We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 1/2 star hotel that is perfect for a quick getaway”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #90 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid November 2012. It was the perfect place for us: great location for walking everywhere and close to train station, easy to access once you find it, includes breakfast, and average accommodations. It really is like a 2 1/2 star hotel. Despite the low stars, I would stay there again. The only reason I am giving this hotel a lower star rating is for the following: (1) our bathroom smelled like sewage where we were literally gagging when we went in there - we mentioned it to the staff but it was just assumed that it had to do with the flooding going on in another room. I doubt this was happening in any other room so it really could have just been a temporary issue; (2) beds are hard (but that really was everywhere we stayed in Italy); (3) It is really hard to find - there is no real big sign outside so make sure you write down the address; (4) you need to walk up four flights of stairs to reach the hotel (there is no elevator); and (5) the front desk was only open in the afternoon - from like 2-8pm.

All in all, it is a good accommodation for a good value (we paid 70 Euros per night) and it is in a great location!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Storm4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Monti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 669 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at Hotel de Monti at the beginning of November and it really is a gem. The hotel is little hard to find, but if you do your research on Google Maps and Streetview you'll be fine. We had told Mauro our expected time of arrival and he was waiting at the hotel when we got there. His welcome was so warm and genuine that he immediately put us at ease and it felt like we were old friends. Our room overlooked the street at the front and there was some traffic noise throughout the night, but the windows are double-glazed and we always travel with earplugs so any noise does not bother us. The room was quite small but was spotlessly clean and had a lovely en-suite shower room. Breakfast is served in the room and there's not really enough space for this to be comfortable (it's breakfast in bed or standing up!) but the quality of the food and drinks was excellent. Throughout our stay Mauro was very helpful and gave us lots of tips on places to eat and drink.

All in all Hotel de Monti is an excellent place to stay in Rome. The location is brilliant - everything is in quite easy walking distance and the standard of the accommodation is a cut above what you would expect for the price. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for your stay in Rome. Thank you Mauro for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cossie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is really a bargain, the rooms are great and well maintained, the service is impecable and the location is superb - 10 minuts on foot from the Coliseum. The neighborhood also has great restaurantes and cafes. However, this place is more of a guest house rather than a traditional hotel. Hence, do not expect the same set of services that you would find in a traditional hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Roman hotel B&B is in a perfect location for touring on foot or via Metro. I give very positivie reviews to Mauro and Alessandro, the most helpful, friendly hosts. The room was a bit on the tiny side, but understandable based on the price. A minor negative is the rest of the building. Guests must climb two flights of stairs (not the issue) that need some repair and the stairwell itself is rather unappealing. Mauro gladly carries the bags upstairs.It is also easy to miss the front door unless you are keeping a good eye on the numbers. The building is shared by a few B&Bs and there is no prominent sign. Breakfast is more than adequate with plenty of choices and it's delivered on time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cagia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very good hotel, small but perfectly organized. Nice breakfast on the rooms and the location as compared to the various sightseeing locations is perfect.
The hotel staff was very helpfull in pinpointing the various locations for great diners, entries to sightseeing locations etc (thank you Mauro!).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

To be honest we don't normally write reviews but due to how impressed we were, I felt compelled to share our experiences.Firstly the location is great, close to the train and bus station and no more than 15 mins from all the main sights e.g Colosseum, Spanish steps, Trevvi fountain etc, Vatican city is a bit further but still walking distance and with Romes beautiful scenery its well worth walking. Hotel was a little difficult to find initially but this is no big deal. The room itself was nice, clean, a good size and has everything you need, breakfast is brought to your room at a time chosen by you and consists of local produce and is lovely. The best part of this hotel are the staff, Mauro and Allesandro, these guys make your Rome experience. They are friendly, good fun and go above and beyond the help you any way they can and with the excellent local knowledge they have their recommendations and tips were always spot on. They recommended restaurants as well as gave us tips on how to skip big ques at the major sights. In summary we couldn't be happier with our choice of hotel and would recommend this to anyone and everyone that is looking to stay in authentic Rome.

Thank you Mauro and Allesandro.

Jamal + Adelle

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed on two different occasions - both times we arrived late in the evening, but they accommodated us easily. The room was extremely clean, though the bed was very hard. The location is very handy to Termini and to many sights. Rome is such a great walking city and this hotel is in the heart of an area in transition, so it is perfect for great restaurants that are not overrun with tourists. Mauro and Allesandro are full of tips and recommendations. There did not seem to be a question that they could not answer. They sent us to some amazing restaurants. Allesandro even came in on his day off to carry our luggage down to the taxi. Their commitment to providing superb customer service is exceptional.

The hotel is basic with limited reception hours, but for us this was not a big deal. You also need to be able to handle walking up several flights of stairs because there is no lift. Again, no problem for us, but it is something you should be aware of.

Breakfast is delivered to your room. It is varied, but the croissants could definitely be fresher. They taste like they came out of some day old package.

Hotels in Rome are quite expensive, so I would say this hotel offers great value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#127 of 1,267 in Rome
1,288 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#113 of 1,267 in Rome
286 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#130 of 1,267 in Rome
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#185 of 1,267 in Rome
1,055 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#102 of 1,267 in Rome
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $81 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing