We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average stay”
Review of Borromeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Borromeo Hotel
Ranked #322 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel was great, we were able to walk everywhere (except the Vatican) and it was very close to the sites. The breakfast in the morning on the terrace was very nice as well, there was a lot to choose from. The main downside is that we asked for a quiet room, which meant we got a very very small room with a tiny little widow that basically felt like a closet, it was quiet but one of the smallest rooms I've stayed in while traveling in Europe. We asked to move rooms and they were very nice and moved us to a larger room, which had a larger window but was facing the street. There was no air conditioning but the street was really really loud so it was hard to open the window at night to get air. The hotel was very clean and the staff was nice, but the only issue would be that we either had a tiny room that was quiet or a larger room that was really loud. We paid under 100 euros a night, so for the price and the location it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfever23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Everything went well with this trip. Everything worked. Staff were very good. The room was clean and cleaned every day and the breakfasts were substantial. we had a room to the rear and had no problems with traffic or other noise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Booked and prepaid in January for 5 nights in April, after reading the trip advisor reviews
AS mentioned the location was great, close to all places but the rest needs improvements.
There is no lobby, I could not get to the internet only the last day, the central heating was onall the time ,we had to sleep with the windows open. Breakfast was always the same for 6 days.
The front desk was very helpful during all our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norita190547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated midway between Termini and Cavour metro stations. Therefore it is very convenient to get around plus it's only a 10 min walk to the Collosseum. Rooms were a nice size and were clean with a nice size ensuite. We were on the first floor overlooking the main road. Whilst this is a busy road we weren't bothered by the noise except for the odd police siren. You can feel the metro vibrations but it stops at 11.30pm and didn't wake us. Only problem was that air con didn't seem to be efficient so was quite hot at night.
Breakfast was on 3rd floor and a nice selection of cereals, breads, fruit and tea/coffee. The staff in the hotel were helpful and there is a room where you can leave your luggage.
Overall a nice hotel and a great base to explore Rome.

P.s. the restaurant next door Gallo Matto is a great place for an evening meal.



  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Room that faces main road is rather noisy. The room was clean and ok. Since the window could not be opened in the night (traffic), it would have been nice to get aircon working, but no success. I kept trying but it heated even more! Nice breakfast terrace on the roof. TV was useless if you don't speak italian...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the main road if you stay longer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent three nights and booked mainly for location. Do not take a room on the ground floor as they are really cramped and are like prison cells. The wifi and mobile does not work in these rooms. The staff is really rude and will not answer more than one question at a time. One of my friends was told that this is not a tourist inquiry and we cannot take any questions for the amount you pay and the guy went back to watching TV. The night clerks are even worse. The elevator breaks down frequently so best to use the stairs. The breakfast is crappy and they serve sugar water with fruit concentrate and call it juice. Coffee actually looks like sewer water. It is recommended that you eat in the many restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mailtopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our group booked a quadruple room here at the very last minute after having a horrible experience at the Prince Inn. We were relieved to find a large room with a cot and sofa for the two extra beds, and a large clean bathroom. The hotel was slightly cluttered due to renovation works, but otherwise a lovely place. Breakfast started early and was plentiful and filling. Nothing too special, but a decent place in a good location. Centrally located on Via Cavour. Within walking distance from the major sights (if young and up for walking!) Would definitely recommend to any travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWingAndAPrayer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#295 of 1,271 in Rome
613 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,036 of 1,271 in Rome
398 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#376 of 1,271 in Rome
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#96 of 1,271 in Rome
970 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#296 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borromeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borromeo Hotel

Address: 117 Via Cavour, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#229 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $62 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borromeo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borromeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borromeo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing