We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hospitality from start to finish”
Review of Borromeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borromeo Hotel
Ranked #307 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012


Me and my friend was not sure where to go and vist to start of with on our first day out so we
Got talking to this guy who work at the hotel Gigi 'what a nice guy
He gave us excellent advice on where to go what to see from the start of our day until the end.


  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank probetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

we want to write some good words about the hotel Borromeo in Rome. We stayed there four days and we enjoyed very much. The hotel is nice,clean and the location is very good. The staff is very dedicated and helpful especially we want to mention Gigi and Igor. We are looking forward to come back.
Arielle + Dorine
Israel

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitai25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while the Yids were playing in town!

Our room (number 99) has massive in size but had 4 beds and two bathrooms but neither shower work effectively and the bath tub didn't drain. The fridge didn't work either which although we commented on it nothing was done.

The bar was non-existent bar and when asked for a drink was recommened to go to bar across the road!!! The breakfast was also a little disappointing and fairly basic.

The hotel real asset is probably the location but having walked round Rome I would honestly say there are better hotels out there and the same price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here on my sister's recommendation. The room was tiny, but comfortable and clean. The location of the hotel was super, less than a 10 minute stroll from Termini train station and about a 5 minute walk from the Colluseum. The best thing about the hotel was the staff- they were very helpful, sorted us out with maps and directions and lent us a plug converter for our whole stay as I'd forgotten to pack mine. You can hear the metro but happily this doesn't run all night and didn't interfere with our sleep at all!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsygallisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My boyfriends and I stayed 3 nights in the hotel,I had great welcome in and the location was perfect x the only short time we had to visit Rome.But the best bit was without a doubt the precious formations we gathered from one of the members of the staff,Luigi or, as he
told us ,we could call him more simply Gigi.
Gigi has been so helpful to us, suggesting places to visit and shopping and how to get around. Without him I believe we would have missed out a lots of very fascinating caratterst and hidden places!The hotel was clean and comfortable
Yes definitely one to go back too!!!
Thank dear Gigi!!!
Sue

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magicmonkey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My girlfriend did the legwork for our recent trip so I wasn't totally sure what to expect. Our first stop was Rome, Italy, and we'd be staying at the Hotel Borromeo. Of course she did her research and found great reviews and some not so great.

I'm proud to say that she really picked a winner here. I would recommend that anyone stay here. I won't go into details on what some other people believe to be negatives because they are NOT. The rooms are typically small. If it's your first time to Europe, expect this. Also expect to pay a premium anywhere for a "large room". It's simply the way things are in a city this old, and most anywhere except a villa on the Vegas strip.

The rooms are small, but filled with character. Stenciled, vaulted ceilings and matching color palate makes the room very cozy. As for my girl and myself an opportunity for us to really spend quality time together in the room during down time. Time reading together and overall just a great sense of togetherness during this part of our trip. The bathroom was very nicely done. Standard stand up shower, with what seems now like an essential piece, towel warmer. And of course one of the finer things in European culture...the bidet. Overall the room was great. It provided a very clean, quiet place. In a city as old as this, it was nice to feel like we were the first to stay in the room. Clean, quiet...perfect.

Location is also superb as the hotel is literally just a 10 minute walk to the Colosseum. Which if your not familiar with Roman times, is also situated just next to the Roman Forum and Senate house which are both amazing area's to explore. Don't forget also to make your way to the Pantheon, which is also within walking distance. About 20 minutes and bring your map. The beautiful architecture and sights for eyes never seen may find you adrift.

Saving the best for last is the Service. Dealing with several different members of the staff at various times of the day you can get a good idea of the service. The service was great. We dealt mostly with a gentleman named GiGi. He was our first face at the Hotel Borromeo and thank goodness. He welcomed us upon arrival, and throughout the trip made us feel right at home. Giving us the best of directions, restaurants and pointers to enjoy a great trip. GiGi really made our experience here at the Hotel Borromeo that much better.

I have friends heading to Italy in a few month and I can't wait to sit down and go over the trip with them. Our recommendation will strongly be to stay here at Borromeo, as it provided great location, cleanliness, and professional service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel location is almost perfect: ten - fifteen minutes by foot to Termini, ten - fifteen minutes by foot to Coliseum and Forum entrance, twenty - twenty five by foot to plaza Venezia and Capitole. Rooms are small but clean. Stuff is friendly and ready to help with all kinds of little problems/questions et cetera: Bartolo and Gigi. Special thanks to Igor for enthusiasm to help, to guide, to advise, to fix.
Elazar & Katya Yosefi from Israel

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank elazar_yosefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,043 of 1,271 in Rome
398 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#291 of 1,271 in Rome
612 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,271 in Rome
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#293 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#390 of 1,271 in Rome
589 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#99 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borromeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borromeo Hotel

Address: 117 Via Cavour, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#229 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $63 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borromeo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borromeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borromeo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing