We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Ripa Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ripa Roma
Ranked #359 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at Worldhotel Ripa at the start of March for three nights for our anniversary. We arrived late as we missed our flight and when I called the hotel they were really understanding and said not to worry they'd see me when they see me. We found the staff really helpful and friendly; they gave us a map on arrival, helped us with directions and even kept the restaurant open late for us when we arrived 5 minutes before close. The breakfast selection was pretty good, with almond, marmalade and honey glazed croissants to scrambled eggs, bacon and fresh fruit The only tiny negative is that the area looks a little run down but is actually only a 15 minute walk from most major attractions. Good hotel with nice wine :)

Room Tip: All local taxi drivers knew the hotel so was easy to get back after a long day of site seeing, taxi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giantfoody88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Giantfood,
let me thank you for your great comments about our hotel and staff: it's our everyday aim to make our guests feeling like you did during their stay with us!
The area where the hotel is located is at the moment being improved by several maintenace works and refurbishments, so we are sure that soon it will look better. Anyway, as you said, the location is great, and you can reach easily all major attractions of the city!
thank you and hope to see you soon at Worldhotel Ripa Roma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ripa Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

I'll get the good stuff out of the way first: excellent staff at front desk and restaurant, has a little gym, rooms are massive, beds comfy, cleaning good, parking free on street nearby (if you find a space). The bad: bathroom tiny (I couldn't take a comfortable crap because the bidet was so damn close to the toilet that I was hitting my knees, and I ain't tall!), the shower cubicle was so tiny that every time I turned around I was turning water from scalding hot to freezing cold, internet is pretty crumby and the coffee at breakfast is worthy of a service station in Kazakhstan, not the capital of Italy... all that said, I enjoyed my stay because I topped up on caffeine elsewhere and the staff were so damn nice. Sort out the coffee situation, dear Worldhotel Ripa, and all is forgiven.

Room Tip: If you're tall, forget about crapping in comfort.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Phil,
thank you for sharing your comments with us and with the Tripadvisor community!
We take the good notes with enthusiasm and we'll share your positive comments with our staff.
We are sorry to read that you did not appreciate our coffee as the quality chosen for our breakfast service is a good one, but in the perspective of general improvement of our service we'll do a quality check . I'll be happy to have a good coffee at Ripa with you and your travel companion when you come back in Rome!
see you soon!
regards
Tiziana Alberati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Ugly rooms, and the rudest staff I have ever had the displeasure to come across. After a minor tussle over payment, the guy at the front office, who looked straight out of some 1950's film, threatened to call the carabinieri. Avoid!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D19752014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

we are really sorry to read your negative comment, that is really surprising, because, as you can read from every review written on this page and on other brand reputation sites, the kindness and efficiency of our staff are always appreciated and it's something we are proud of.
As you mentioned "carabinieri", we'd like to go deeply into what happened during your stay, because, after a check with our colleagues, none of them remembers any particular event when the presence of carabinieri was supposed to be called.

therefore, I kindly suggest you to write me an email with your stay details to the following email address: sales@worldhotelriparoma.com
Kind Regards
Tiziana Alberati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to all the authentic italian restaurants, just over the river from the main tourist sites and there's a tram stop literally just around the corner on the main road if you don't want to walk.
When we arrived the reception staff were very pleasant and really helpful in giving you advice and getting your bearings, and our room was very clean and well presented, I know people have slightly slated the rooms in previous comments but at the end of the day your in rome!! You only sleep there as if any one has anything about them they're out exploring and enjoying the city!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glouharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Director of Sales at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Glouharris,
thank you for your great comments about your stay with us!
We are very happy to read that you appreciated the great location of the hotel, our kind and helpful staff and the cleanliness of the room.
We'll share your review with our staff!
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Worldhotel Ripa Roma,
kind regards
Tiziana Alberati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Whilst I fell in love with Rome I can't say the same for this hotel!!
The location is fab - right round the corner from a tram stop. Although the staff at the hotel failed to tell us how to buy tickets (which I've since seen they sell in the hotel!) so we just travelled around Rome for free...oops!
Hotel room was VERY basic. We booked a standard double room with balcony (through lastminute.com) but we had no balcony. Although we had a double bed it was clearly 2 single beds pushed together as one was higher than the other. On the subject of beds, they were VERY HARD. So hard I woke up with back ache every morning. And I usually like hard mattresses.
The walls were paper thin and on the first morning we were there we were woken up early by the sound of washing machines or something similar. We could clearly hear the man in the room next to us chatting on his mobile.
There was also a VERY tiny old fashioned TV in the room. No paintings or mirrors in the room. Very very basic.
The bathroom was OK - nothing special but it was clean which was a major relief. No shampoo/conditioner though.
The breakfast was fine - a wide choice but the cooked selection left a lot to be desired. The hotel bar was super expensive - 14 Euros for 2 (not particularly big) glasses of wine. Apparently there was no wine menu.... I guess they just charge whatever price they like! After that night we bought wine from a local shop and kept it in our mini bar fridge!
The wifi didn't work the entire time we were there.
The staff on the whole were friendly.
If you're not expecting much and just want a base whilst you go exploring Rome it's fine, but if you want to relax a bit, I wouldn't recommend it. Def not a 4 star. If it was a 3 star I wouldn't have been as disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid room 111
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 26Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed a few days in august 2012 and it was very confortable and clean. The breakfast it was good and generous. There are big rooms, nice personal and it is quiet in the hotel.The tv is very small and old tipe. Location is good and is near by Transtevere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatricelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Beatrice,

Its never too late for a five star review! Thank you so much!
Thank you for mentioning the kindness of the staff and the big size of our rooms and the good location.
As of the tv sets, the change of the old ones is one of the main priorities of the new Management.
Anyway, we are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay here and can’t wait to have you back!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just got back from spending a week at this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Although it was relatively far from all the main attractions in Rome, it was a nice walk or a quick tram ride to get to where we wanted to be. Internet service was a bit spotty at times, but we were only using it for a quick look up of information. Breakfast was a great deal, lots of food. Only gripe about it is that during the peak time, it was difficult to get a table. People would reserve spots before getting their food --- typical -- but it made it hard to find a place to eat and there was no real way to take things to go so one day we found ourselves eating standing up with no napkins or utensils (they are only available at the tables). But it was a nice offering of foods. Rooms were fine. We really only used them for sleeping and showering. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for the kind comments.
We are pleased to read that you appreciated our friendly welcoming staff, and we will definitely pass on all your lovely comments to our colleagues.
Regarding breakfast, thank you for appreciating the variety of choices offered on the buffet. We apologise for the lack of seats during peak hours: during your stay the hotel was completely full with a lot of families and we had more than 400 people having breakfast....We'll share your comments with the management, as our aim is always to improve the quality of our services.

We'd like to thank you again for sharing with us your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#183 of 1,267 in Rome
1,056 reviews
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
#258 of 1,267 in Rome
1,236 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#489 of 1,267 in Rome
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ripa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ripa Roma

Address: Via degli Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Worldhotel Ripa Roma)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $104 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ripa Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trastevere, one of Rome’s oldest most vibrant neighborhoods, Worldhotel Ripa Roma is daringly modern and smart with a look and feel of a contemporary art gallery. Modern design in no way inhibits the personal service and attention devoted to all guests. 197 rooms and suites to optimize space, light and comfortin a chic but friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, working desk with sofa, WI-fi connection and rooms Rituals amenities. Mini gym on first floor with Techno-gym facilities.Underground parking. Ripa Place, our newly refurbished restaurant is a bistrot serving innovative roman cuisine to appeal and surprise our guests and friends. The minimal and chic atmosphere is enriched by a selected list of local wine.When in Rome, you cannot miss: strolling around in Campo de’Fiori, rent a scooter to feel like the famous couple Peck-Hepburn for a real Roman Holiday, every day at noon on the Gianicolo Hill the cannon sound Midday, sunset at Giadino degli Aranci, Aventine key hole, test if he really loves you and ask him to put his hand inside the Mouth of truth inside church S.Maria in Cosmedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ripa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripa Hotel Rome
Hotel Ripa Rome
Rome Hotel Ripa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing