We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with central location”
Review of Borromeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Borromeo Hotel
Ranked #264 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel with central location”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed 3 days in Rome and I decided to choose Borromeo Hotel because it was extremely close to Colosseum and Roman Forum. My room was quite spacious and elegant. Staff was very polite and breakfast was abundant. There is also a post mail in the lobby. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anca_Ungureanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Anca,

we are very happy about your great review of the Borromeo.
It's a real pleasure for us to know you had a brilliant stay and enjoyed it.
We work hard to improve our services and this is the best result for us!
Thanks and hope to see you soon.
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    410
    153
    53
    47
See reviews for
274
522
64
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Booked a 3 night stay after reading reviews. A well decorated and comfortable hotel, within walking distance of most of the major historic sites. Very friendly and helpful staff with extensive breakfast served in rooftop restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank DerekHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Mr.Higg,

it's a great pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.
We hope to see you soon.
Best Regarda
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed for three nights with my wife. Reception staff welcoming and provided a map which he marked up showing the major sites.
Colleseum is closest major attraction (10-15 mins), but only 10 mins to Termini station and a 10 min tube journey to the Vatican.
Room was very clean and comfortable. Tastefully decorated.
Breakfast was good but a long wait for toast. Croissants, bread, Danish pastries, jams, fruit, bacon, eggs and much coffee you can guzzle.
Only downside was no kettle in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnH35ay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for the positive review of your stay at the Borromeo.
We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and our staff and services.
We will take in consideration your advises,
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

me and my fiancée stayed at borromeo hotel for 5 nights at the start of feb with our 3 month old daughter. The hotel was in a very central location within easy walking distance of all the attractions(even the Vatican if you didn't have a young child). The staff were all very polite and extremely helpful especially on reception and in the bar area, our room was spotlessly clean, and breakfast was full of choice and well presented. I would recommend you take your own hairdryer as one in room was not very powerful. The hotel was very close to the termini for public transport and the hotel was very helpful in sorting taxis to pick us up and take us to airport. Lots of restaurants nearby and I would recommend Tema just round the corner, very good food and staff and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anc832014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for the great review of our hotel.
Your positive impressions and lovely stay is the best reward for our work and spur us to always improve our services and attentions to clients.
We hope to see you again in a future visit in Rome!
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel was excellent value in a great location, only a 10min walk from the Colosseum. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and well equipped with all you would need. The breakfast was great and helped with a good start to the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Mrs. Wendy,

we are very glad and thankful about the great positive evaluation of our hotel.
We are happy you rated very high all the services of the hotel,this is the best reward for us!
Thanks for your time and we hope to welcome you againin the future.
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

From the moment my friends and I walked through the door we where made to feel at home. After having firstly arrived at another hotel which was terrible, we where left stranded in Rome. Thankfully there was room available at Borromeo, & boy and I glad that there was.
We fell in love with Rome, and the service that the staff provided at Borromeo was the cherry on top of the cake. We stayed 4 nights in Rome in July 2013 and we still always talk about the staff that worked there. The concierge and the doorman made us feel welcomed and at home every single time we walked in or out of those doors. They helped us 4 girls any time we needed without any hesitations, they even recommended a restuarant to us that served the BEST lasagne I have ever tasted at "Toma", which was a quick walk down the road. The location of the hotel is perfect! Its so close to the train station and also to the Colosseum. I cannot wait to return to Rome & will 110% stay at Borromeo again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Mrs. Jade,

it's a real pleasure for all of us of the hotel to receive such a great review about your stay at the Borromeo.
We are happy you and your friends enjoyed so much our staff and services, as well as the hotel itself.
We really hope to see you again soon!
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The staff were really helpful, even prior to our arrival, they booked our taxi from the airport, we just emailed them asking to. The booking in was quick and easy, the staff really helpful when talking about attractions and transport links. We were provided with a map of Rome and the areas to visit highlighted by the staff.
The room we had was very small (202) but very clean. The bed was comfortable and the shower hot and powerful. We requested extra pillows and this was addressed with no fuss, as was the problem with the TV. Unfortunately due to the central location, the room was noisy with the Metro between 05:00 and 23:30. Despite this, the Metro station (Cavour) was less than five minutes away and the Colosseum a ten minute walk. This excellent location certainly made up for the noise of the trains.
The breakfast on our first morning was very good, continental type but with scrambled eggs and bacon. Unfortunately, the subsequent mornings the eggs and bacon were cold the other food not quickly replenished.
Would I go back to this hotel ? Yes, due to the excellent location, very helpful staff and the value for money. However I would ask for any other room than 202.

Room Tip: Any other room other than 202. The restaurant right next door is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Mr.Darren,
we are happy about the positive review you posted about our hotel.
The hotel is located in the city center of Rome, this is a plus as you said and unfortunately at the same time this means the traffic is very high during the day.This is as you can understand a common problem of all the big cities in the world!
That's why all rooms have double windows to protect from the noise of it.
We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#293 of 1,263 in Rome
635 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#258 of 1,263 in Rome
600 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,263 in Rome
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#115 of 1,263 in Rome
1,099 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,263 in Rome
873 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#361 of 1,263 in Rome
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borromeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borromeo Hotel

Property: Borromeo Hotel
Address: 117 Via Cavour, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#229 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borromeo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borromeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borromeo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing