We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it and I go back again”
Review of Gambrinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gambrinus Hotel
Ranked #287 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rabat, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Love it and I go back again”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed there five nights and I didn't want them to end. We had a lovely clean room. Upon arrival the room wasn't ready yet but we didn't bother the receptionist marked our luggage and we went for a walk. On our return the room was ready and the luggage was already in room gr8t service. There was tea and coffee making facilities which we needed as it was very cold, safe and fridge and Wi-Fi. The breakfast was buffet and extremely good, you had much more than enough to choose from and to suit all tastes .The staff where pleasant and very helpful to guide us for our outings and the hotel was well placed for all the attractions with buses shops restaurants etc. Across the road there is an excellent restaurant. I will certainly use this hotel again and I recommend it 100% A***** Thxs thxs thxs

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    556
    230
    94
    65
See reviews for
196
716
59
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Lovely lovely service. Best continental breakfast! Great rooms & bathroom, perfect sizes. I really enjoyed my stay here. As far as im concerned a good location too. Wi-fi was little temperamental at times but thats ok

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights (4 nov-leaving 7th nov) We had a lovely clean room with a balcony. We arrived early the gentleman on reception went through everything we could want to know had our luggage secured and directed us to an excellent local restaurant which well priced. On our return the room was ready and our luggage waiting for us. Their was tea and coffee making facilities, safe and fridge which we needed as it was warm. The breakfast was extremely good with plentiful food to suit all tastes and two good coffee machines. All staff were pleasant and helpful and the hotel was well placed for all the attractions with buses a hop skip and a jump away. If you want to see the Vatican Wednesdays are not good however if you arrive there by 9 ish you have a good chance of meeting the Pope when he has his audience!! We would go to Rome again and most certainly use this Hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Agree with previous reviewer that room was stuffy and warm with aircon not operating and noisy when windows left open to get some fresh air. Apart from that I believe the Gambrinus to be a very reasonable hotel with an excellent breakfast, very helpful front desk staff and city transport at your doorstep. Excellent restaurant directly across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalkieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in an adjacent building part of the Hotel. Says its a 4 star but felt more like a 3.
Room was decent, not so clean the first day but got better following days. Breakfast very poor. Not bad as far as location (10 to 15 minutes walk from the Centre) but also not close when you are beat and don't feel like walking anymore. there is a Bus stop nearby that leads straigh to the Vatican and Campo dei Fiori/Piazza Navona.
Restaurant across the street is very good and awesome price/quality. Friday/Sat evening require booking otherwise the wait can be long.
Was not that bad nor that good. Would not stay again. Just the overall feeling

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaPaulaLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I, both in our 70's, stayed at the Gambrinus hotel from October 9th to 16th, 2013. We enjoyed it very much as it is located in a neighborhood which allowed us to walk about at night. It is also a short walk to the Termini (bus, train and metro station). Additionally the staff were very helpful in providing directions, advice and TLC. Tanya was exceptional in this regard. We stayed in room 114 on the front street side of the hotel and did not find the noise as bothersome as some other reviewers. The room is small as with many European hotels but it was handy (first floor is only floor with stair access to the lobby and thus we did not have to wait for the elevator). The bath was small and with that "smallest shower in the world". However, for us, it worked and got us ready for the shower on the cruise that followed. Gambrinus has a breakfast with a panoply of choices with bacon, eggs, sausages, yogurt, etc. all well displayed. Ruel who works in the breakfast area, was particularly helpful and indeed, one day when we did not have breakfast, he, the next morning, asked why we missed. The neighborhood has several restaurants. The one across the street, Al Forno Della Soffitta, has excellent oven baked pizza and on the weekend, there was a line of people waiting to get in. Others in the neighborhood are, Caffe Piave, Rist La Cantinola, and so forth. All are excellent, Further there is 24 hour café on a nearby corner for the midnight snack. WiFi was only available in the lobby. We would stay at the Gambrinus if and when we next visit Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jungar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn, Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from Rome. What a fantastic city! If it is not on your bucket list I would plead that it goes on it ASAP. The Gambrinus Hotel is Ideally situated with a friendly staff and outstanding breakfast. When we return it will be to this hotel.

Paul E.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#282 of 1,257 in Rome
1,620 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#340 of 1,257 in Rome
1,176 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#347 of 1,257 in Rome
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#249 of 1,257 in Rome
826 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#299 of 1,257 in Rome
763 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gambrinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gambrinus Hotel

Property: Gambrinus Hotel
Address: Via Piave 35, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gambrinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 minutes walking distance from Spanish Steps and Via Veneto, the Hotel Gambrinus is placed in the heart of one of the most distinguished and refined district of Rome. Minutes away from the Termini train station and both line A & B subway stops, the hotel is a short bus ride distance from the most important monuments of the Eternal City such as Colosseum and the Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and the Vatican city.As soon as you cross the threshold of this exclusive hotel in Rome you will sense its special atmosphere of warmth and intimacy, relaxation and charm. An atmosphere that makes you feel like at home away from home, where every detail is cared with passion and where guests receive a truly personal attention.A generous buffet breakfast is served every morning in the hotel's stylish dining room that features original stone-works of the 19th century in the vaulted ceilings, and Roman-travertine floors whre you could choose from a huge selection of cereals, bread, pastries, fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, bacon, ham and salami.You will love staying in our tidy, cosy, intimate and fully furnished rooms and suites that are ideal to enjoy relaxing moments after long days walking tours and shopping of this city.A multilingual and young staff, well trained and naturally oriented to the Guest, will be dedicated to satisfying your every need and request, suggesting and booking city tours, tour guides, restaurants, Spa treatments and massages, transfers by car to the airport or to the city and any other service that will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gambrinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing