We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Hotel Ripa Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ripa Roma
Ranked #387 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed 4 nights & agree with previous comments of staff being friendly & helpful. The room was clean and spacious but the sofa was most uncomfortable. Help yourself buffet breakfast very good also the restaurant meals but, the restaurant menu was the same daily.
One night however there was a noisy function held there which went on until early hours.
The hotel was conveniently sited to use public transport and within easy walking distance of plenty of other eating places.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drom1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana A, Direttore vendite at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning how friendly, and helpful our staff were.This is the kind of feedback we love to hear. We are also happy to hear that you loved our spacious rooms and the convenient location.
As of restaurant menu, we are pleased to inform you that we are currently working to improve our offer and our service, so hopefully you will appreciate our new menu during your next stay.
Regarding the noisy function, we do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    599
    346
    141
    47
See reviews for
240
586
51
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Staff really friendly and helpful, and the room was very calm and spacious. The buffet breakfast was also very good.
To help the environment, why not ask guests if they wish to re-use their towels.This is now a policy in many hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 8 nights in September and were very satisfied, considering the price of comparable hotels in central Rome.

The room, bathroom and indeed, the whole hotel, was very clean, and we definitely did not see, or feel, any sign of bed bugs, as claimed by the previous duplicate poster. Certainly, some of the furnishings in the room were perhaps a little dated but everything was in good, working condition and the room (just a standard room) was massive by European standards. It was nice that the bed area is semi - partitioned from the living area, and I like the large table and chairs to sit and plan the days exploring! The TV was small, but we never switched it on - didn't go to Rome to watch TV!

It's a shame they don't seem to have furniture on some of the balconies, but staff were happy to give us a couple of extra chairs when we asked. Staff were always happy to help with any requests about transport to the sights, etc.

Breakfast was very good by Italian standards, with a range of cooked food, cold cuts, pastries, fruit, cereal and yogurt. Breakfast time could be busy but the large and airy room could easily handle the volume of diners, as could the staff who kept the food restocked and tables cleaned really quickly and efficiently.

There is a very large new block of flats being built next door, but the bulk of the heavy work is finished now with only internal work to complete, so this shouldn't cause noise or dust for any future visitors.

The street is very quiet but 2 mins round the corner to excellent tram and bus stops to everywhere you need to go, and an easy walk to the busier area of Trastevere. Buy a travel pass, so you can hop on trams and buses at will, and save your feet - you will do a lot of walking in Rome!

We also had a lovely birthday surprise, returning to the hotel one night to find a complmentary bottle of prosecco waiting! The fridge in the room was very handy for storing drinks and nibbles but bring a travel kettle if you like hot drinks in your room. The staff at reception even keep a bottle opener handy, if like us, you manage to break the one you brought with you!

We didn't use the restaurant or gym so can't comment on them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heidotheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stay at this very dated and bed bug infested hotel. Location is ok if you don't mind public transportation. The AC didn't work and if you wanted to shower find another room. We had the room showen on their web site. The room looked good from afar but far from good. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caprice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our first trip to Rome, the location was ok as long as you were comfortable taking a tram, the local neighborhood was just ok..we rented a great suite that was as the saying goes..."looked good from far but far from good"...an 8th floor room featured in the hotel photos with curved walls...the 'good' was the size of the room and the enormous balcony, the "bad" was the bedbugs that ate us alive over our stay and the power that shut off completely every hour or so...so no AC, no lights, no power for cell phones/laptops...the staff showed us how to reset the breakers which we did more than 50 times during our 3 day stay. The staff were very friendly and tried to help but to no avail...oh, and no showers, just a well used jet tub...for a $1,000USD, there must be a better place to stay in Rome for 3 days...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caprice227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, Alsace, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel for a small tourist visit.
Clean very reasonably priced, very friendly people, and good service.
Had a bottle of pro seco served in my room for my birthday, really great surprise.
Really always ready to help, speak several languages

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Ripa Roma hotel for three nights and just arrived home to the UK. This hotel is great, don't let the bad reviews put you off.

The rooms are very spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had a balcony also and had a lovely view of the local area.

The staff were fantastic and really helpful. The room was serviced each day to a good standard. It was my fiance's birthday during our visit, and we hadn't told the hotel staff this. But the cleaning staff must have seen his Birthday cards in the bedroom as they left us a surprise bottle of Prosecco and a card saying Happy Birthday which was a lovely welcome back after a long day of sight seeing. Nothing was any trouble and the staff were very polite and happy to help with anything.

The breakfast was delicious and plenty of it with a good selection of food, and hot and cold drinks.

Our flight home was late in the evening so we booked a taxi with the hotel back to the Airport. We arrived at the reception early for the taxi and the hotel staff arranged for the taxi to collect us earlier rather than us hanging about. The taxi was the same price as the airport shuttle.

The tram is 2 minutes walk from the hotel and takes you right into the heart of Rome.

Thank you Ripa Roma for a wonderful stay, we will be staying with you when we visit Rome again!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JessSwansea1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#269 of 1,257 in Rome
675 reviews
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
#278 of 1,257 in Rome
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ripa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ripa Roma

Property: Hotel Ripa Roma
Address: Via degli Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Worldhotel Ripa Roma)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ripa Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trastevere, one of Rome’s oldest most vibrant neighborhoods, Worldhotel Ripa Roma is daringly modern and smart with a look and feel of a contemporary art gallery. Modern design in no way inhibits the personal service and attention devoted to all guests. 197 rooms and suites to optimize space, light and comfortin a chic but friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, working desk with sofa, WI-fi connection and rooms Rituals amenities. Mini gym on first floor with Techno-gym facilities.Underground parking. Ripa Place, our newly refurbished restaurant is a bistrot serving innovative roman cuisine to appeal and surprise our guests and friends. The minimal and chic atmosphere is enriched by a selected list of local wine.When in Rome, you cannot miss: strolling around in Campo de’Fiori, rent a scooter to feel like the famous couple Peck-Hepburn for a real Roman Holiday, every day at noon on the Gianicolo Hill the cannon sound Midday, sunset at Giadino degli Aranci, Aventine key hole, test if he really loves you and ask him to put his hand inside the Mouth of truth inside church S.Maria in Cosmedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ripa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripa Hotel Rome
Hotel Ripa Rome
Rome Hotel Ripa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing