We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of Rome”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #78 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Rome”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Should you be the type of traveller that loves budget hotel in an amazing location, Hotel de Monti meets beyond your expectations. For the price they offer and the pros that come with it, you will think - ARE THEY FOR REAL? So I went on to tried it.

Pros:
- Amazing location, walking distance to spots such as Colosseo and Station Termini. Furthermore, it's a nice neighbourhood with good restaurants around
- Extremely clean
- Free (and STRONG) WIFI signal
- Breakfast (of your choice) is served in your room (at your choice of time)
- Excellent hospitality from all the staffs

Cons:
- No clear sign at the entrance, hence you have to locate based on the address and map
- For the weak: No elevators (Hotel is located on the 3rd floor)

Lastly, my verdict is... they are FOR REAL and is definitely within my choice of Rome accommodations to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    170
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
466
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very pleasant hotel. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and clean. It is a new hotel, so it has not yet added some of the small beautiful touches you might find in other hotels, but I'm sure it will soon. The staff were unusually friendly and helped us plan our time in Rome. They were also nice enough to bring my pregnant wife a few bottles of San Pellegrino at my request, with no charge. As we were checking out, one of the owners informed me of a discount that I had failed to see when booking online -- he gave me the discount on the spot. Really nice people and a fantastic location. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djwolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We loved this hotel. The rooms were beautiful (spotlessly clean, A/C, comfortable beds, a generous size), location was perfect (we only took the bus twice in our 5 day stay) and the service was excellent (the recommendations for places to eat were excellent). Everything came with a personal touch. So much so that we felt like we were staying in a good friend's house instead of a hotel. Thank you so much Alessandro, Mauro and the ladies who served our breakfast and cleaned our rooms. Now all the place needs now is an elevator.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PushpaYogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

loved this hotel. it was in a great neighborhood, like montmartr a little bit. small but confortable rooms. there was even an ac. and very clean. the breakfast was a lovely spread, local and yummy. service very friendly. very chic atmosphere.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank saer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

I travelled alone to Rome to meet with some friends for some concerts, sightseeing, etc.  I added this hotel to my list of 'maybe'-s due to price, location, amenities (wifi/ breakfast were my definite necessities, most places have this), and great overall user reviews.  

It was a little difficult to pinpoint, but after 10 minutes, I found it.  My fault, I wasn't paying close attention to the numbers!  Check-in was exceptional- so much personalized attention! They take their time to explain the area & help answer your questions  (directions, modes of transportation)based on what's probably best for you based on your personal needs as a traveler.  Usually, in larger places, I get 'Passport please.  Here are your keys' and off I'm sent, unless I have questions... Still, I'm usually not helped so willingly & with such consideration for my needs!

I was nervous at first about the small-size of the business, how could they possibly provide what I need?  My worries were quickly gone.  All info is provided on a print-out,  plenty of towels, plenty of spoken information given beforehand- I had no questions, I never had to call for anything.  

They give you a list of things you can choose for breakfast the next day- it was more lengthy than I expected, and honestly, I loved every second of eating that breakfast.  Yes, I was very hungry, lol, but knowing that everything was local and tasted so fresh as opposed to mass produced frozen meals from other places, it was even better.  Plus, they bring it to your room- I always HATE making myself presentable for breakfast!  The ability to lounge in my pj's, half-asleep and eat at my leisure?  Perfect.  

I learned from a local friend that this was the area 'to be', and hence my choice of this one over a few others.  I was told of the great bars, restaurants, and told that it wasn't really touristy (I agree, saw some, but not like other areas I visited which were completely taken over by tourists.  It is perfectly central.  Comfortably between Termini and Cavour Metro stations (I'd recommend using Cavour as your base station though- a lot closer).  I walked to the Colosseo within 15 minutes on quiet streets, buying water and soda for the price that locals pay as opposed to tourist prices. 

I loved the feeling of coming back to my room- it was as if I had my own apartment in Rome as opposed to staying at a hotel.  Some people are less independent and require 24-hour on-site staff, but I LOVED this.  I guess had there been a problem It wouldn't have been so convenient, but there wasn't, so I was perfectly happy.

The room was spotless, everything new, even the bed cover, which most hotels don't wash for every guest.  Shower was small, but all new, I was fine with it.  Great air conditioning.  Room was pretty quiet, could slightly hear the neighbors at time, but not a biggie at all.  

It was very understated and simple- but I loved everything about it.  If I ever go to Rome again, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.  I would highly recommend it to anyone. 

Grazie mille, Hotel de Monti, for being a part of my great experience in Roma!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anti_travel1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for this fantastic review!

One of our focus is to let people live the real Roman life, through our tips and advises, perhaps through the real Roman kitchen as well!!!!

We do not believe in those kind of luxury services because we prefer our guests to feel the importance of the Eternal City soul, through a healthy walk of one of the most important and ancient city of the past world.

Next time, as well if you will reserve just for 1 night, we will let you leave the Hotel just when we think it will be enough!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This Hotel must have the most cheerful, helpful and friendly staff in Rome. Coupled with a generous sized room, excellent decor/furnishings, A/C, Wi-Fi, a good location and great breakfast, you can not go wrong. I think the location deserves special mention. The Hotel really is located in a good part of Rome close to many of the major attractions. From both a sight seeing point of view the location was ideal and we felt 'safe' in the streets, even when returning late at night. Honestly this Hotel is a gem in Rome.

To be fair to other travellers there is only one area which was not prefect and that is that there was sometimes a bit of noise from the floor above. As we understand the floor above is a private unit, the hotel has no control over this area. Even so the noise did not cause us trouble as we tended to retire late and get up early, coupled with being pretty worn-out at the end of each days intense sight seeing. Also as mentioned by others, there are a number of stairs to climb and no lift. Though we were helped with the bags both ways so unless you can not climb stairs to a third floor this should not present a problem.

Overall this Hotel is great value for money and we would not hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GG2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We are very glad for the review you posted, and we thamk you so much.

The Monti district is one of the oldest in Rome and being in the exactly centre of the city, it let you easily reach everything by your own foot or even with public transportation (there is a huge choice of buses and metro stations here around).

We are wishing to soonly meet you again, as it is always a pleasure to meet such a kind persons as you are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I loved this place for many reasons!
Firstly, the room and the breakfast, a very chic boutique hotel, full of character and charm!! The breakfast was locally sourced where possible (great to hear!) and was delicious, bought to our room at a time that suited us. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and included the much needed air con!
Secondly, the location was perfect, close enough to all the sights and to the Roma Termini.
As for the service, I cannot compliment the staff enough! When we arrived, although they were three stories up, we were greeted at the door by a member of staff to help with our bags. He then swiftly checked us in whilst helping us decide what to do with our 1 day in Rome, he told us about places we would have never of otherwise found and through his guidance were able to see as much as we possibly could during our stay.
Thank you De Monti!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We appreciated a lot this review!

We will be always here to provide our guests our "homemade" service, consisting in personal tips about where to go and advises to how to skip the big queues of the Roman monuments and musuems.

In here it is called the 0 kms policy, it means that all the products you could have in Hotel De Monti breakfast, come from the agricultural region of Rome, thus everytime fresh and tasty!!!

We wish you all the best and we hope to accommodate you again, hopefully for more nights!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,258 in Rome
276 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#137 of 1,258 in Rome
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,258 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#77 of 1,258 in Rome
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing