Nanycat,

thank you for your nice words about the Savoy Hotel.
We all wait for your coming back to Rome, we'll be happy to have you here again as a guest!

Warm regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Savoy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Booked my trip on british airways website and chose the savoy to stay at. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location of hotel was good as well. The room was disappointing. It seems they give package travellers not the best rooms. Room was too warm and keeping the window open is not the best idea bcs its too noisy. While checking out we were asked to pay something called city tax 3 euro per person. An absolute rip off so be aware of this. Breakfast was average

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy_Manager, Direttore at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your comments. We always seek to exceed our guest's expectations and your feedback is very important to us; guests' comments will definitely help us to improve.

Regarding the 3,00€ collected at check out I'm sorry you were not aware of it! As of 1st January 2011 a City Tax had been introduced in the city of Rome it is almost 1 year since hotels in Rome have to collect this tax on client's departure and it is long time since every travel agent, website, booking system have been adviceing about it.

I have taken note of your other comments, thank you.
Wishing you all the best,
regards

Mario Rastelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,550 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#277 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Romanico Palace
Hotel Romanico Palace
#291 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#111 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Via Ludovisi 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#195 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#262 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy is a traditional, historical hotel with elegant decors and modern facilities with a superb location, just off legendary Via Veneto in the heart of town, a few minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery and the most famous Italian Fashion shopping district, at walking distance to Fontana di Trevi . Each of the 124 guestrooms are classical in style and extremely comfortable, with a/c, hairdryer, safe and free wifi. The hotel has a Bar, a pc corner with printing facilities and a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants theaters and shops. There are 4 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 120 people for conventions meetings banquets exhibits; audiovisual equipment available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing