We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ripa Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ripa Roma
Ranked #375 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Geel, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“perfect holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was the third time staying in this hotel, and as always it was again a nice experience. Although the hotel is not located in the historic center, it is situated in trastevere close to tramline 8 which is going to piazza argentina.
Rooms are nice and modern, also bathrooms are ok. They are changing the outside colour of the hotel into grey , which is much nicer as before , very friendly staff and very helpful in arranging restaurant reservations.
Some minor issues : small elevators, old tv's in the rooms, no view
for those wanting to visit a local market , the market at the porta portese on sunday is just around the corner and it is enormous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judithv6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    588
    333
    136
    44
See reviews for
229
574
50
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed at the Ripa hotel for 4 nights with my boyfriend last weekend. The hotel is nice enough and the staff are friendly. The room we stayed in was very large and spacious. It was clean and provided a good base to explore Rome. The only bad aspect of the room would be the mattress, it was rock hard!! But to be honest by the time you get home after exploring the beautiful city of Rome, it doesnt matter much...We both slept well!

Breakfast was fairly good, consisted of a hot and cold buffet - reasonable amount of choice. I would recommend going before 9am as after this time the breakfast room became quite chaotic and finding a cup or a plate was very difficult.

The location of the hotel is perfect, just a short distance away you'll find lots of restaurants where the food was good. Easy to walk to the main attractions, including the Vatican City and Collosseum. Alternatively the tram line is only a 5 minute walk wth regular trams and buses to most destinations.

Just a warning the hotel is quite far from Ciampino airport, taxi is 50 euros, we had not realised this and were a bit shocked. The hotel can arrange a private transfer for 45 euros!

Generally a good hotel in a great location, if travelling to Rome again we would return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OxfordOxfordT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

AC did not work and it was stifling in our room, which also was filthy. I requested another room which was finally given to us, even though previously they had claimed no more rooms were available. That 2nd room was really small and only cold showers in the morning; for 142 Euro a night!!! When I complained in the morning, all they said was these things happen and it was unfortunate they all happened to us. Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ariannaroscioli, Direttore at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
dear Guest,
you are more than welcome again in our lovely hotel.
I could not find records about your stay. But your words sound very strange to me as all our staff is trained to handle any situation. that is why I ask you to please write me an email to inform about dates and room n. and the person you spoke to at the desk (all staff wear a visible name badge).
Another thing I want to write you is that in the past weeks (from August to last week) Rome Water Agency caused water pressure decrease without notice. This created a big issue for us and I am asking a letter of excuses.
I wish a better stay everywhere you are.
thank you and please come with us again.

Arianna Roscioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Not as stylish and moderne as the photos show, and it's obviously an older house that was modernized, but it still lacks finish. Our room was pretty silly decorated, and it had a small kitchen with absolutely no purpose. The ventilation shaft often made an airplane sound, also at night. The cleaning crew forgot to close and lock our door one day, leaving it wide open with tickets and passports inside. The dining hall for breakfeast was noisy and the eggs and bacon were not fried. Rather cooked. All in all, we were not blown away by Ripa.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tstranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel two nights in September for business purposes. Judging by the photos on the internet site I expected lively and colourful design hotel. However, I was disappointed already at the lobby, since the photos showed how it looked like probably when it was just opened.
In reality it was weary and in desperate need to be freshened up.
The feeling remained also after seeing the room which was quite dark and wherever I looked a little bit closer, it didn't seem quite clean also. Stains on the carpet, dirty walls.
What was interesting that me and my colleagues realized that for the same price we all got very different rooms. Some big, some small, some even suites. So I would advise to check in advance if possible what will you get.

Breakfast was OK, but breakfast room needs at least fresh painting.

Personally, I didn't feel comfortable in this hotel. It is quite dark, with dimmed lights iand not well kept. I wouldn't recommend it for business travellers who need to maybe spend few hours more in the room and not just sleep over.
Location, however, is quite good for tourists.

One warning, my colleague noticed some strange charges on his credit card after paying in the hotel (some for pharmacy in Rome), so be sure to check it after your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank January27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel Ripa, close to the centre of colourful Trastervere is tucked away down a quiet side street, close to the no.8 tram stop. The hotel is an ugly concrete building on the outside, the inside - the public areas and the rooms have a minimalist - linear look with modular furniture. Design wise its not our cup of tea, but as a base to explore Rome on a short break it was fine. If you are coming for a romantic break and want more comfort, decadence and rooms with a view, then maybe it is not the hotel for you. Based on some of the reviews - maybe we got lucky with our room, or maybe the other reviews were unfair, either way we had a good stay at Hotel Ripa.

This is why -

- Clean, tidy room - it looked like it has been recently refurbished
- Low noise level
- Great breakfast
- Friendly,helpful staff
- 5 min walk from the vibrant, colourful streets of Trastevere
- 20 min walk from the station or 5 min tram ride
- If you don't fancy a 25 min walk, tram no.8 takes you into the city in 10 mins
- Based on what we paid - value for money

The only improvements I could ask for is I guess the wi-fi could be free - however we didn't need to use it as we were out exploring every day. And yes the coffee as most people mentioned was bad!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Kiss_Before_I_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ariannaroscioli, Direttore at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
dear Guest,
review wise I loved your review because you explained your point of view without being offensive nor negative.
I love you! wish all reviewers could be as polite as you! many guests do not imagine that there is always another person behind a screen that reads their words and may also feel upset not to say more about their words.
we are all human beings on a planet we must not forget to keep the right attitude even when typing our dislikes...:-( my reaction to this is that I answer personally to all reviews on this site . I feel responsible for your reactions and also want to share my point of view with you either good or bad. So simple
thank you thank you thank you....
can invite for a cup of tea in your next visit ? please come and stay again!
I am proud to write that Wi-Fi will be free very soon so please follow us on Facebook or our new web page.
thank you again

Arianna Roscioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Honestly ,how can guests to this hotel criticise?Pevious negative reviews are baffling to us.Utterly wonderful,elegant,helpfull staff who could not have been more fun.We stayed in a suite,booked originally for 5 days,Incredible room stayed for 2 weeks.Absolutely fabulous.
Trastevere is 5 mins walk,eclectic district.Go to Tulipo,La Capitane if you feel really good, go to Trevi, Al Presidente food ,atmosphere,everything special(a negative on tripadvisor)maybe these people who criticise should buy a tent and have a giant portion from McDonalds
However,back to my husband's birthday party;thankyou Patricio,Walter and the Goldfish in your office.Deo Gratias.007 wil be back in Skyfall.Oh forgot Guissepe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#280 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#137 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
H10 Roma Citta
#141 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ripa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ripa Roma

Property: Hotel Ripa Roma
Address: Via degli Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Worldhotel Ripa Roma)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#203 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ripa Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trastevere, one of Rome’s oldest most vibrant neighborhoods, Worldhotel Ripa Roma is daringly modern and smart with a look and feel of a contemporary art gallery. Modern design in no way inhibits the personal service and attention devoted to all guests. 197 rooms and suites to optimize space, light and comfortin a chic but friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, working desk with sofa, WI-fi connection and rooms Rituals amenities. Mini gym on first floor with Techno-gym facilities.Underground parking. Ripa Place, our newly refurbished restaurant is a bistrot serving innovative roman cuisine to appeal and surprise our guests and friends. The minimal and chic atmosphere is enriched by a selected list of local wine.When in Rome, you cannot miss: strolling around in Campo de’Fiori, rent a scooter to feel like the famous couple Peck-Hepburn for a real Roman Holiday, every day at noon on the Gianicolo Hill the cannon sound Midday, sunset at Giadino degli Aranci, Aventine key hole, test if he really loves you and ask him to put his hand inside the Mouth of truth inside church S.Maria in Cosmedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ripa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripa Hotel Rome
Hotel Ripa Rome
Rome Hotel Ripa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing