We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quaint hotel~”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Ranked #254 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice quaint hotel~”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Not exactly located near the city centre, however an adventurous soul like me could easily walk around the entire neighbourhood. I like the fact that there is a nearby Cold Storage supermart, and a couple of cafes and shops around.

The hotel staff were pretty helpful, especially when I needed to exchange for more Euros and not everywhere accepts Singapore Dollars. Even giving me directions to the nearest cash machine which may accept certain credit cards.

The hotel room was pretty alright, kind of old-looking. But I did experienced electric trips the two nights my friend and I stayed there. The first night was not too bad with just 1-2 times of tripping and a short moment of blackout. The second night the electric power trip more than 3 times.

Breakfast-wise, there was not much of a good selection. Hence I just had coffee and some pastries (which tasted average). Overall, I doubt I would stay in the hotel if I were to visit Rome again as much as I like to explore, being around a neighbourhood area just was not my idea of a hotel environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward for your next Stay with us.
Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    416
    173
    55
    41
See reviews for
316
328
26
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have frequently visited Rome, staying in a range of hotels from luxury to budget. This trip was a family trip bringing my mum and boyfriends mum and her friend to Rome for a day, driving from Naples. I chose this hotel for its great rate, but was slightly worried it was not in the centre of town.
However I needn't have worried. Although the hotel was in a residential area, but it was only 5/10 mins taxi from everywhere I wanted to go. There are regular shuttles in the morning into town, but not in the afternoon, which wasn't a problem for us. There is only one shuttle in the evening, but a taxi was only 15 euro.
The free, safe parking was a bonus.
Upon check in, I had mistakenly booked two double bedrooms, but the receptionist was very polite and quick to switch them to twin rooms.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful and fresh.
Lunch was very nice and the service was outstanding. Especially from Dominique and Raphael, who took the time to speak to my party and made them feel very special. All the ladies were impressed with the service. So much so we ate at the restaurant again before departing, good value for rome with great food and service once again. A nice treat after being ripped off everywhere in rome all day.
The rooms are basic, but very clean. Not a luxury hotel, but a very reasonably priced one and very friendly indeed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToniTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward for your next Stay with us.
Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I selected this hotel mainly for its price, its ratings, and its (apparent) proximity to the Vatican. We arrived via the Appiano Proba Petronia station. Leaving the station we went right on Via Appiano and then right again onto Via Lattanzio. The hotel seems to be in a mostly residential area. It has a decidedly non-touristy feel, meaning mostly there aren't a ton of restaurants in the area, or attractions of any kind really.

You can walk south to the Cipro metro station to get into the main city. The walk is about 15 minutes at a moderate pace. If you want to walk to the Vatican I'd budget for about 20-30 minutes of not terrible difficult walking. If you want to eat in the area, do your homework. We mostly settled for eating in the center of the city, and ate at the restaurant once. It was actually decently priced and decently tasty food. Room service adds a 5 euro convenience charge of course.

The hotel itself is quite nice and feels large and upscale compared to your average Euro hotel. The staff is helpful and speaks good English. The lobby is very large and has a lot of seating. We were able to get into our room at about noon which was awesome.

The rooms themselves are large with a nice sized bed, although a little hard. The bathroom was large as well. There is air conditioning, but we had a hard time getting it to work or figure out if it was on heat or cooling. We also found out that they turn it off at 10pm every night and then back on at some point in the morning. Not sure what the reason for that is (assume to save power?), but you may need to open the window for true cooling.

The hotel features free and unsecured wifi, which is both a nice thing and a worrying thing. I prefer there be some type of password encryption, so be aware of that.

The hotel offers a lot of transportation options, and most likely they get a cut of some of it. One nice feature is a free shuttle to the city center that departs at various times during the morning usually. However the shuttle only seats 8 people and must be reserved ahead of time. Every single trip was sold out during our stay, so we were never able to use it. The hotel will attempt to sell you an expensive ride to the airport. We opted to take the 8 euro train ride from Appiano. The first train left around 6:30 AM and takes a little over an hour to get into FCO.

Overall it's difficult to say whether or not i'd stay here again. The hotel is very nice and the rate wasn't too bad considering the time of year and the quality of the hotel. The location isn't terrible, but it also isn't very close to the main attractions. However, if you are going to stay in the heart of things, it will get expensive quickly.

One last thing, the hotel features a free continental breakfast from 7-10:30 am. We had this once, and it was really a great breakfast, one of the best and highest quality I have ever had, especially for a European hotel. I was impressed with the selection and quality of the food offered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us.
We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward for your next Stay with us.
About the internet, to make easy and fast for our Guests we have it FREE and without password that sometimes with smarphones is impossible to type in ..., not having a password doesn't mean is not safe, that depends on the security of your device not of the network.
Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I came here for the first time ever to the hotel and Rome and was really nice I loved both the prices were a little steep but I'm from the north of England it's quite cheap for most stuff here
The hotel was nice and the staff really helpful they helped with buses and transport around Rome food in the hotel was really nice we decided to eat here more than once because it was so good
Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip85eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us.
We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward for your next Stay with us.
Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although I was originally assured by Air Canada, that this hotel was about a mile from The Vatican, and a great choice for ease in access, the hotel's shuttle was a great help when we realized the HUGE exaggeration by Air Canada on their distance location. The hotel was very clean and breakfast was very thorough with cereals, juices, eggs, bacon, sausages, breads and muffins and fresh fruit and cheeses. A great selection for an included breakfast from my experience and all in buffet style. No indoor swimming pool and the one outdoors was not yet open which frustrated my 11 yr old grandson. Hotel staff were more than helpful and I was using a walker which made everything a little more challenging, but every person we encountered assisted with a smile, even before being approached. Sleeping was a little difficult in the room we were in as we could hear a high pitched whining motor sound on and off each night. Because we were only there for 2 nights, we didn't worry about complaining. We did find the room quite warm which is why we opened our window, bringing in the night noise. In speaking with another hotel guest, we were warned about the hot rooms. I don't think this is a regular problem, but a common dilemma of the spring season where everyday can be different temps. Not great Internet but not a problem for us. Hotel is not an easy commute to Rome city centre.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor looking out the rear - very poor view, but we got an amazing deal on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takemeaway223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us.
We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward for your next Stay with us.
About the distance from The Vatican City we are about 1 mile far from it.
About the A/C we don't switch off during the night, only we set it lower as for the italian regulations to save the enviroment and the energy we have to set it at the minimum power during the night when the air il cooler.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penne, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

5 of us arrived hours earlier than the standard check in time and just needed to be in a room pronto due to exhaustion an obvious 8 hr flight time funk! We were given the first available rooms but then decided that for $300.00 a night we wanted a balcony view. When we kindly requested this of the manager, he obliged us with pleasure even after we'd already showered in the first rooms. The new room view was amazing, staff - super friendly and helpful and a modern design that suited our styles. Located close to banks, cafes and a bustling little residential area, we could walk around and site see with ease. Then only a 20 minute walk to the Vatican!!! The concierge called us a taxi both to go into town for drinks and Karaoke at night which was the BOMB, and then to the port the next day for our cruise. I will come back to this hotel as it was a most enjoyable pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: Always go with a balcony view... room was a hit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reesipnutbutrcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us.
We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward for your next Stay with us.
Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Row, England
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Room was large and clean. We were a family of 4 (room 519) plenty of room but Wi-Fi didn't reach the room so only had wi fi if we were out of room, beds were hard as rocks, woke up every morning with aches in whole body. Free breakfast was great. Free shuttle van to city guy was great very nice. Staff in hotel were helpful with locations but didn't act like they really wanted to help. We asked if we could buy 2 stamps to send out postcards were told they had stamps but we had to go to post office in city to buy stamps and send out postcards. Also, computers in lobby you have to pay 2 euro per 30 mins to use. No laundry area to wash your own clothes, have to use laundry service in hotel which is really expensive or go into city to wash clothes. Hotel did have a car park, definitely 1st come 1st served thou...only fits about 8-10 vehicles depending on size of vehicle and how people park. Only 2 restaurant's around hotel within close walk that are worth your time and money. Most were very expensive and not good portion size's at all. Bus stop by hotel we didn't use (bus 990) because you had to find the bus spots and then try to figure out what bus pass to buy @ automatic machines before bus arrived or left. We walked a lot...couple times took cabs which were pretty pricey, since meter moves by 10 euro cents even while sitting still. From right by Rome city center to hotel tiberio cheapest taxi was 10.00 euro. So all in all pretty good hotel, just be prepared for lots of walking, hard as rock beds and staff that acts like they don't want to talk to you!! : )

Room Tip: Not sure on other rooms but if you want free wi fi don't get rooms far from internet server. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjbrown07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us, I like to say that “Our Staff is friendly and always ready to help, and we are in a perfect position to get to the major attraction in Rome”.

I wish to comment your review:

1.The beds are new and not "hard" but orthopedic, that means that the good beds to sleep are a little bit hard as your back must stay in a correct position while you sleep to prevent from pain, so our beds are for our Guests to sleep well and have the back in the right position;
2. Probably you had communication issue with our Staff, and I'm sorry about it ... we don't sell stamps but there is post office or tobacco shop around the corner where you can buy stamps, on the local map we gave you when you check-in is clearly marked everything you need around the hotel, there is lots of restaurants as well at a good price beside our Restaurant in the Hotel;.
3. We have free WIFI, in the lobby we have Guests to pay euro 1.90 for use our computers for half hour as you have also a printer and you can print all you want;
4. We are very close to all major attractions and if you are willing to use a bus/metro and experience Rome and “do as Romans do” you will get anywhere easily and pay only 1.50 cent, that's the cost of the single ticket in Rome for public transportation;

We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward for your next Stay with us.
Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#170 of 1,257 in Rome
275 reviews
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#310 of 1,257 in Rome
1,309 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#51 of 1,257 in Rome
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
#653 of 1,257 in Rome
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tiberio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tiberio

Property: Grand Hotel Tiberio
Address: Via Lattanzio 51, 00136 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#140 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#228 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tiberio 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Tiberio is a 4 star hotel in Rome which is located in the exclusive residential area of Balduina, 15 minutes away from the Vatican museums, the imposing St Peter's Basilica and close to all major artistic and cultural attraction in the city of Rome. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle service to Vatican City and city centre. Located about 1 km from the Hotel "Rome Cavalieri Hilton," home of the most important conference events in Rome, and well served by public transportation, this prestigious hotel is the ideal choice both for business and leisure trips. The Grand Hotel Tiberio is tastefully and elegantly furnished, has an elegant lobby bar and also a large and comfortable restaurant "Le Terrazze di Tiberio" where a buffet breakfast is served each morning and where the guests can enjoy a fine dining experience in the evenings. The hotel also has a "Wellness Area" which includes gym and Sauna, perfect for relaxing and a FREE WI-FI system in all the common areas and bedrooms. The 91 rooms of this prestigious hotel are spacious, bright and tastefully furnished. All rooms are equipped with every comfort: free WIFI, controllable air conditioning, minibar, satellite TV, soundproof windows, safety deposit box, direct telephone line, private bathroom with shower or bathtub and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Tiberio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing