We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Good Location”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #95 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Good Location”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at Hotel De Monti towards the end of September. We arrived at Fiumicino Airport and took the train to Termini Station. We knew that it was a short walk from the train station and made our way towards the hotel. It was not the easiest place to find. Practically no signage and when we did find the correct building my wife looked at me like she was going to kill me. From the outside this place looks very questionable.

We were met by one of the staff members who assisted us in carrying our luggage up the several flights of stairs to the hotels floor. This hotel shares the building with a few other hotel/hostels. Once you get onto their floor, it is very nicely done and very clean. Our room was a pretty good size and the space was nice.

If I was coming back to Rome, I would certainly consider staying at Hotel De Monti again - the staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms were nice and clean. My only complaint would be the location is not easy to find - there is no lift - (not a problem for me, but might be for others) - and the included breakfast was kind of weak.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clickitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are very thankful for this review.

As it is written on our website, our Hotel is at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and, of course, we will be always glad to hepl someone bring the luggage up!

We really believe that the best way to discover Rome is to get lost...and we teach how to do that! Seriously, we suggest those hidden parts not written on the guide books that are always woth to visit and this is the really strenght of Hotel De Monti!

All the best and always remember you will have a special treatment on our website when in Rome again.

Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    172
    33
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
469
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We used TA to select this hotel based on the reviews. It lived up to every one of our expectations. The room was spotless and provided us with ample space to store our belongings including a safe for our passports etc. The location of the hotel was awesome to find all of the sights one wants to see. Breakfast was delivered to our room every morning and was delicious. The food in the De Monti part of town was spectacular thanks to the recommendations of the staff at the hotel. We couldn't have wanted for anything! Thanks to Mauro, Alessandro and Andrada for making us feel welcome and our stay more than comfortable. It was like staying with friends. We'll return to this wonderful hotel and part of Rome again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJA674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed with my husband in this hotel the last five days of my honey moon (19th - 23rd Sep, 2012) and I haven't regretted for a second the choice I made! The thing which worried me most at first was the fact that we had lots of luggage and there's no elevator, but we received a very warm welcome and help with the suitcases so all my worries disappeared. Alessandro explained us interesting things about the city and gave us useful advice about where to eat, how to avoid queueing at the tourist sites etc.
As there is no separate room in the hotel for eating, breakfast is served in the room, you choose the day before at what time you want it and what exactly do you want, ticking in a list with various options. It is really delicious and gives a very good start of the day.
Mauro was also very kind, recommended a great restaurant for our last evening in Rome and arranged a car to pick us up to the airport very early in the morning when we had to check out.
Last but not least, the location is more than great, in the very center of Rome, walking distance to the main sightseeing attractions.
I highly recommend the hotel and I can't imagine staying somewhere else when visiting Rome again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Do not be fooled by the exterior of this hotel, as once inside you will be met first of all by caring attentive receptionists, Mauro or Alessandro.

The advice they give to enjoy your time in Rome is priceless.

We stayed in room 33, a charming room and enjoyed breakfast here served promptly and to a high standard.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinsleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The location is excellent. Walking distance to all the sites. The room itself is clean and confortable and the breakfast was great. The main advantage of this hotel is the very personalized touch that Mauro and Alessandro provide to their customers. The tips Mauro gave us in visiting Rome allowed us to easily save hours of waiting in line. They were very friendly and it felt more like home than being at a hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel! Thanks again Mauro!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this wonderful hotel. Great location convenient to walking or riding the bus. We found the advice given by Alessandro and Mauro to be spot on. We had room 33 facing the street. The room was very quiet and a good size. Breakfast was delivered to the minute we asked each morning with a good variety of items to choose from. We particularly enjoyed our conversations with Alessandro and Mauro about their city and what to do and see. It is easy to see why they are so proud of Rome. Alessandro was very willing to help with the luggage up the stairs and even Andrada, the young woman who delivered our breakfast grabbed bags to help us out. Mauro was able to arrange for a private car to take us to the airport on our departure day which we really enjoyed our conversations with our driver too! Make sure you let them know if your are arriving before check-in, and be familiar with the building from Google or a similar source so that you know the front door as there is no easily visible signage directing you to the entrance. (There is an easily seen address next to the door though). It’s easy to feel like family when staying and we look forward to our next stay!
Dave & Jane Plano TX.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planopearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from 6days holiday in Rome. Really enjoyed staying at Hotel de Monti.
1. Excellent and very friendly service. Alessandro, Mauro really really helpful. Their personal service puts other hotels to shame. Good tourist advice.
2. Lovely room (32), immaculately clean, lovely bed. Quiet at night.
3. The hotel is in great location for tourists, everything is within easy walking distance or metro.
4. Good continental breakfast delivered to your room at requested time in morning(very punctual!)

For the price, location, room and service this hotel is excellent.

Only small small negatives
1. TV only in Italian
2. Room could do with more storage eg cupboard, draws
3. Some slight noise in morning (after7.30) as breakfast prepare near room 32

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11102010Ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#101 of 1,261 in Rome
282 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#133 of 1,261 in Rome
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#112 of 1,261 in Rome
1,097 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,261 in Rome
2,464 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#100 of 1,261 in Rome
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing