We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better”
Review of Hotel Siviglia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Siviglia
Ranked #959 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The only good with this hotel is that is close enough to Termini station and you will be able to move easily to the city with the public transpotation.
It needs surely a make over...The building inside has character but it is so old that you cannot appreciate it..
The rooms are nothing much, the bathroom has mold, the cabin's door was broken in pieces
but the most important for us was that they didn't change our sheets for all the five nights we spent there. Also the breakfast had only the basic and in bad quality. There is no change this place to deserve 3 stars...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EleniGoumenaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Siviglia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Gitte L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Where to start!

* Service = appalling! the reception are exceptionally rude and unhelpful. The room was not ready when we arrived late in the afternoon. After being told to come back in an hour the room still wasn't ready. The receptionist who took us to our room did not offer to help with our luggage up all of the damn stairs when we clearly had a 5 luggage pieces between 2 people.

* Room= unrenovated in probably 30 years. Peeling paint, old bedspreads etc etc. we actually booked a double, however received 2 single beds. When I went to explain to the reception man that this was not what we had booked he was so rude and got really aggressive with me, insisting that he had asked me on check in, which is a blatant lie because there is no way that a couple would have agreed to 2 single beds! best solution was offering to push the beds together the following day.

* Honestly even for the cheap price it is certainly not worth it and the service since we checked in to leaving has been very disappointing. All we wanted was a bed to sleep after sightseeing in beautiful Rome but they couldn't even deliver on what we booked.

Room Tip: Don't book here lol
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lovely hotel with big rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast is great as well. Nice area, safe day and night. One block away from the Metro and 4 blocks from the Termini. Don't expect a place to stay all day but a place to take a shower, sleep and relax after a long day in Rome. If you book it through an online agency, double check the specifications since I needed to pay extra because my confirmation from the agency (two adults and two kids) did not match the one from the hotel (only two adults).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictorM46905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel Seviglia is a converted mansion with large rooms; we stayed in room 118. The hotel is starting to show its age. There is no safe in the room; there is a safe at the hotel desk for 3 euros per day. There are four power outlets in the room with three of them interlocked with the room master power. (You have to put your key into the master to have lights and outlet power, a common feature in many hotels.) The power outlet supplying the refrigerator is "always on" and has a multi-plug extension built in. This is a good option for recharging a camera or cell phone battery.

Air conditioning is available only during July and August (common in Europe).

The bathroom is daily supplied with gel shampoo/body wash and bar soap. The shower is large with a bench seat - very nice.

Breakfast is very ample with fruit, meats, pastry, cereal, and eggs. Mugs of coffee are served with a refillable pitcher. Seating is open but it is preferred that couples sit at a table for two rather than a table set for four.

There are several nice restaurants within a few blocks; two are nearby: An Italian cafe around the corner and an Ethiopian restaurant named Africa. Both have good food. There is a small grocery store about one block away on the main street. It is next to an open air bar.

The hotel is about 4 blocks from the Roma Termini station although is feels more remote. Enroute to the train/bus station are three restaurants including a patisserie that serves dinner and wonderful desserts for a reasonable price. The subway system provides convenient access to the major sites in Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms 118 and 119 are desirable.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PATRICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The hotel is very old: smell, dust - everywhere.
I've found ants eating a bug in the center of bathroom.
Bedclothes were not very cleared, but bearable to sleep without disgusting.
Most furniture is quite old and and made me sad.

Stuff is quite kind, but kitchen stuff is not. Breakfast is not poor (there are many things to choose), but I'm not sure that they were fresh.


One more - Leonardi Hotels manager stuff badly speaking English: it was pain to confirm the reservation.

I hope my fate is kind to me and do not make me stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: Seems rooms on higher floors are better.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I will start by saying we were pleased with the proximity to the subway since this hotel is not within easy walking distance of any attractions but the Termini train station. This hotel is a few blocks form the Castro Pretoriano stop on the blue line.

However, the immediate area was lacking in any enticing restaurants or other amenities. We did not feel completely safe walking around in the vicinity except when near the armed guards for the consulates across the street.

Our biggest complaint was the utterly rude and unhelpful staff at the reception desk. Upon check-in we were not given the remote control necessary to operate the A/C and he held our passports with no explanation. Later in our stay, I asked if he could assist us in making 2 dinner reservations. He looked at me like I had three heads, then informed me I would have to pay him for the 3 local phone calls he reluctantly made. Since I was not expecting this I told him I would have to bring the 0.60 cents to him on our way out to dinner in a hour, and he expressed concern that I might not get it to him before his shift ended at 11 pm. Another time, we had to wait for the attendant to finish his cell phone conversation outside before we could retrieve our room key (which they required us to leave with them).

I do wish to say that the one female desk attendant was always willing to help and she was friendly, but spoke poor English. (The hotel's website advertises "multilingual staff".)

We were not happy with the selection at breakfast and the other reviewer who compared the waitress to a member of the Addams Family was not far off. We didn't mind the basement setting but it was deathly quiet in there.

The room was dirty and had some problems. The bed was seriously lumpy and the sheets coarse. The armoire door did not stay closed. The hairdryer was coming unattached from the wall and got far too hot to hold after a few minutes. There was a white stain on the extra blanket that I could not bring myself to identify. Worst of all, the toilet could barely flush and took several tries to get just toilet paper to go down. At one point it stopped flushing altogether.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nuoverose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Bled
Hotel Bled
#944 of 1,267 in Rome
312 reviews
Hotel San Giusto
#1,107 of 1,267 in Rome
408 reviews
Monti
Hotel Edera
Hotel Edera
#772 of 1,267 in Rome
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#1,075 of 1,267 in Rome
899 reviews
Monti
Hotel Gallia
Hotel Gallia
#717 of 1,267 in Rome
385 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#670 of 1,267 in Rome
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siviglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siviglia

Address: Via Gaeta 12, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #959 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $78 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Siviglia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near the Castro Pretorio Metro Station (line B), Hotel Siviglia is a charming late 19th century building, typical of this central residential district of Rome. Free Wi-Fi is available in all areas. Enjoy the quiet and relaxing atmosphere of the Hotel Siviglia and its surroundings, just a short walk from Termini railway station but far from its frenzy. All of the fully furnished and en-suite rooms provide you with a comfortable stay. The rate includes a rich buffet continental breakfast. Hotel Siviglia has an elevator. Termini Station is a great choice for travelers interested in monuments, history and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Siviglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siviglia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing