We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A clean room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #74 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
520 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“A clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I booked the hotel based on the reviews on TA. I would have never known about this hotel without TA. My criteria was that it was close to the train station, good reviews on TA and hopefully under 150 Euros a night. Overall a good experience. The staff was friendly and happy to answer our questions. We were in low season and had done a ton of research so the staff didn't have much to offer us on advice we didn't already know. However, the tip on the short cut to the Spanish Steps was a great recommendation. Breakfast was brought to the room based on our requested time and what we requested to eat. Starting time is 7:30am and I think goes until 9am. Room was clean. We had no issue finding the place as we looked at the pictures on TA and also used Google maps to located it. About a 15 minute walk with bags from the train station less without bags. Wifi included and had no issues using it. Shower always had hot water. One of the better hair dryers on my trip to Italy also provided. Two chairs and night stands, a safe, hanger space and a desk.

The room and bathroom were a tad smaller than some of the pictures showed. We were in room 35 at the end of the hall. When you walk up the stairs the reception is on the right and the main hall with the rooms is on the left. We were grateful they allowed us to store our bags before we checked in and post check out.

Noise wasn't a huge issue as again low season but I could see where in high season the hall could be loud. Not street noise but from other guest coming and going in the hall.

Things that could be improved. Better or more pillows. Only two for two adults and both were flat and a bit hard. Some more channels on the TV. Not a huge deal as we don't trave to stay in our rooms and watch TV but it would be nice to hear some news in the morning getting ready. A few more options on the breakfast menu. After three mornings I was a bit tired of the selection. Maybe a clock in the rooms and/or a heated towel rack. Take the plastic off the chairs. Ours was half on and half off. I see the point to keep them clean but really felt like it either needed to be replaced or removed.

Glad we got to experience this place. If back in Rome we will look at it again and suggested it to friends. It is basic maybe a two stars. If are ok with that then this is your place. Staff and location are worth it. Probably one of the better two stars out there. Maybe a tad high in price for what you get but this is Rome. They can charge what they want.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Me9247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    163
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
457
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
164 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I felt disappointed staying in this hotel. After reading the reviews I thought it was going to be much better.
The locatios is good, near the Termini Station, but not great. The building dates from the XV century, ok, but not charme at all. The reception only opens from 1 till 8 pm. The room was extremely small: no place for the breakfast tray!.Not international channels on tv.
Nice staff, very clean.
Too expensive for the price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Bruselense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Where do I start? It has to be with Mauro and Andrada who run the place. they are lovely. Listen to Mauro...listen to what he tells you about Rome because he lives it and knows it. The hotel is spotless, the location is excellent, and even the front door is full of character! Some people have said its hard to find but with google maps I can't see how you could miss it. Breakfast in bed, good showers, comfy beds, nice pillows, and even a good Kebab shop over the road with a really funny young lad serving. Nope, I have tried to come up with a negative about this hotel and just can't. If you want the Ritz with five stars and a snooty receptionist go stay there. If you want to experience Rome and be in a hotel that has character and wonderful staff.....go to the Hotel de Monti.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrischardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were extremely pleased with De Monti Hotel. It may have been the best Hotel we stayed traveling around Europe for more than three weeks. It is very well located, within walking distance to all main attractions in Rome so we did not have to bother using public transportation means or taxis. We walked everywhere we wanted to go and could return back to the hotel get some rest and continue exploring the city. What I loved most about it was the staff. They seemed to be able to answer all our questions, they advised on restaurants, on shopping, on Museums on anything one wants to know. I highly recommend it. 5 stars+++

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is well placed in Rome, only 20 minutes walk from the Colosseum and the ancient city. We found it quite hard to find initially as the entrance is quite inconspicuous (take note of the photo on here of the brown door and be sure to take a map!) however the room was clean and modern with a good shower. Breakfast is served in your room at the time of your choice and is locally sourced. What makes this hotel stand out from others is the personal service you receive, we were given tips on the best places to eat and how to avoid many of the queues. We holidayed in November which admittedly isn't the busiest season for Rome but the longest we queued for any tourist atttraction was 5 minutes. A good hotel with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 111Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Myself and my husband recently spent 4 nights here on our first trip to Rome. It was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay and it was my birthday on one of those days and the owner ( Mauro) gave us a small bottle of Prosecco and a bunch of flowers in our room, which was a lovely touch. Mauro was very helpful in giving us tips on what to do and how to avoid the rip offs. He was very helpful and most friendly and would chat to us every time we came back from an outing. The rooms and bathrooms were smaller than I thought but they were extremely clean and tidy as someone came in evry day while we were there to clean our room. I was very happy about this. Location was brilliant as only 10 mins from Colesseum and lots of nice restaurants and bars. Breakfast was served in the room and was very nice. Was definitely glad I picked this hotel

Room Tip: Only 7 rooms, quite similar and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is in terrific location - less than 10 mins away from the Colloseum or Termini station. The area is packed with small traditional restaurants and local bars. It is, however, off the scale hotel. The feature I found very attractive - that you leave a breakfast card with your personal choices in the evening and in the morning you get all you wanted straightly to your room! No common breakfast area for the guests though. And the staff was exceptionally helpful - either picking up from the airport or giving directions around the city (even Berlusconi's house!).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MildaLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#126 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing