We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A huge mistake on arrival but they certainly made up for it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Ranked #254 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We arrived Sunday 17th November to be told there were no rooms for the six people in our group. The manager spoke on the phone and offered me an alternative room in a hotel nearby. I was not happy with this arrangement and persisted with my insistence that the rooms be found. Eventually he offered me a three course meal and wine for the six of us in his hotel with wine. Plus taxis to and from our temporary hotel. When we were checked in the next evening after a busy day sightseeing the receptionist was superb with his professionalism. We were shown to our rooms where management had sent us a complimentary bottle of wine for each room. the rooms were very tastefully decorated. the beds were comfortable and the level of cleanliness outstanding. I could only complain about the heat which welcomed us on entry. It was stifling. However we worked out the air con quickly and settled in. The restaurant offers quality food well presented with lovely service. Breakfast was plentiful. Well presented food was offered on a buffet style service. The reception area is tasteful and well appointed.
The location is in a residential area with no restaurants close by. But a quick cab into the city sorts this out. Complimentary shuttle to the city during the day is good and on time
All in all a thumbs up from us

Room Tip: The front rooms have poor views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackpoolAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback..
Warmest Regards,
Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 980 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

We recently spent three nights at the Grand Hotel Tiberio in Rome and found the staff to be helpful and quick to respond to our requests. Clean, updated and comfortable...all except for the beds which were extremely hard. The bartender service alone made up for it and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback..
Warmest Regards,
Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from 10 November 2013 for 4 nights. From the moment we enter the foyer, we were amazed by the beautiful modern decor and cleanliness. Rooms spacious, with high ceilings, cool and clean. Staff very friendly (esspecially Muhammad very helpful).
On the down side, the mattress was very hard and uncomfortable for my 27 week pregnant wife, but they moved us to a different room the next day and offered to give her a few extra pillows for comfort.
Also getting a bit cold at night and no heating in rooms. Or else centrally switched off. When we mentioned it, they gave us an extra blanket.
Breakfast was lovely and plenty to choose from. Open till 10h20. Plenty of time to get there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moctar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback..
Warmest Regards,
Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We've travelled quite a bit and the couple with us are real jet setters ...... so this review comes from a position of experience. The Grand Hotel Tiberio is a great place to stay, yes you meet real people - not all of whom wear that fake smile of corporate instruction - but if you're OK with them, they'll be fine with you. For those reviewers who get on their high horse - hotel staff are generally poorly paid working long hours, they are there only to provide a service ; not be your servants.
Rant over - this hotel is perfect for touring Rome and the staff are helpful. Rooms are fine/good and breakfast is perfectly acceptable. Location is great if you're willing to take on the rail, metro, bus. Left out the door and left again to the Tabach shop - Euro6 for an integrated ticket and get the train right next door. One stop to the tube and Rome opens up before you.
Alessandro is extremely helpful on reception and the staff throughout the hotel were great with us.
We are definitely going back - probably to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback..
Warmest Regards,
Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked family room 4 people and the room was fantastic. On 5th floor with huge balcony and two seperate bedrooms (like an apartment). The hotel is away from town centre but just a 20 minute walk to Vatican. After reading another review about the train station just being around the corner (left out of hotel then first left again- 2mins) and how train tickets are purchased from the shop by the station for just 6euros each which are valid till midnight, we opted to travel around by train- so easy. Its just one train stop to the red metro line and we were jumping on and off getting everywhere in a matter of minutes. The metro runs till 1.30pm and last train to hotel is 10.30pm. We had a lovely stay at the Tibero.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Holidaycrew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A wonderful experience immediately from stepping in the hotel. The staff is very polite and gracious. Everyone was efficient and professional. Great attention to cleanliness in all aspects of the hotel. A beautiful Hotel in a residential neighborhood. Free shuttle service to Vatican City and Downtown Rome, one must schedule at least a day in advance. Dominico the shuttle driver is kind and accommodating with ones ride to ensure quality service.
Location was a 20 minute walk to the Vatican City. Quiet area. Easy access to train and bus. Approximately a 10 minute bus ride to the Vatican area. Good places to eat. Safe and secure area. I would stay at the hotel again should I return to Rome.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the front of the hotel on the higher floors for a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SearchingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was a great start for our group tour. Since it seems to be in a residential area of Rome, you are a little outside the main tourist areas. It was kind of fun though, to be in a residential area where ordinary Romans go about their daily lives. There was a great little children's park we walked to and just enjoyed sitting watching life happen. The first room we were assigned was at one end of the building where the sun was flooding in and the AC was not working properly. Hence, the room was boiling hot so we asked for another room and the hotel staff was very accommodating and moved us very quickly. That said, the first night seemed quite warm but things seemed to be fixed for the second night of our stay. Toilet didn't seem to flush properly all the time. The included breakfast was quite typical of what was provided but I found there was enough choice re cold meats, cheese, breads, juice, fruits and yoghurt. The specialty coffees were from an automatic machine and if you got one from the bar, it cost extra. The one dinner that was provided was good with several courses. The second night, we found a lovely restaurant a short walk from the hotel that seemed to be family run. Their home-made pizza's were excellent as were the salads and wines. Other dinners seemed to be equally good according to another couple on our tour. Gelato shop was also nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rustyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#54 of 1,271 in Rome
3,385 reviews
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#313 of 1,271 in Rome
1,389 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#169 of 1,271 in Rome
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tiberio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tiberio

Address: Via Lattanzio 51, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#228 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $70 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tiberio 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Tiberio is a 4 star hotel in Rome which is located in the exclusive residential area of Balduina, 15 minutes away from the Vatican museums, the imposing St Peter's Basilica and close to all major artistic and cultural attraction in the city of Rome. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle service to Vatican City and city centre. Located about 1 km from the Hotel "Rome Cavalieri Hilton," home of the most important conference events in Rome, and well served by public transportation, this prestigious hotel is the ideal choice both for business and leisure trips. The Grand Hotel Tiberio is tastefully and elegantly furnished, has an elegant lobby bar and also a large and comfortable restaurant "Le Terrazze di Tiberio" where a buffet breakfast is served each morning and where the guests can enjoy a fine dining experience in the evenings. The hotel also has a "Wellness Area" which includes gym and Sauna, perfect for relaxing and a FREE WI-FI system in all the common areas and bedrooms. The 91 rooms of this prestigious hotel are spacious, bright and tastefully furnished. All rooms are equipped with every comfort: free WIFI, controllable air conditioning, minibar, satellite TV, soundproof windows, safety deposit box, direct telephone line, private bathroom with shower or bathtub and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Tiberio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing