We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in Rome”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #78 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great value for money in Rome”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed there for three nights in October. The hotel is really only one floor with six or seven rooms, so that it is not a place for everyone. We arrived around 2 P.M. from the airport and were helped up to our room by a friendly and fluent manager on duty. We had a room overlooking a small alley and it was quiet. The room was clean and had three windows for cross ventillation, and a split airconditioner which we did not need. In the morning the housekeeper brings a basic breakfast you order the night before. If you don't mind climbing up three flights of steps, this place is a great choice for those who do not want to spend a lot more for a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for such a good review.

Let us say that our Hotel is indicated for those that come in Rome for the first time, mainly because our first strenght is the map we give everyone, with all our tips and advises of the City: how to avoud queues, best restaurant and even how to walk around. Of course, should not be your first time in Rome, we could still surprise you...

That is what we wish! You to come back again!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    169
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
465
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel de Monti for 3 nights. It's an easy walk from the train station and is close to all the big sights. You feel like you are in a neighborhood vs a tourist area. The room was basic but clean. Mauro who checks you in is amazing. He gives great restaurant advice! The only issue is that it's a bit noisy especially in the AM when they are preparing your breakfast. Everything echoes in the single hallway. This isn't enough however to prevent a future stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majornelson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for posting this review and for all the compliments!

We love to give our guest all tips and advises to enjoy Rome at the best! We never let a guest leave without our map and our explanation, the only forced thing a person has to do in our Hotel!!!

Let us though remind everyone that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and, not having a sign outside, our website is the best to get directions.

Until the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After arriving at a wooden door with no signage whatsoever, we were instantly unsure about our choice.

Then we found Mauro; the superb manager of Hotel de Monti. He buzzed us up into the hotel and assisted with our luggage up the three flights of stairs. He then proceeded to explain the best things a young couple should do in Rome and how to avoid the usual tourist traps. This is a right up our alley, and we learnt so much from Mauro.

The Monti district of Rome would suit younger travellers as it's quite a hip, trendy area with several low key bars and restaurants well away from the tourist area yet close enough to walk to the main historical sights. We walked to the Colosseum in about 15 mins door to door.

The room was spacious, clean and well equipped for our three night stay. The double glazed windows came in handy as the Festival de Monti was on and goes a fair way into the night.

The breakfast provided was light but a nice way to start the day as you could choose the time you wanted it delivered to your room.

Only downside, and it's minor, was the plumbing noise that a few people have mentioned previously, and a bit of a hum/buzz from the fuse box during the night but other than that, no issues and we'd definitely come back.

Well done Mauro, you provided us with a magnificent stay in Rome and delivered us a nice touch with champagne on arrival for our first wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Ryan, this is Mauro.

Thank you so much for posting this review, so glad we did let you pass a good journey in Rome!

You completely described everything, including what we more care about: the "bad things2. We definitely do not prefer our guests to have bad surprises once in here, so thank you so much for telling about the stairs, the door and everything else!

A huge hug from me, and we all look forward to meeting you guys again!

P:S. I'm not the manager, just the front desk man! The manager is Alessandro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

As others have posted, a great place to stay due to location, cleanliness, the friendly staff, cost, breakfast......Be sure to visit the hotels web page to answer questions about finding the hotel. The staff is quick to reply to emails. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Don't worry about the stairs as the staff will help with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldieshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much, mainly for reminding everyone to go on our wesbite for directions; it is the best way to find our Hotel that is without sing outside!!!

Thanks also for all the compliments and we add that we are a the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift!

Until the next time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This gem of a hotel is nestled in between touristy areas and the train station in a neighborhood suited for locals. Everything you might want to see or experience is within walking distance. It was especially helpful that the hotel was only a quick 10-15 min walk from Roma Termini train station, making it simple to travel in and out.

The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They gave us great recommendations, excellent directions and good tips to not seem so tourist-like. The young gent at the front desk is an asset to the team. Our room was clean, fresh, and nicely appointed. The only downside during our stay was an unfortunate noise that the plumbing made when the water was running. We hoped it didn't wake our neighbors when we woke up super early to leave. We left early enough that breakfast was not served so no comments to add there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for posting this review!

So sorry you could not have breakfast, it is one of our strenght! Local regional fresh products, brought in room at the time requested, consisting not in funny imitations of international breakfasts!

Next time in Rome, hopefully it will be for, at least, a week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

As a previous traveller mentioned, you can easily miss this hotel as there is no sign on the building. However, I was very impressed when we arrived on the third floor. A very helpful, friendly, hospitable Manager greeted us. He provided the best information, which was very much appreciated as I was travelling with my two young children. The hotel room and bathroom were very clean. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Look for a huge brown front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for posting this review!

Thanks for reminding also that we have no sign outside; in fact, we always sugget out website for specific directions about how to reach us.

The part of our service we prefer, is the map pf the City we use to leave to our guests, in order to explain the beauties of Rome, including tips about how to skip the big museumes and monuments lines, best restaurants and everything a guest may need. Always at your complete disposal!!!

Look forward to meeting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
272 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#137 of 1,257 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#114 of 1,257 in Rome
1,079 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
901 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing