We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #74 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a very small hotel in a residential neighbourhood, within walking distance of Terminii Station and most of the sights of Rome. The furthest away was the Vatican, which still only took 40 minutes to walk. The hotel has around a dozen rooms on the 3rd floor of the building (there is no lift). There is a small reception desk only, no restaurant, bar or lounge, and breakfast is brought to your room at a time of your choosing. But it was perfectly adequate for a city break, as we were out most of the time. More importantly, the room was spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the breakfast excellent. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Mauro, the manager, made sure we had all the information we needed to make the most of our stay, and recommended some good local restaurants.
I would certainly recommend the Hotel De Monti to anyone looking for a comfortable, welcoming base from which to explore Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKIer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience here!!!

Being the smallest 2 stars Hotel in Rome (only 7 rooms), our focus is to let our guests discovering Rome at its best, with all the suggestions we can give through the map of the City.

If anyone reading is looking for the best room ever, full of luxury facilities, we are not the best choise. We strongly think that Rome was built to be discovered and not to lose time in a room and who better than you, can help us saying that?!

Thanks for reminding as well that we have no elevator in our building and that our rooms are at the third floor of an ancient building.

Once back in Rome, do not hesitate to contact us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    164
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
458
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel De Monti for three days and was pleasantly surprised! First impression we were skeptical because there was no sign on the outside of the door, but after finding the check in three floors up, a great hotel! Mauro goes out of his way to inform you about Rome and where to go and not to go! Breakfast was awesome! Would highly recommend this hotel for price, location and service. Staff is more than willing to help with luggage. Had a great stay!

Maureen and Howard B

Room Tip: A larger sign on doorway would be helpful, although all taxi drivers know where it is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much!!!

Yes, our Hotel has no sign outside and we invite all our guests to go first on our website, in order to have the best information about how to reach us.

The rooms are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift, so we do not suggest our Hotel to who cannot afford it...

We always are at your complete disposal in order to explain you the best way how to really enjoy Rome at its best!

See you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights when we first got to Italy. We got in early from a flight from Alaska and after buzzing in with plans to leave our bags at the front desk the host had come in early to check us in to our room which was ready for us, what a nice treat as we were tired. Everyday Mauro or Alessandro would help us navigate to our daily destinations. The breakfasts were a perfect start to our long daily walking excursions. The rooms were a little small but worked fine for us. Good location, clean, quiet and value. The stairs are a climb but not a problem after all the other stairways in Rome. Would use again if we are in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martyboAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very muching for posting this review!

We remind everyone that our check-in is ONLY possible from 1pm to 6pm and that there is surely the possibility to leave the bags in the Hotel, if someone comes earlier.

Our rooms are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and, as we have no sign outside our door, we suggest everyone to go on our website first and learn how to reach us.

We look forward to meeting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location, really helpful manager (Mauro), very clean, efficient staff and good breakfast.

The hotel is rather strange as it has no facilities (these are 5mins walk away at the Griffo), and no lift. The rooms are modern and spotless but on the 3rd floor. There is a reception only, no bar, no dining room, Therefore breakfast is served in your room (which we found absolutely fine).
I would go back as the hotel was good value and in a good location, safe at night with a few good eating places within minutes walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
You do not even imagine how helpful this review could be....it says all the information we would like our guests to know.

- third floor no lift
- no sign outside our building, so get informed on our website please.
- our 7 rooms are all squared 17 meters and in the rooms there is air conditioning, TV, telephone, double glassed window, a private bathroom with shower and hairdryer.

What we are proud of, is surely how we can let our guests enjoy Rome and its beauties, through an explication of a map we are always glad to provide. Including the best places to eat, avoiding those useless touristic places, where you pay 50€ for a pizza and a beer....

Thanks and to the next time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Mauro and Alessandro were super helpful, both in getting us settled, and in recommending sites to see around the city/country. We ended up leaving some luggage there during our 8 day jaunt around Italy, and they were super accommodating.

We would have stayed our last night if they weren't already booked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vergil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are sorry we were fully booked and not able o host you the extra night as well!!!!

However, thanks for the review and we remind to who is reading that we have no elevator and we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift.

Next time, give us a call or send us an e-mail and we will be more than happy to help you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having read all the reviews beforehand, we knew what to expect and we weren't disappointed. Yes the stairs are a bit of a hike, but whoever is on reception will help with your luggage. Our room was well furnished clean & comfortable, bathroom small but shower cubicle larger than average & shower itself nice & powerful. The service was excellent and breakfast delivered to our room was an added luxury. The hotel itself was in an excellent position for all the sights & transport links. Mauro was spot on with all his helpful hints to avoid the queues and places to eat. If we return to Rome we would certainly stay again and have in fact recommended the hotel to a friend, who is visiting Rome later in the year.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back, so no noise from the busy road, but spoke to a couple in a front facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snappyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
...and we will be more than glad to welcome our friend!!!

Thanks for the honest review, mostly because it is all true what you have written!

Our rooms, at the third floor of an ancient building without a lift, are all 17 meters squared, which, for the Roman standard is a little bigger size.

The breakfast is served in room every morning and consists in all regional fresh products of our area.

Thanks again for posting this review and see you the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Breakfast arrives on time and is a good start to the day. It is convenient to all the major tourist sites by foot. However, it is the staff, that make this hotel with their suggestions of where to eat, where to go and their very friendly persona. Thank you gain Mauro

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahambCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks very much for this review, we really appreciated that!

But please, let us remind everyone that we only are a 2 stars Hotel in the oldest district Hotel and that our rooms are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift.

Also, we suggest to everyone to well get informed about how to reach us, you can find all the useful info on our website.

All the best and we look forward to meeting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#126 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing