We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gaelle F”
Review of Borromeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Borromeo Hotel
Ranked #241 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Nantes, France
1 review
“Gaelle F”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is really well situated with two metro stations nearby and is at walking distance from the Colosseo. Rooms are clean, well decorated and the hotel is quiet. Special thanks to Gigi at reception, who has been helpful in everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

thanks for your nice review on the hotel Borromeo.
We are happy to know you appreciated your stay with us and our services.
We hope to see you soon in Rome in our hotel.
Best Regards and happy New Year!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    408
    148
    52
    47
See reviews for
270
518
63
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a great time staying at this hotel. The location was great and many of Romes attractions were within walking distance. It was nice to have an electronic safe and a breakfast in the morning. The best feature though was the service. The front desk was great. Especially Gigi. He was always helpful and gave great recommendations!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Joseph,
thank you very much for your higly positive review on the hotel Borromeo.
We are really happy you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our services and staff.
We hope to see you soon in Rome in the future and wish you a Merry Christmas!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Clean, friendly hotel in the heart of Rome. Close to the subway to get around Rome in a hurry. Within walking distance to the Colosseum and Roman forum. Room had its own bathroom, A/C and heater. We had a room on the street side which is very noisy. If you can request a room opposite the Main Street. Breakfast on the roof was great! Good food and a great view.

Room Tip: Opposite the Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishingDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

we need to thank you for posting such a positive review on our hotel.
We are happy to know you liked it and our services.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best Regards and a Merry Christmas!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metulla, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We would like to commend you that you have a hotel like hotel borromeo with an exellent staff espeacialy Mr.Gigi and Mr.Alessandro.
We stayed at the hotel from 28/11 to 4/12
The food was very good and the rooms were clean and nice.
We reccomend this hotel to anyone who goes to Rome.

please send this review to Mr.Gigi because i promissed him that i would write a feedback as soon as i returned.

regards, Aldef Family.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Aldef Family,

Mr. Gigi is very happy about the very positive mention you made on him in your review about our Hotel.
We all are very happy you had a great stay with us, there's no better thing for us than the client's satisfaction.
We really hope to see you again in our hotel and we wish you all the best!
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

For first time Rome visitors looking for a great place to stay, Hotel Borromeo is highly recommended!! My family and I just got back to the US after a memorable W. Mediterranean cruise and chose to stay in this hotel while in Rome for an extended visit. The front desk personnel Bart, Gigi, Alex and Virgilio spoke English well, courteous and all went out of their way to help us in all our needs... city tours, transportation etc to name a few, even serving espresso every time we wanted some. The rooms were newly renovated, bathrooms clean with adequate toiletries and towels, weighing scale for luggages and even a 110 outlet for charging our US cellphones, laptop, iPads and other handheld appliances... and wifi was offered free of charge too, making our stay really comfortable/convenient. Room rates were very affordable (just make sure to book way ahead of your scheduled visit) and accommodations were spacious and clean. The hotel is located on Via Cavour and city sights were within walking distance. Gigi recommended the hop on hop off touring bus company which took us to all the historical sights for a very reasonable price. Restaurants were close by and a wonderful gelateria (ice cream shop) was nearby. Across the street from the hotel was a souvenir/miscellaneous items store where we bought variety of items, bottled water, souvenirs, carry on bags etc. They also arranged transportation to Cittavechia our cruise port on a Mercedes van at a very reasonable rate, as well as our ride to Fiumicino airport on our way back. I will definitely stay again in this hotel and urge future visitors to Rome to stay at Hotel Borromeo.. I want to add that the free breakfast was adequate, just get up within the time slot 7-9 am to get the best food choices. We were never bothered by any train or passerby noises contrary to other claims. ..they made our visit pleasant, comfortable, safe and effortless. I definitely negate all those who claim otherwise...can't find anything bad to say against this hotel. By the way, for those needing a ride to and from the airport , my first choice was Rome Cabs but was fully booked and they recommended Rome Chauffeur...wonderful service on a new Mercedes van, with an excellent rate and a driver fluent in English. You can book with them online too. All in all, our trip to Italy, France, Spain, Monaco and Tunisia was wonderful and memorable and our brief stay in Rome is just as unforgettable, with Hotel Borromeo giving us a great welcome and helping hand!!! Ciao!

Room Tip: We liked our accommodations on the second floor and the elevator was a few steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank star3347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guests,
first of all our best thanks! for such a positive review on the hotel Borromeo.
We are really glad you and your family had a so great experience in Rome and that the Hotel Borromeo was part of this unforgettable visit to our city.
Your satisfaction is a real big prize for all of us working to always give the best possible service to our guests.
We hope to see you soon in Rome in the Borromeo and we wish you a Merry Christmas!!

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked a family room for two adults and two kids (ages 10/13). Room was not what was pictured on web site. Had one full bed with two cots placed in the room for the kids. No room to move around and no air flow. It was very clean though. There was no self laundry like hotel advertised. The hotel bar was too pricey and small. The breakfast was good but offered the same thing every day. Be aware of the city tax. Had to pay 40 euro extra at checkout. Not mentioned on the web site! The best thing about the hotel is the location!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Mrs. Jennifer,
thanks for your positive review on our hotel.
We apologize for the reported inconveniences but we need to answer you about some points:
- the room reserved was a quad room which is regularry authorized by the local authorities and it had the regular measures for 4 people.
-we don't think the bar is too small, we do really think it's more than enough for the size of the hotel and its guests.We think that the prices are appropriate for a hotel bar, surely a little higher than a bar, but this is normal we guess.
-We do not advertise anywhere we have a self laundry in the hotel, so we cannot really comment on your say.
-We are glad you appeciated the quality of the breakfast, we will take note of your comment and try to vary our products more often.
-It is clearly specified when you make a booking in our hotel that the city tax it is NOT included in the room rate, as it is for all roman Hotels.
If you go on the official website of the hotel you will clearly find on the right of the booking engine the info on the city tax. It is then not correct to say that we do not advertise guests on it.

We thank you anyway for your positive review, we hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The room was functional. The bed was confortable. The bathroom was clean. We are easy customers and we are not interested in going somewhere and staying in the room, so having a clean, comfortable and functional room is what we value and this was what we got.The location is excellent. There are good restaurants close by - one of the best in Rome! All the sights are in a walking distance!The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating, answering our questions, giving us the best advices for first time travellers in Rome. The name of the receptionist, who accommodate and chacked-out us was Gigi.
Buffet breakfast is simple, but not bad at all.We do not like only the coffee and the milk, which are instant.Overall the hotel is very good, very central location and easy to get to all the sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Mrs.Nelly,

we are really glad you had a wonderful stay at the hotel Borromeo, and we hope to see you soon.
Thanks for your great review!
Happy New Year
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#242 of 1,257 in Rome
588 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
272 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#290 of 1,257 in Rome
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#366 of 1,257 in Rome
563 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#176 of 1,257 in Rome
554 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#99 of 1,257 in Rome
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borromeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borromeo Hotel

Property: Borromeo Hotel
Address: 117 Via Cavour, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#229 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borromeo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Borromeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borromeo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing