We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, a bit outdated, but generally ok”
Review of Gambrinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gambrinus Hotel
Ranked #288 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small rooms, a bit outdated, but generally ok”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

As to be expected in Rome, our room was very small, and so was the bathroom. They were both clean, though, and that's whats important!
Hotel staff were nice enough, some more than others.
It looked like they could update the interior design a bit.
It's not directly in the center, but the walk down is not bad, and there are lots of buses close by.
I wouldn't recommend it if you want to be in the historical center as this is on a big, busy road...no piazzas or cobblestones around here! If you don't mind that, this might be a good option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baron46931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    558
    231
    94
    66
See reviews for
198
721
59
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We recently returned from a 3 night break at this hotel. The position is pretty good - about a 15 minute walk on the flat from the termini. We like to walk and we were able to walk to all the main attractions including St. Peters and the Vatican. There are some very nice restaurants in the streets around the hotel, including a great pizza house directly opposite, so we ate locally in the evening. We found the hotel very good, the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was plently of choice for breakfast. There is only one lift but we didn't have a problem. We had a room on the side of the hotel, which is quieter than the front of the hotel. If there is a downside it was the size of our room No 205 which was extremely small!! It did have a kingsize bed which was very comfortable. We booked with last minute.com and upgraded from standard to classic - I would hate to have seen the standard. On looking at the floor plan we realised - belatedly - that we had been allocated the smallest room on that level. However, we didn't go to Rome to sit in our room!!.

Room Tip: If you want space don't go to room 205. Rooms in the front can be nosy if you want to open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great place to stay for weekend.Not central but easy walking distance to all the sites and an opportunity to see all the lovely buildings.The rooms are clean and maybe a little small but everything was there that we needed.Good variety of food for breakfast although could have had fresh fruit.All in all a good value for money hotel and would definatly go back and stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back overlook courtyard which is a lot quieter than the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Were do i begin….

Ok so we arrived at the gambrinus hotel on valentines day this year as myself and my boyfriend wanted to do ‘rome for valentines day’ as we walked in the one good thing about this hotel was first impressions.. Roberta the receptionist was very helpful and friendly but she was only there to greet us and we did not see her the remainder of the 5 days we were there.

Since we paid extra for an upgraded room before we got there, we were told by expedia when we booked, there would be free complimentary waters every day, bathrobes and slippers, an ensuite with a bath tub.. We got there to 1 mini bottle of water between the two of us for 5 days, extra were at a cost, no bathrobes or slippers, the smallest shower that you could imagine, which we found out didnt work! no hot water and trickling cold water.? and we also had no toilet roll for 4 days out of 5 that we were there!
We were also right above the busy main road so very noisy.

After 2 nights and 3 full days of not showering properly… not sleeping, dirty rooms as no one had cleaned them, and no toilet roll. We arrived back at our hotel for the 3rd night to find the cleaners had finally arrived to put stained pillow sheets and bedding that had brown crusty markings all over it! i had had enough and demanded a new room with a shower that works! and clean bedding and not near the main road! The very abrupt man at the desk threw me a key to another room and said ‘’have a look at this one’ so which we did,
this room was a lot smaller and was not the upgraded room we had paid for in the first place but i was happy as the shower was a lot bigger and i could actually fit in it! we checked the water to find the shower handle broke off in our hands..!

So back down we went to give him the broken handle and demand a decent room..
He then upgraded us to ‘their version’ of a suite'.. The room was bigger and nicely decorated, but there was a adjoining door to the next room. We asked the receptionist if they could hear us or see us through this door as we wanted our privacy and he assured us "no its completely private",

The next morning when the people next door had woke up i can assure u it was not private! We could here them whispering let alone talking, and the worst this was we could see each others beds through the key hole! that sure is not private!!
Once again we went back down to reception and by now there was a new woman there telling us the guests in that room were leaving and for our next two days there would be no one in there.
But low and behold guests arrived in there that evening! i was embarrassed to complain again as i felt all i had done is complain and i hate complaining, but this hotel is just beyond a joke, and the receptionists really didn’t care what we said they did not want to help

Also which added to my fury, once we had moved into the 'suite’ and complained about the cleaners and dirty bedding, reception would ring our room early in the morning and wake us up demanding that we had to leave our rooms for the cleaners to clean!! this same morning i nipped out to get a bottle of water she actually had the audacity to shout me as i was walking through the lobby and tell me "you must leave your room now, the cleaners want to go home and your stopping them, leave or they wont clean!!!" thats customer service skills for you! i have never been shouted early in the morning by reception demanding me to leave the room just for the cleaners to clean?

It takes 55 minutes to walk to the center, and a further 20 minutes down to the colosseum, and not near walking distance to the vatican! as the website states its walking distance to everything, yes if you like hiking, we checked out a lot of nicer hotels that were right in the center, and were the same price! avoid this hotel at all costs!!!

Room Tip: choose a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

12 of us stayed here for a long weekend during the Six Nations this February. The hotel is very well situated, walking distance to most of the sites, although I would recommend using transport to Vatican City as that is quite a way away. The staff grouped us in rooms together which was handy. As others have said, there is only 1 lift and at times it was a bit of a pain when all of us were waiting to go up or down as we didn't all fit and the stairs didn't always seem to be accessible and are outside the main building! . All the staff I encountered were helpful and friendly. There is free wifi but you have to ask for a code in reception every 24 hours which we didn't realise at first. The rooms are a little on the small side, with a small bathroom and not much storage space at all. Not a problem for a long weekend but not sure where you would put all your clothes if staying for longer! Breakfast time was a little hectic if you went at the 'peak' time but with a decent window of opportunity you could easily find a quiet time. There is plenty of choice including hot and cold selections. The warm food was often only just warm unfortunately but still edible. Plenty of breads, cheeses, yogurts etc, enough choice for everyone in my opinion. The coffee machine was a little temperamental at times also but there is always help at hand. Overall I was happy with my stay here, would recommend it for a short break but maybe not for a week or more, purely because of the small rooms and lack of storage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshcornishbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We got the short end of the stick when it came to room assignments, our room could not fit our bags and us without falling all over the place. Took my boyfriend hours to make the wifi in room work since front desk was clueless and thought we would be willing to go to the lobby anytime we needed to use it (I'm a full time online student, so there was just no way). The breakfast was very good, many choices and everything restocked properly. The service in the hotel was nice, and the room was clean. Front desk always very kind but they did give very poor directions to my boyfriend's mother. A great location to the termini and many places within walking distance, you'd be surprised how much ground you can cover on foot in Rome! Overall I would stay again if the prices are rock bottom, but honestly it might be worth paying a little extra to get a little extra elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not get a corner room... no room at all our bathroom here in the United States is bigger than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaMC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

stayed here in 2012. Hotel is situated 10-15 mins away from rome train station and close to all the main attractions on rome. We stayed for 3 nights room was perfectly clean and of a adequate size. The staff we very helpful even to the extent of giving us a map of the city and explaining some short cuts to the main tourist attractions. Breakfast was very enjoyable and plenty of it. would deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#345 of 1,263 in Rome
1,188 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#237 of 1,263 in Rome
851 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#301 of 1,263 in Rome
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#273 of 1,263 in Rome
1,642 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#355 of 1,263 in Rome
723 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gambrinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gambrinus Hotel

Property: Gambrinus Hotel
Address: Via Piave 35, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gambrinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 minutes walking distance from Spanish Steps and Via Veneto, the Hotel Gambrinus is placed in the heart of one of the most distinguished and refined district of Rome. Minutes away from the Termini train station and both line A & B subway stops, the hotel is a short bus ride distance from the most important monuments of the Eternal City such as Colosseum and the Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and the Vatican city.As soon as you cross the threshold of this exclusive hotel in Rome you will sense its special atmosphere of warmth and intimacy, relaxation and charm. An atmosphere that makes you feel like at home away from home, where every detail is cared with passion and where guests receive a truly personal attention.A generous buffet breakfast is served every morning in the hotel's stylish dining room that features original stone-works of the 19th century in the vaulted ceilings, and Roman-travertine floors whre you could choose from a huge selection of cereals, bread, pastries, fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, bacon, ham and salami.You will love staying in our tidy, cosy, intimate and fully furnished rooms and suites that are ideal to enjoy relaxing moments after long days walking tours and shopping of this city.A multilingual and young staff, well trained and naturally oriented to the Guest, will be dedicated to satisfying your every need and request, suggesting and booking city tours, tour guides, restaurants, Spa treatments and massages, transfers by car to the airport or to the city and any other service that will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gambrinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing