We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
Ranked #282 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel in April and enjoyed our 2 night stay. Except for the lack of Air Conditioning, we found this Hotel enjoyable. As we found out at other Hotels in Italy, Air conditioning is not a high priority, so be warned. it was in the high 70s the 2 days we spent there and no a/c can start to get uncomfortable. Again we had to open windows and use earplugs.
The breakfasts were very good with hot food such as bacon and eggs and many other selections to choose from, one of the better breakfasts we had in Italy. The rooms and entire Hotel were very well kept, clean and neat everywhere. We only had one dinner at the hotel but everyone agreed the food was good. The location in Rome is very good, only a few blocks from the Coliseum and other nearby sights. The bathrooms , "showers", were good sized and we were happy with the room. If not for the A/C problem I would give it 5 stars. Staff were efficient and professional. I would stay here again if in Rome, in cooler weather. Someone stated they couldn't turn on A/C until 4/15 but our stay was the 27th and still no A/C. If you don't mind the heat, this is a good place to stay while in Rome.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs because you will probably have to open the windows at night to cool off the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boru77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here overnight prior to a cruise and it was perfect. The hotel is perfect walking distance from many of the key attractions. We were able to walk to the forum and see many of the sights the evening of our arrival, then early in the morning were able to skip the line at the Coloseum ( thanks to the advice on Tripadvisor) and were able to see that prior to shuttle to the port. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rg00108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

As others have written, this is a very well located hotel (literally a couple blocks from the Coliseum and Forum) that is clean, with well appointed (though slightly aging) rooms, very comfortable beds and linens. BUT, they can’t (Rome Law) turn on the AC until after 4/15 (the day we were leaving) and even thought it was only in the 60’s outside during the day, colder at night, it was in the 80’s in the rooms. Opening the windows, which only helped a little, meant hearing the incredibly loud (all night long) street noise and so we didn’t sleep very well for our 3 nights there. The front desk staff is not very friendly but the breakfast/bar staff was and the breakfasts were very nice with many choices and the bar makes a mean Bloody Mary. Our Gate 1 group had dinner in the restaurant there one night that was just ordinary.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhotoTheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel served us well when we stayed here April 2014. We were able to walk to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Collesium and good restaurants.

The room was adequate. It had a comfy bed and hot shower.

The morning breakfast was pleasant and tasty.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the city. You may want to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windoweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights while traveling with a group with Gate 1 Travel. We were assigned Room 320 and the room was spacious, the bed was firm and comfortable but the room was hot and we had to open the windows to cool things down. With the windows open day and night, there is a lot of traffic, sirens and parties going on right down below our windows. We just happened to be staying at this hotel on St. Patrick's Day and that night...WOW, what a party, music roaring up from down on the courtyard below, a lot of celebrating until whee in the early morning hours...whew!!
Our tour included the breakfast buffet and it was indeed delicious and plentiful. No "soft-cooked" eggs or bacon to worry about here since they didn't serve it! Plenty of fruits, pastries and lots of great coffee!
The hotel is very convenient being within walking distance to the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, ask for a room that DOES NOT open up to the courtyard or on the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaNurse323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

...Not because of the beds. The beds are fine. The rooms are large and clean with wood floors instead of smelly carpet. But the rooms are hot and they will not turn on the air conditioning until May. If you open the windows to cool off the room (if you're lucky enough to get a breeze) then you have to put up with an incredible amount of traffic/siren/busy street noise. Either way, you're not going to get a good rest.

You can get free wi-fi in the lobby, but they charge you if you want wi-fi in your room. I think they need to get with the times and offer free wi-fi throughout their hotel, like most hotels do these days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the busy, noisy street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank classicalmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I emailed the hotel a few days before we were due there and asked if we could book in early and I would be willing to pay extra, they emailed back to say no it was too busy then. OK, fair enough. We arrived bleary eyed after a long 14.5 hr flight and they said they would store our bags and to come back at 12.30. Fortunately there were things to see close by, like the Forum at the end of the street etc. We duly arrived back at 12.30 only to be told that it would be "unfair" to book us in before 2 as the rest of our group (tour) hadn't all arrived. Why not I wonder? I am sure no one would have had a problem with that if they hadn't arrived yet. Anyway so we walked the streets some more and back at 2. The room was fine except the toilet was on permanent run. To their credit someone came and fixed it pretty well immediately (relief!!). We found our room just fine really, it was quiet and although unremarkable, it did the job. I deducted a star because of the staff attitude. Internet was free in the lobby but I had a problem connecting. I asked the man in uniform (big and surly guy he was) at the desk and he told me my Ipad was broken. It wasn't. There was a smaller man (not sure his name) who was really nice and friendly. thank goodness. It was a poor impression of my first hotel in Italy and all due to staff and their attitude. Such an easy thing to fix, it wouldn't cost anything and would elevate this hotel to achieve a much more favourable score/rating. We were there two nights. Breakfasts are different in Italy and we were prepared for that so we were just fine there. Up the road to the left there are supermarkets, small ones which were handy to buy snacks/drinks from. I doubt whether I would return here, there are so many options in Rome, I'd just prefer a hotel who welcomed guests as guests not as nuisances.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank optionalextras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#150 of 1,271 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#74 of 1,271 in Rome
210 reviews
Monti
The K Boutique Hotel
The K Boutique Hotel
#559 of 1,271 in Rome
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#97 of 1,271 in Rome
963 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#294 of 1,271 in Rome
612 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Palatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Palatino

Address: Via Cavour 213/m, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#227 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $117 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Palatino 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Palatino is situated in the heart of the ancient center of Rome, just a short walk away from the Coliseum and Imperial Forums. Close to shopping streets where Rome's most elegant shops can be found and near Termini Railway station, the air terminal and main subway station, providing rapid links to all the most important areas of Rome. Palatino Grand Hotel has 208 large rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, 4 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Palatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatino Grand Rome
Rome Palatino Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Palatino Rome Italy
Hotel Palatino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing