We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base for exploring Roma”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #74 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring Roma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. The room was very clean and the location is perfect. Only a 10 min walk to Collosseum and plenty of good restaurants nearby. Breakfast was traditional Italian and pretty tasty. Service was friendly and very helpful. Good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Global_Gatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for sharing your experience here!!!

From the Hotel is everythin reachable in less than 20 minutes walking and in fact, our location is one of our strenghts!

But Rome is exhausting and we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and it is better to inform everyone...

Once back in Rome, please, do not hesitate to contact us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    165
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
48
459
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with our decision to stay at Hotel De Monti for our 4 night stay in Rome. It was the complete package and exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was tasty and always on time, the room and bathroom were spotless, the bed was very comfortable, and the staff was extremely friendly/helpful. We felt right at home and will be staying here again on our next visit to Rome!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello and thank you for such a wonderful review!

it has been a real pleasure to meet you and please, let us remind everyone that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that our Hotel has no sign outside.

Our brekfast is part of our "homemade" service, consisting in all regional local fresh products without any kind of funny imitations of intercontinental breakfasts.

Look forward to meet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wow, what a great little hotel! Booked the De Monti for 4 nights on the strength of their rave Tripadvisor reviews but was skeptical that it wouldn't live up to its reputation - am pleased to report that it did! These guys have figured out how to make the most of their modest hotel and they have do all the little things right.
Yes, the 3 flights of stairs were a pain after pounding the cobbles all day but they aren't that bad! The rooms are large, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was very good considering the price of the room and was always delivered to the room on time and with a smile. The location is great, about midway between the train station and the centre of town. At night the Via Urbana down towards Via Leonina has some really nice non-touristy eateries. But what really sets the De Monti apart is the service - Mauro was a star, full of tips and advise on where to eat and how to get the most out of your time in Rome.
Will most certainly be recommending this hotel to my friends and if I'm lucky enough to return to Rome I will definitely be staying at the De Monti again!

Room Tip: When booking online be sure to select the Pay Cash option to get a discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thaks a lot for such a wonderful review.....as well for reminding that we are at the third floor without an elevator!!!

You know, in Rome there are a lot of things to visit, considering that we are really few minutes walking away from all the most important sightseeing areas and the stairs can kill someone!!!

The breakfast is absolutely not a funny tantative of imitation of those kind of intercontinental breakfast and it consists in all regional local fresh products coming from here around and it is always brought in room directly every day!

All the best and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a great stay at this wonderful hotel. The breakfast in the room was fresh and tasty, the rooms were spacious and the staff was very, very friendly. What we appreciated the most were the tips that Mauro shared with us, on avoiding the crowds at the Vatican/Colloseum and some fantastic places to eat. The next time we are in Rome, we will return here for sure and we recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woutervw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi there! Thank you very much for posting this review, we had great time meeting you and helping you through your stay!!!

As you only wrote good things (ahahahahah!!!) we still have to say something in order to inform everybody who's reading.

Our Hotel is at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and we have no sign outside, so the best way in order to get information about how to reach us is our website.

The breakfast in the Hotel is served in room and consists in all regional Roman breakfast brought you every day.

Guys, we are really looking forward to meeting you again and we wish you all the best!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Mauro, the ever-helpful concierge/receptionist/all-round Roman bon viveur, says this is the smallest hotel in Rome with just seven rooms. Well, if this advice is as good as everything else he said, it'll be true!

Yes, there's no lift and yes, it's a few flights up, but so long as you are relatively fit and healthy, it's really no big deal. The hotel decor feels a little dated (curtains don't match duvet or bed cover) and the rooms are not huge, but frankly that's not a big deal with you have a very reasonably-priced, central and incredibly clean hotel. The 10 minutes it takes to walk to the Forum and Colisseum through lively neighbourhood streets are a joy, and there are piles of lovely cafes, bars and restaurants on your doorstep (Mauro is very happy to recommend his favourites, and they are GOOD!)

It's walking distance from the train station, with a regular service from the airport (14 euros single). Breakfast has to be ordered the night before, but is made of fresh local ingredients, and makes you feel like you're having a picnic in your room.

It's not abject luxury in this hotel, but it's good-value, central and friendly, so I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TartanHornplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We promise it is!!! And thanks for writing that we are at the third floor of an ancient building without a lift and that we are definitely not a luxury Hotel!!!!!

...we try to do our best in order to let you enjoy Rome at the best, through our tips and advises as, who know Rome better than a Roman!?!?!?!

We will be always here at your disposal when in Rome again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville Hills, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel de Monti was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful in giving advice about Rome's attractions, calling taxis, etc. The room was simple -- clean and neat. The hotel is very centrally located (less than 1km from the central train station) and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello there and thank you for writing!

We of course have to remind that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that our Hotel is in the oldest district of Rome.

It has been a pleasure to host you (twice!!!) and we look forward to meet you the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

First of all, they make it very clear that there are a lot of stairs to get to the hotel... but I didn't read that. If you have trouble with stairs, keep that in mind.

The staff is amazing... carried up our luggage and spent a good 30 minutes talking to us about the area, where to eat, what to see, how to get there... how much cabs should cost if we need to take one... areas that are safe at night... and just about any other question that we could have.

The room is very nice and clean. Beds are comfortable and exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was served in bed daily and there was a nice selection of options to pick from.

The location could not have been better. 20-30 minutes of walking to nearly every major location in Rome... including The Vatican.

I highly recommend Hotel De Monti and if I am in Rome again, I will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
What could we say more after you review?! You described everything! Not only the good things (which we infinitely thank you!) but as well all those kind of descriptions that is always good to know before reserving.

Let us add an information: as our Hotel has no sign outside, it could be hard to find. We suggest anyone to have a look to our website in order to have the best directions about how to reach us!

Next time in Rome, we will be warmly waiting you to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#84 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#92 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#119 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#19 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#68 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing