We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it”
Review of Hotel Ripa Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ripa Roma
Ranked #369 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I like it”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We got a very good deal for €220 / 3 nights incl. flight and for that it was well worth it. It was clean, room was spaceous, with big balcony and kitchenette. We also received a complimentary bottle of wine. The breakfast was great with a big selection. The location is convenient, very close to a tram stop, bus stop and within walking distance to the lovely spots in Trastavere. The staff was very helpful and spoke good English. For the right deal, I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fah Lanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    606
    353
    142
    47
See reviews for
245
597
51
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Il-Kappara, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The rooms are very spacious and the hotel's location is ideal and close to most of the sights in Rome. The room was very clean and had all the amenities.
We also ate at the hotel's restaurant and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Ripa Hotel five times now. I love it for it's fantastic breakfast and short walks or bus rides to everything you could possibly want to see in Rome. Rooms are big! They are not modern or classy looking if that is what you are after. They are 70 ish in style...but over all, when in Rome we are not looking for luxury accomodations as much as we are looking for a good bed to sleep in after a long day of sight seeing and the Ripa fulfills that requirement. The bed is great, and I have had not so great beds in Italy to compare with. I guess my only real issue is that I have stayed at the Ripa about 40 days in the last year and a half and one would think that I would get a room upgrade or free internet or something as a loyal customer but there are no perks at all for being a regular. Just sayin'...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aphrodite1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We've just come back from a 4 night stay in Rome wher we stated at The Ripa Hotel. It was a lovely hotel and we had a really clean, modern & contemporary room. We had a balcony too which was a nice little bonus. I wasn't sure what to expect to be honest as some people have been less than 'kind' with their reviews so I was more than pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was better than many higher-starred places we've stayed in and the coffee, even if it did come from a machine, was good enough to have at least 2 cups each morning!! The hotel cleaning staff obviously saw my birthday cards on the 1st day and left me a bottle of bubbly. Was well impressed! The hotel was quiet and we both slept incredibly well the entire holiday although we were genuinely exhausted every night from all the walking around we did. We liked the fact that the hotel was near the Trastevere area as there were so many lovely bars and restaurants that we were spoilt for choice. Nothing like sitting outside a pavement cafe with a Mojito while the sun sets although a coffee & brioche in a cafe right next to The Colosseum comes very close.
We will be staying in The Ripa on our next trip to Rome!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KathrynCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Ripa Hotel location is excellent for seeing an exciting part of old Rome. Our room was wonderful with huge space and very modern. The Trastevere precinct is full of fascinating places and not all that far from Rome centre (although we had been to the centre before). Restaurants are good and anywhere we found was satisfactory.
We will go again.
Excellent breakfast included.
This actually was May 2010.

Room Tip: No comment here we just asked fo a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeff255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel room was enormous but a bit dim and the furnishings stark. Was clean enough and located conveniently near a tram stop and bus stop so very accessible although doesn't feel very central as it is a residential area and quite a walk if you want to walk into Rome.
Wifi is ridiculously expensive which we felt was unreasonable.
Breakfast good expect the coffee was Nescafé... Not what you expect in Italy!
One thing we were very grateful for was the proximity to trastevere which is such a great part of Rome and the food was excellent and very good value. Had the hotel not been located where it is we may not have made the effort to go to trastevere.
Hotel reception were extremely helpful and friendly although top tip don't buy queue jump tickets from them, get a Roma pass which is a total bargain as includes 3 days travel pass and 2 entrances to sites and other discounts (excluding Vatican) saving lots of money

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay in Rome at the Ripa Hotel! The staff were very welcoming and helpful at all times. A concierge showed us to our room on arrival. The hotel is clean and has a contemporary feel. It is a quirky hotel with interesting architectural features. Our room was clean and comfortable. It was a decent sized room with all the basics (minus a kettle and coffee/tea). The room was a bit dark, due to peculiar wall lighting. However, the room more than met our requirements. We were really impressed with the continental style buffet breakfast. Food and drink included: pastries, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, eggs, sausages, bacon, breads, coffee, juices…Plenty to choose from! I think the breakfast buffet was open from about 7-10am. Ripa Hotel is a nice location for sightseeing in Rome. Central Rome isn't massive for a capital City, compared with others. You can walk to most of the main sights in about half an hour or forty minutes from Ripa Hotel. We enjoyed walking everywhere because it really allowed us to take in the beauty and history of Rome. The hotel is a ten minute walk from Trastevere centre. Trastevere has some lovely restaurants, cafes, bars and delicious ice-cream parlours! Eating in Trastevere was marginally cheaper than in central Rome, but very convenient! Trastevere has a train station. This station is a 20 minute walk from hotel on the main road, in the opposite direction of Trastevere centre. The train station is brilliant for connections with Rome Fuimicino airport. I've heard that people can pay a fortune travelling to and from the airport by taxi! The train to the airport cost €8 per person for a single journey. The hotel is well served by public transport links. There are trams and buses going to central Rome. There is a tram stop on the main road near to the hotel, which takes you across the river to Argentina square for €1. From Argentina square you are well connected to most of Rome. The price of the hotel per night was a bit higher than what I'd have expected to pay. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#288 of 1,258 in Rome
681 reviews
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
#276 of 1,258 in Rome
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ripa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ripa Roma

Property: Hotel Ripa Roma
Address: Via degli Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Worldhotel Ripa Roma)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ripa Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trastevere, one of Rome’s oldest most vibrant neighborhoods, Worldhotel Ripa Roma is daringly modern and smart with a look and feel of a contemporary art gallery. Modern design in no way inhibits the personal service and attention devoted to all guests. 197 rooms and suites to optimize space, light and comfortin a chic but friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, working desk with sofa, WI-fi connection and rooms Rituals amenities. Mini gym on first floor with Techno-gym facilities.Underground parking. Ripa Place, our newly refurbished restaurant is a bistrot serving innovative roman cuisine to appeal and surprise our guests and friends. The minimal and chic atmosphere is enriched by a selected list of local wine.When in Rome, you cannot miss: strolling around in Campo de’Fiori, rent a scooter to feel like the famous couple Peck-Hepburn for a real Roman Holiday, every day at noon on the Gianicolo Hill the cannon sound Midday, sunset at Giadino degli Aranci, Aventine key hole, test if he really loves you and ask him to put his hand inside the Mouth of truth inside church S.Maria in Cosmedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ripa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripa Hotel Rome
Hotel Ripa Rome
Rome Hotel Ripa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing