We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star!!”
Review of Hotel Ripa Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ripa Roma
Ranked #351 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Whilst I fell in love with Rome I can't say the same for this hotel!!
The location is fab - right round the corner from a tram stop. Although the staff at the hotel failed to tell us how to buy tickets (which I've since seen they sell in the hotel!) so we just travelled around Rome for free...oops!
Hotel room was VERY basic. We booked a standard double room with balcony (through lastminute.com) but we had no balcony. Although we had a double bed it was clearly 2 single beds pushed together as one was higher than the other. On the subject of beds, they were VERY HARD. So hard I woke up with back ache every morning. And I usually like hard mattresses.
The walls were paper thin and on the first morning we were there we were woken up early by the sound of washing machines or something similar. We could clearly hear the man in the room next to us chatting on his mobile.
There was also a VERY tiny old fashioned TV in the room. No paintings or mirrors in the room. Very very basic.
The bathroom was OK - nothing special but it was clean which was a major relief. No shampoo/conditioner though.
The breakfast was fine - a wide choice but the cooked selection left a lot to be desired. The hotel bar was super expensive - 14 Euros for 2 (not particularly big) glasses of wine. Apparently there was no wine menu.... I guess they just charge whatever price they like! After that night we bought wine from a local shop and kept it in our mini bar fridge!
The wifi didn't work the entire time we were there.
The staff on the whole were friendly.
If you're not expecting much and just want a base whilst you go exploring Rome it's fine, but if you want to relax a bit, I wouldn't recommend it. Def not a 4 star. If it was a 3 star I wouldn't have been as disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 26Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed a few days in august 2012 and it was very confortable and clean. The breakfast it was good and generous. There are big rooms, nice personal and it is quiet in the hotel.The tv is very small and old tipe. Location is good and is near by Transtevere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatricelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Beatrice,

Its never too late for a five star review! Thank you so much!
Thank you for mentioning the kindness of the staff and the big size of our rooms and the good location.
As of the tv sets, the change of the old ones is one of the main priorities of the new Management.
Anyway, we are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay here and can’t wait to have you back!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just got back from spending a week at this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Although it was relatively far from all the main attractions in Rome, it was a nice walk or a quick tram ride to get to where we wanted to be. Internet service was a bit spotty at times, but we were only using it for a quick look up of information. Breakfast was a great deal, lots of food. Only gripe about it is that during the peak time, it was difficult to get a table. People would reserve spots before getting their food --- typical -- but it made it hard to find a place to eat and there was no real way to take things to go so one day we found ourselves eating standing up with no napkins or utensils (they are only available at the tables). But it was a nice offering of foods. Rooms were fine. We really only used them for sleeping and showering. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for the kind comments.
We are pleased to read that you appreciated our friendly welcoming staff, and we will definitely pass on all your lovely comments to our colleagues.
Regarding breakfast, thank you for appreciating the variety of choices offered on the buffet. We apologise for the lack of seats during peak hours: during your stay the hotel was completely full with a lot of families and we had more than 400 people having breakfast....We'll share your comments with the management, as our aim is always to improve the quality of our services.

We'd like to thank you again for sharing with us your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We've stayed in this hotel with my family for 4 days. It's definitely not a 4 stars hotel! We had to ask for more bedding and towels that they forgot, the room was a bit dirty, there was an odd kitchen in a cupboard with no utensils and the balcony was facing some weird buildings. We had dinner at the restaurant one night. Worse experience ever. We had to wait 1h30 to get our food and it was so salty we could barely eat it. We told the staff and they didn't care. The staff is unfriendly and there is no shuttle to or from the airport. The only good thing was the breakfast. It's a buffet with a large choice. I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Emma,
Thank you for your review. We are sad to read you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the lack of service you have experienced during your recent stay. We do take all feedbacks on board and we'd like to invite you to contact us directly via sales@worldhotelriparoma.com to discuss your stay further. We are happy to read that you appreciated the quality of our breakfast. We hope you give us another chance in the future to show you how attentive and good how service is.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have been in this hotel for 2 weeks and we realy liked it. It is not located in downtown Rome but it is very well connected with. The city train station is just out of the hotel and it brings you closed to Piazza Venezia in few minutes. The hotel is the Trastevere area which means a lot a great restaurant just for you to enjoy. Rooms are spacious and you might enjoy the presence of a mini kitchen (a super plus if you have kids).Staff is well trained and super nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vittoria5768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Vittoria,
thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor and we'll pass your positive comments to our colleagues!
We are happy to read that you recommend the hotel to families with kids: all our rooms are very spacious and the easy connection to the city centre by public transportation are really a plus for families travelling with children!
We hope to see you and your family again soon at Worldhotel Ripa Roma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Located in the Trastevere part of the City it offers very good quality for the money you pay. It is modern and trendy. Staff was very helpful in providing all the information we needed to visit Rome. Breakfast was excellent with a big choice of food. Room was big, clean and very nicely furnished. Trastevere itself offers plenty of little piazzas to have a drink and some food but the location is not so great if you want to explore more touristic visas. We had a good weather so we walked most of the time and visited majority of Rome's "must see". Tram connection is very close though so you can save time if you want to go to the city center. Good Hotel and very nice experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert_M75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Robert,
thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We are so happy to read that you appreciated the kindness of our staff, the good variety of food provided in the breakfast buffet and our spacious rooms.
We are also glad to read that you appreciated our location: Trastevere is a great area, and a good starting point to visit our wonderful city.
We hope to see you again at Ripa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The route we took to this hotel took us past a street where a protest must have just taken place as it was not very tidy. The fact that the walk was on the same deserted street made the trip all the more harrowing.

I would suggest guests to the hotel rather take a number 8 tram from the city to Trastevere and this should make for a better journey to the hotel However, it is located off the main road and the walk to the hotel at later hours would not be very comfortable.

That said, the hotel does the best it can in its location. Check-in can be time consuming if large groups are arriving so be prepared to take advantage of the seating area if this happens. The room keys are a novel feature, but they are most likely oversized so you think twice about leaving the hotel with them on your sight-seeing.

The rooms afford guests a large area, with a kitchen area, dining area and sitting area. The bathroom is also nice and large.

One thing the hotel is not selling guests is the view, but for guests looking for an authentic Rome experience, this side of town is it with easy access to public transport should the commercial tourist in you arise.

The local market down by the river is a treat, with a good variety of meals and goods to purchase. The local eateries are quite popular with locals and may require booking ahead for the most popular. Convenience stores are also close by.

The area is not so close to the regular tourist sites so the use of public transport will be a must. However, the trams and buses are frequent so this should not be a problem.

Breakfast was well received, with a decent variety of options, but was prone to depletion when touring groups chose to take provisions for their day-tours.

A primary gripe of ours was the limited Wi-Fi allocation. 500mb per stay is quite restrictive in 2013, and the speed could have been better. This was a pity given that we had expectations of better data facilities.

On the whole I give the hotel an average rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vuyo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#194 of 1,272 in Rome
1,646 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#294 of 1,272 in Rome
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
#256 of 1,272 in Rome
681 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#150 of 1,272 in Rome
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ripa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ripa Roma

Address: Via Degli Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Worldhotel Ripa Roma)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $93 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ripa Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trastevere, one of Rome’s oldest most vibrant neighborhoods, Worldhotel Ripa Roma is daringly modern and smart with a look and feel of a contemporary art gallery. Modern design in no way inhibits the personal service and attention devoted to all guests. 197 rooms and suites to optimize space, light and comfortin a chic but friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, working desk with sofa, WI-fi connection and rooms Rituals amenities. Mini gym on first floor with Techno-gym facilities.Underground parking. Ripa Place, our newly refurbished restaurant is a bistrot serving innovative roman cuisine to appeal and surprise our guests and friends. The minimal and chic atmosphere is enriched by a selected list of local wine.When in Rome, you cannot miss: strolling around in Campo de’Fiori, rent a scooter to feel like the famous couple Peck-Hepburn for a real Roman Holiday, every day at noon on the Gianicolo Hill the cannon sound Midday, sunset at Giadino degli Aranci, Aventine key hole, test if he really loves you and ask him to put his hand inside the Mouth of truth inside church S.Maria in Cosmedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ripa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripa Hotel Rome
Hotel Ripa Rome
Rome Hotel Ripa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing