We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay but don't drink in the bar”
Review of Hotel Ripa Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ripa Roma
Ranked #386 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good place to stay but don't drink in the bar”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A very clean hotel in a very central place, we walked around all the sites from here. Staff behind the counter are very friendly and helpful. The room was more than adequate for the 2 of us and was cleaned on a daily basis. We did not eat in the hotel, there are plenty of restaurants nearby. We did however, buy 2 drinks in the bar, the G&T they classed as a cocktail and charged us 12 euros for it. Needless to say we didn't drink in there again. The breakfast buffet was always well stocked and had a large variety of items.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    599
    346
    141
    47
See reviews for
240
587
51
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just returned from our first trip to Rome, which was magical and Rome is the most beautiful city with treats and surprises around every corner so try to walk as much as you can or you will miss something special. The Ripa Rome hotel overall is good value but not quite as comfortable as the brochure led us to believe, the staff are helpful and welcoming and the location excellent to get to all the sites in Rome. We took the Leonardo Express from Campino Airport to Trastevere station (€8) and transferred to the No 8 tram for 3 stops - this took about 40 mins. The welcome at the hotel was excellent - they allowed us to check in early at 12:00 to freshen up rather than 2:00pm and as we were tired ordered a taxi to bring us to the Vatican for our 3:00pm tour (€12 only for taxi!) A porter brought our bags to the room and reception gave us a map highlighting all the best sites, trains/trams numbers for getting around and even where to purchase a train ticket locally. On the final day they held our suitcases in a safe room to allow us to finish our sightseeing and we picked them up at 6:00pm.

The breakfast was plentiful and the standard good, lots of cereal, breads & croissant, fruit, cooked breakfast and a good selection of tea and coffee.

We booked a deluxe room on the 8th floor. The room was designed in a minimalist fashion, with a small entrance lobby painted black, the room opened up to a square shape with a sloping ceiling (a bit like a loft conversion) with room walls white washed, floor painted in grey gloss and large rug under bed (which to be fair had seen better days!). The red upholstered headboard greets you as you walked into the room, the comfortable double bed (in the middle of the room) took up most of the space, facing away from the door, to the right a large glass door leading out on a balcony/walk way. Furniture was minimal, the wardrobe an alcove with 5 hangers, two glass shelves served as clothes storage (a bit like a clothes boutique). A small desk enclosed the fridge. Finally a small stool and desk chair for seating. Behind the bed a sloping incline led to the bathroom with glass sliding door, which was wet room style with lots of nice large towels and the usual toiletries.

Style over comfort points bearing in mind this is meant to be a 4* hotel.
* The bathroom was very dark with only a strip light over the sink. The room needed repainting as there was black mould around the shower area and generally it was not as "clean" as it could be. The concrete floor was painted black. The shower drain could not cope with water from the shower and the room flooded. The rather small bath mat did not stop the water flowing down the slope into the bedroom, I lost my footing coming out and slipped, crashing down on the concrete floor and hurt my head, hip, elbows and toe (which turned black and blue!). I reported this to reception as a hazard and asked for some more bath mats but they didn't arrive (not sure if my request was lost in translation as I hobbled to the front desk!).
* If you are staying for more than 3 days you will need more storage as even the neatest person could not keep their clothes on open shelves and open wardrobe tidy and crease free.
* For a modern hotel we found it difficult to access plug points - two were finally found behind the television console(tip bring your travel plugs!). The Wi-Fi was not free and the air con did not work, (we did report this twice and twice were told it would be corrected but again no sign of this having been carried out). The TV channels were basic - no radio channels for music etc (only MTV) this is small grievance as we really wanted to be out of the room and discovering lovely ROME! There was no iron and no facility to make tea/coffee (but again that might be a UK tourist thing!).
* When we came back to the hotel at 5:00pm Sunday, from wandering around Rome we wanted to order some snacks and glasses to go with pre-dinner drinks we had purchased. However we were told the bar was closed on a Sunday, there was no room service and even our request for wine glasses /beer glasses was refused as they didn't have access to the bar - we were told to make do with the small water glasses supplied in the room, (petty I know but I feel it would not have been beyond a quick thinking receptionist to go to the kitchen to get said glasses!).
* Balcony door - it was lovely to open the curtain and open the balcony door fully and let in the air – (as air con was not working) and as the weather was so nice it would have been good have a chair or table to sit at for our pre-dinner drink. However we did get a bit of a shock when we realised that this area was shared and open to all on the 8th floor. We found this out when a wandering couple passed by and being rather nosey looked into our room; unfortunately they got a bit of an eye -full as my hubby was returning from the shower in rather minimalist attire!

Room Tip: Not sure - perhaps ask at reception where they would like to stay most as we were assured a delux ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 460DebS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel location is great from the airport take Leonardo Express.
Traveling is easy as bus stop very convenient to center.

Room okay, but service was poor. Asked for air conditioning to be fixed and a beer glass.
The shower is a wet room and my wife slipped

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surinder4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just returned from a city break in Rome organised by Riviera Travel for a group of 40 that included our 24 strong party from Sheffield. Overall we were quite well looked after and no great problems encountered. At the time a part of the front of the hotel was covered in scaffolding and we were told that none of our party would be in a room affected by this, however the balcony of our room was covered on scaffolding. Anton our guide insisted on getting a change of room and we were taken to another room without scaffolding.
The new room turned out to much smaller and the wardrobes looked like they had come flatpacked and put together by someone with no DIY experience. We immediately returned to reception saying the room was unacceptable and got the response that the hotel was fully booked and they couldn't change the room. However as my wife could speak a reasonable amount of Italian and had a somewhat stubborn streak, the argument was won and we were provided with another room that was perfectly satisfactory. Apart from this incident the hotel was fine and made a good a base from which to explore the City.
As previously mentioned the breakfast buffet was fine with plenty of choice although the decor in the breakfast room was interesting with floors sloping into walls along one side of the room giving a strong subterranean , OK if you weren't too late the night before!
The location was good with the main restaurant area of Trastevere within 5 - 10 minutes walk, where there are so many bars and restaurants that you should always find something to your taste. This area gets really lively in the evenings, even around midnight there are still some shops open. Great fun.
Transport links are good with the no 8 tram virtually on the doorstop to take you into the centre of Rome. Once there it is great fun to use the little electric buses; we used the no 116 & 119. The 116 goes round a lot of the narrow, cobbled backstreets, so you get to see parts of the city you might not otherwise visit and you will quite often get into a conversation with other local passengers/visitors. It's route runs from near the Ponte Principe to near the Villa Borghese. However be prepared for a bumpy ride across the cobbles and constant near misses with parked cars and vespas.
To sum up, it was a perfectly adequate base for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollywoodhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ariannaroscioli, Direttore generale at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
dear Holliwoodhero,

thank you for your review and comments. I also liked a lot your wordds about our futuristic style!
thank you from sunny warm Rome,the city of Etarnal Peace and Love.
Kind regards

Arianna Roscioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigeria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good Hotel
I have stayed in this hotel on 13th of October with my other 2 friends. Generally no big comments about the room, spacious room, please note we are in the suite.
Located in the centre, and also the Sunday local market also nearby, where you can buy all the items in cheaper level / quality
The elevators are nonstandard, 1 m X 1m size, you can accommodate a small size bag and yourself only.
Restaurant, Fantastic breakfast, but dinner we were not happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anandhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Ripa website describes it as a four-star hotel, which is certainly isn't. However, it filled the bill as a reasonably priced hotel in a central position and a good base for exploring Rome during our four-night stay.

My wife and I both found the breakfasts excellent, with a good choice. The scrabled eggs were praised by everybody who had them. We found the coffee excellent, contrary to some reviews, but that is perhaps a question of taste.

While our room on the sixth floor was comfortable enough (again, contrary to one review, we found the bed just right) and very spacious, with a separate sitting area and mini-kitchen, the decorations were very down at heel. Perhaps they refurbish the bedrooms on a rotational basis, in which case ours must certainly be due a makeover. There was black mould around the bath, scuffed paintwork and plaster around the plinths and the wood veneer on the front edge of the bedsite units was worn right through. The air conditioning was very iffy.

On our second evening there was a thunderstorm which perhaps prompted more people than usual (ourselves included) to eat in the hotel's own restaurant, which seemed unable to cope. The food was OK-ish, but the service very slow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was the third time staying in this hotel, and as always it was again a nice experience. Although the hotel is not located in the historic center, it is situated in trastevere close to tramline 8 which is going to piazza argentina.
Rooms are nice and modern, also bathrooms are ok. They are changing the outside colour of the hotel into grey , which is much nicer as before , very friendly staff and very helpful in arranging restaurant reservations.
Some minor issues : small elevators, old tv's in the rooms, no view
for those wanting to visit a local market , the market at the porta portese on sunday is just around the corner and it is enormous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judithv6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#275 of 1,257 in Rome
676 reviews
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
#280 of 1,257 in Rome
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ripa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ripa Roma

Property: Hotel Ripa Roma
Address: Via degli Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Worldhotel Ripa Roma)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ripa Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trastevere, one of Rome’s oldest most vibrant neighborhoods, Worldhotel Ripa Roma is daringly modern and smart with a look and feel of a contemporary art gallery. Modern design in no way inhibits the personal service and attention devoted to all guests. 197 rooms and suites to optimize space, light and comfortin a chic but friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, working desk with sofa, WI-fi connection and rooms Rituals amenities. Mini gym on first floor with Techno-gym facilities.Underground parking. Ripa Place, our newly refurbished restaurant is a bistrot serving innovative roman cuisine to appeal and surprise our guests and friends. The minimal and chic atmosphere is enriched by a selected list of local wine.When in Rome, you cannot miss: strolling around in Campo de’Fiori, rent a scooter to feel like the famous couple Peck-Hepburn for a real Roman Holiday, every day at noon on the Gianicolo Hill the cannon sound Midday, sunset at Giadino degli Aranci, Aventine key hole, test if he really loves you and ask him to put his hand inside the Mouth of truth inside church S.Maria in Cosmedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ripa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripa Hotel Rome
Hotel Ripa Rome
Rome Hotel Ripa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing