We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG”
Review of Hotel Ripa Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ripa Roma
Ranked #351 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 26, 2013

a real dump even by European standards. Far from anywhere and far from good. Spent a fortune in cab fees just getting anywhere a tourist would want to be. The furniture and art work looks like it came from a garage sale.

Full blown construction project going on next door which looks like months to completion.

some of the staff very friendly and some rude....like Russian Roulette.

Firing the travel agent when I get home that recommended this joint. Only thing missing were the hookers outside that usually frequent a rat hole like this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidwWr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights beginning Sept 2013- staff friendly but the furniture in the foyer and rooms VERY dated and tired. Room was more of an apartment as it had cooking facilities but the small old TV was in the bedroom area. The couch in the room very old.

After having a shower, the water seeped to the floor forming paddles. Reported to reception but nothing done. So we had to endure paddles for the whole stay.

Steam extractor not working in the bathroom - reported and we were told maintenance would attend but nothing done for the duration of our stay.

The hotel DOES need a major re-vamp to bring it to its contemporary status.

Requested for room change and that didn't happen.

When we made our booking before travel through Otel.com, we were given a definitive amount to pay at the hotel. However, on checkout, the amount had increased by €110. I asked how the figures could vary as we had had a confirmed booking.I then showed them a print out of the confirmation of my booking, then the lady said ' Oh maybe the agency had a promotion'. Found this unacceptable. I said I would only pay the initial quoted amount and the lady did agree.

On the positive side - the hotel offered good selection cold and a bit of hot breakfast. Close to tram station, shops and restaurants. Room was clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NoM342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ariannaroscioli, Direttore generale at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and write a response about your stay. Please be assure, that we are affected about your impression, this is not our normal standard. We will review it in the management circle. Please accept our apologize.
I would also be glad to assist you further and check your reservation and bill personally but by your comment I could not find any detail so please write to my email address or to Frontdesk@worldhotelriparoma .com to communicate your details and contacts.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again with us, to convince you about our service.
Kind regards
Arianna Roscioli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice hotel, very good location with plenty of restaurants just up the road in the Trastevere area. The hotel room was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly on reception and in the breakfast room. The breakfast was excellent loads of choice with hot and cold items, as much coffee and juice as you want. All in all a nice place. I would book again.

Room Tip: The bar in the hotel is a bit expensive, walk 5 minutes up the road to DA VITTORIO which is half the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ripa Rome for 3 nights at the beginning of September and whilst we were more than happy with the hotel especially the location, breakfast and friendliness of staff we weren't very happy with the bites that started to appear after the 1st night.

The hotel could do with a re-vamp / makeover but more than provides and excellent base to stay for anyone's trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thepriestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room on the 8 th floor and the room was huge! Actually more like a studio apartment bed area kitchen dining/living area and a balcony/terrace which was actually half the roof! Yes the decor is quite 80s but it was clean and lovely presented. Staff went out their way to help us everyday to show us how to get to places and even gave us a map they are all lovely people and their English is perfect! location is great 10 minute walk to centre of trastevere where all the restaurants are and only a short tram way from the colosseum trevi fountain etc. the stop is only up the road from the hotel. Only issue we came across is at breakfast time around 9am plates and glasses ran out quickly but they did their best to refill these as quickly as possible when having breakfast early this is not an issue. If in rome again we will definitely be staying with this hotel thank you to the staff for all their hard work. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalieinglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Ripa for 3 nights. The day team members at the reception were very nice and helpful. The design is quite special and the hotel is easy to access by tram and bus (walking distance from Trastevere restaurants and bars). We had an executive room but it did not felt luxurious. The windows were directly on the next building in construction, so it was not possible for us to open the curtains and it was a bit noisy. The mattress were very soft and spliting in the middle (not ideal for couple). The shower was narrow and the shower curtain always in the way. The room could use a deep cleaning (e.g. stain on the walls, bad smell coming out of the drains in the bathroom) but it was well designed: inline with the hotel. The included breakfast offered a very good pastry selection. The rest was bad; not many choices of fruits, terrible coffee and artifical juice from a self-service machine, staff overwhelmed and always running out of dishes. The breakfast room itself was very modern and the design gives you a science-fiction vibe. The restaurant is closed in August and there are no rooftop terrasse (only in private suites). Overall it's a good choice if you pay under 100Euros per night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominiqueMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed a week in Rome in this hotel. We stayed in the deluxe or executive suite which was very large with a private terrace. The bathroom was small but the water pressure was awesome. The beds are pure bliss. I've never slept so well. We did have some construction noise to deal with from the building across the way but it wasn't too bad.

Breakfast was included and had a good variety of food. Often ran out of dishes though so you end up waiting for coffee, juice, etc. The bar/restaurant was closed our entire visit which would have been nice to know in advance.

The location was the best part for us. Not in the middle if tourist central but an easy walk into the heart of Testavere. Also the 8 tram goes right in front of the hotel which takes you to the main tourist area in Rome where the Coliseum and other attractions are located. We were also able to easily walk everywhere so the tram was just a nice option for the end of a long day.

Would stay here again. Great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaxmccaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#187 of 1,271 in Rome
1,630 reviews
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
#256 of 1,271 in Rome
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#280 of 1,271 in Rome
702 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ripa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ripa Roma

Address: Via Degli Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Worldhotel Ripa Roma)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $93 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ripa Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trastevere, one of Rome’s oldest most vibrant neighborhoods, Worldhotel Ripa Roma is daringly modern and smart with a look and feel of a contemporary art gallery. Modern design in no way inhibits the personal service and attention devoted to all guests. 197 rooms and suites to optimize space, light and comfortin a chic but friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, working desk with sofa, WI-fi connection and rooms Rituals amenities. Mini gym on first floor with Techno-gym facilities.Underground parking. Ripa Place, our newly refurbished restaurant is a bistrot serving innovative roman cuisine to appeal and surprise our guests and friends. The minimal and chic atmosphere is enriched by a selected list of local wine.When in Rome, you cannot miss: strolling around in Campo de’Fiori, rent a scooter to feel like the famous couple Peck-Hepburn for a real Roman Holiday, every day at noon on the Gianicolo Hill the cannon sound Midday, sunset at Giadino degli Aranci, Aventine key hole, test if he really loves you and ask him to put his hand inside the Mouth of truth inside church S.Maria in Cosmedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ripa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripa Hotel Rome
Hotel Ripa Rome
Rome Hotel Ripa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing