We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can not fault this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Ranked #256 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“can not fault this hotel”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Just returned from a short break in Rome, a last minit booking. Read some of the reports about this hotel and was a bit wary after i booked but on arrival was very surprised . i have never seen a European hotel as clean as this and the staff were all friendly and very helpfull from arrival to departure. The resturant was a little expensive but it was well worth paying that little bit extra as the food was excellent.The area is very quiet but is only a short bus ride or a quick ride via the train which stops just round the corner. I will definately use this hotel if i visit Rome again and would recomend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1961phil1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    412
    172
    55
    41
See reviews for
312
327
26
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

There were many pluses and minus to this hotel. The location was not in the center of historic Rome, but it was not out in the suburbs either. They offer parking which was a bonus for those of us that drove to Rome. When going to historic downtown we took a taxi which was about 17 euro each way which we split between 4 people so it was not that expensive. The breakfast was a nice European style spread. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff that we encountered were very kind and helpful with giving explanations on how to get to specific sites or other information. My only big issues were that the beds were very hard (compared to what I personally prefer, but certainly not a wooden board) and the Wi-Fi service was terrible. I had to go to the lobby to get service and even then it required me to reboot my computer every half hour or so. Normally Wi-Fi is not so important to me but since I was trying to find hotel accommodations for the next day in Venice, I really needed it.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Awfull experience!!!!
Hard bed, bad service at the front desk, you have to reserve the shuttle to the Vatican at least one day ahead, and it is always full anyway. So you would have to walk, because waiting for the public bus is too long and the train station nearby is not the one you need to go to the attractions that you came to see .
THEY SELL YOU THIS HOTEL LIKE IF IT IS IN VATICAN CITY. IT IS NOT!!!!! It is at a 40-50 minutes walking distance.
The restaurant is always closed, except for the poor breakfast.
It is in the middle of nothing, and there are no restaurants, stores or life around.
No tour will want to pick up you here because it is not considered to be in the city.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ialfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
STAY WITH US, YOU WON'T REGRET IT !

I'm sorry this Guest did not like the stay with us but what they say is not true, and of course it is not enjoyable to have people saying things that are not true ... we accept the bad reviews, they help us to improve, but not when they don’t say the truth.
If you check on Google maps you see that we are only 1.5 km far from Vatican City, so to walk is not more than 20 minutes, we don't say anywhere that we are in the Vatican City, we say the truth, that we are 1.5 Km far from Vatican City, about 20 minutes walk for most people, most of our Guests are able to use our free shuttle but of course there is limited seats and based on the schedule is possible that no all the Guests will be able to use it, but besides our Free shuttle you can use the public bus, and the train around the corner and the metro at 10/15 minutes walking distance, it is true that Bus transportation is not so good in Rome, never on time, but this is the way it is in Rome and it will be the same everywhere you stay in Rome.
Our Restaurant is always open, I don't why they say it is closed, for breakfast we have a big buffet with lots of choices.
In the area around the hotel there is also many restaurants and stores, to consider that we are located in a residential neighborhood, not in the historical centre, so if you choose us, you are not in the city centre, but you save lots of money for the room rent, you are in a modern hotel, consider that all the hotels in the city centre are old, and you can sleep during the night as in the city there will be always lots of noisy.
I think I gave you lots of reasons to stay with us, then the 80% of our reviews tell you the same, so you can trust me and most of the Guests have already been here.
Thanks and Best Regards
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in an off-beat location but with the railway station just around the corner. It provides shuttle service to Vatican City and downtown but the reception made no attempt to offer it to us even when we asked for directions to the city. We were curtly told to take bus 990 at the bus stop outside Carrefour Express. When asked for clarifications to directions, the guy at reception said, "You will know when you get there. This is not like your country." Extremely rude!

When we later found out about the shuttle service, we asked why he didn't tell us about it when we asked for directions. He said he didn't have the obligation to tell us because we didn't ask about the "shuttle"!

The wifi was good though and there's a supermarket just two minutes away. If you don't mind poor service, bad location and bad breakfast, the room is actually not too bad.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
WE ARE DEFINATELY WALKING DISTANCE FROM VATICAN CITY !

Second review in a row where I have to say that we are close enough to Vatican City to walk, I think if you are 20 minutes walking distance from an attraction you can say that you are walking distance from it ... right?
We give to all our Guests when they check-in a map and a shuttle schedule and in case we forget, I'm sorry, but there is always one on the front desk printed in a board to inform everybody about it and remind everybody about it.
I'm Sorry if the Guests felt rude what the front desk said to them, when you speak a foreign language sometimes you tend to translate thing not in an appropriate way, so I'm really sorry if that felt rude.
Thanks and Best Regards
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel itself is nice,rooms are quite good if you don't mind warmness (in December we have windows open all the time and it's still warm) and their breakfast is ok if you don't expect English full breakfast. Anyway,bacon is not what it's in England. I don't suggest to eat in the hotel at night either,pasta carbonara was peppery and burger and chips came without bread,just burger meat :( but couple of steps away from here is awesome food again :) so,don't eat in the hotel :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward for your next Stay with us.
Warmest Regards,
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We've just come back from our long weekend in Rome and we stayed at the Hotel Tiberio.
It is a very good hotel! It was very clean, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, nice breakfast and a good location.
They have free wifi which was very handy and a free shuttle service, although we didn't use it and walked everywhere.
I am 23 and my boyfriend is 24 and we walked literally everywhere. It took 20 minutes to walk to the Vatican and everything else was within walking distance and easy to find, especially with the complimentary map the hotel provides.
I don't understand the people that complain about the breakfast, as it was complimentary and certainly kept us going through our active days. In fact, we would eat breakfast and then not need a meal again until about 8pm!
The room was nice, although there are only 2-3 English speaking channels out of many and they are the news.
Obviously though, being in Italy means you get Italian TV!
The staff were very friendly and greeted us whenever they saw us. Some of them spoke very good English and were very helpful after I checked out and realised I had stupidly left my passport in the room!
Beware of the City tax at €3 per person per night. It can all add up!
Also, I didn't have dinner in their restaurant so I cannot comment, but just down the road from the hotel is a Restaurant called Ristroante Caselli and it was absolutely divine!
I have also written a review for that Restaurant and would recommend that anyone staying at this hotel visits this Restaurant!! Very reasonable price too :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward for your next Stay with us.
Warmest Regards,
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We checked in on the 4th of November 2013. When we asked for directions and the hotel shuttle bus service, the receptionist was very very rude and unhelpful and did not want to even attempt to help answer our questions. The next day when we approached reception for help regarding making a phone call due to problems with our check-in with the airlines, he cut us off immediately without even bothering to understand the plight that we were in and said that there was no way that he could help us make a local call to the airlines so that something could be done. Certainly would not be coming back to this hotel even with the rather good rooms because of the huge lack of human touch. Thumbs down

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zatch96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
I'm really sorry that the Front Desk Staff was not able to assist you properly and gave you the impression do not have that human touch that we try to pursue.
We truly appreciate your feedback and we hope you can give us a second chance.
Warmest Regards,
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#168 of 1,257 in Rome
254 reviews
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#307 of 1,257 in Rome
1,288 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#51 of 1,257 in Rome
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
#637 of 1,257 in Rome
851 reviews
Monteverde
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
#396 of 1,257 in Rome
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tiberio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tiberio

Property: Grand Hotel Tiberio
Address: Via Lattanzio 51, 00136 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#228 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tiberio 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Tiberio is a 4 star hotel in Rome which is located in the exclusive residential area of Balduina, 15 minutes away from the Vatican museums, the imposing St Peter's Basilica and close to all major artistic and cultural attraction in the city of Rome. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle service to Vatican City and city centre. Located about 1 km from the Hotel "Rome Cavalieri Hilton," home of the most important conference events in Rome, and well served by public transportation, this prestigious hotel is the ideal choice both for business and leisure trips. The Grand Hotel Tiberio is tastefully and elegantly furnished, has an elegant lobby bar and also a large and comfortable restaurant "Le Terrazze di Tiberio" where a buffet breakfast is served each morning and where the guests can enjoy a fine dining experience in the evenings. The hotel also has a "Wellness Area" which includes gym and Sauna, perfect for relaxing and a FREE WI-FI system in all the common areas and bedrooms. The 91 rooms of this prestigious hotel are spacious, bright and tastefully furnished. All rooms are equipped with every comfort: free WIFI, controllable air conditioning, minibar, satellite TV, soundproof windows, safety deposit box, direct telephone line, private bathroom with shower or bathtub and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Tiberio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing