We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent meal, nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pietro al Pantheon

Pietro al Pantheon
Ranked #682 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Colonna
Description: Sneaking in a side street near the Pantheon, in the heart of the eternal city , our restaurant will turn your curiosity at the mere sight of truffles, artichokes and tempting dishes displayed on the outdoor tables.A peek inside and the soft environment with candles and flowers on the tables , furnishings lived a very nice and old style that make it so special and romantic, to reassure you enter.A growing of positive experiences in a small but very quaint , where he combines an excellent Jodaeo-Roman cuisine , courtesy and typical hospitality Capitoline , you intrattenerrà in taste in absolute peace and will never fail in amaze with its magical atmosphere.And if you happen to have to wait a few minutes to get in, waiting for a table , you will be pampered from the start with a tasting of a good flute of prosecco and with so much courtesy and kindness typical of Garbini .Do not miss this opportunity if you pass our part , we will be happy to share our hospitality and joviality to the enjoyment of an exciting and unforgettable experience
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Decent meal, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on location near our hotel and reviews on TripAdvisor. It provided a friendly atmosphere for tourists and a tasty but unremarkable dinner. The pasta was good and the starters were tasty, but my carafe of house red was served very warm, as if it had been in the sun all afternoon, and it had started to turn. No need to return here since there are so many better places, even in touristy areas such as near the Pantheon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    514
    164
    94
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The meal started ok, but never improved and the service only got worse as some of the locals arrived and they needed our table. It seems to me that this establishment does not handle succes very well . The food was mediocre at best and when we ordered gelato they "had none", not that they ever let us see a dessert menu, as they needed the table. They did offer us some cookies that were sitting on the table next to us. Take a pass on this restaurant until they find out how to stay successful.

Helpful?
1 Thank pman47
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Via dei Pastini is lined with restaurants and is very close to the Pantheon.
We had a booking for 9pm and at this stage the place was buzzing.
The food was really good. Portions are huge. The only wine available in a carafe was house wine which was disappointing. It was okay but I would have liked a choice.
The atmosphere more than the food would entice us to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travels616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Soooo Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Ate there with my parents our last night in Rome, and it was fantastic- we all thought it was our best dining experience in Italy by far. The Tiramisu was amazing- normally I don't like Tiramasu at all- but I couldn't put the spoon down! Make sure you have a reservation, we just barely managed to get one earlier that day, and people kept coming by to ask for a table only to look at us jealously when they were turned down (I felt so bad for them I almost skipped Dessert- so glad Sergio, our waiter, insisted we take our time). Plus we got to walk by the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain after we were done because they were so close!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Oh no you didn't!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Ok. I don't know what to do now in my strive for the next best restaurant experience. This place left me confused and disoriented on how to achieve another, bigger mouth orgasm after eating the pasta with truffel for ? 15. I'm in trouble...

All in all - this is a great and priceworthy dining. Don't hesitate.

We came for lunch at 13:30 and had a table served at once. Few guests and good service. The meal took around 2 hours, which was perfect depending on the volyme of the food and our prefered eating speed.
The female waiter was both sweet and very caring, so we enjoyed immensly.

What we had:
Starters
-fried zucchini flower with ansjovis - good, new/strange taste & texture
-fried artichoke - awesome; the leaves like crisps and very beatiful
-mozarella sallad - great refreshing vegs and wonderfully fresh cheese

Mains
-osobocco - good stuff, not fantastic to my taste but not so keen on tomato sauce though. Tender meat & great marrow!
-Escallop with truffel - The truffel is fantastic! A light portion that matches well with our huge set of starters
-pasta with truffel (? 15) - A KILLER. Best. Damn. Pasta. Ever. Please stop - my dreams of pasta are hurting.
Not big portion but hopefully you're pretty full by now so that you can really enjoy the taste instead of wolfing it down.

The house wine - light but with character. To my taste indeed, but if you want heavier ones, go with the wine list.

Helpful?
Thank Andlett6
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Pietro al Pantheon also viewed

 

Been to Pietro al Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing