We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic 2 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Veneto Palace Hotel
Ranked #303 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Glen Innes
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic 2 star hotel”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Situated in a grubby area, but maybe that is what you expect in Rome. Do not expect to be able to make a coffee in your room or iron a garment, or have a bathroom tissues. Decor very outdated torn drapes, no carpet, broken and chipped spa bath, cheap beds, that are hard but just OK. No laundry facilities on the weekend. Small room but it was quite with no road noise. Plenty of towels.
Small television that is 2.5 meters approximately of the floor with a very bad picture quality so expect a sore neck if you choose to watch. Breakfast was excellent, staff both front office and restaurant very helpful. Italy must have a different star rating system compared to the USA, UK, and Australia. So if a hotel advertises 4 star in Italy, think 2 star for Australian standards.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    301
    189
    38
    18
See reviews for
149
405
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nites in April for my husband bday. Amazing!!!!! Hotel was better than we ever thought. Very clean beautiful room, the whole hotel was like nothing we have stayed in before. We were offered a reduced rate for breakfast which was lovely and a great start to a busy day sightseeing. If we ever return to Rome we will be booking this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mrssteders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed for two days and encountered the most unfriendly arrogant staff I have ever met at a hotel. Ad says free breakfast and they refused to give us breakfast so went to a cafe. Restaurnant is only open for breakfast and everything closed on Sunday when we arrived. Room very small, hardly room to pass. Travel agent told me free shuttle service. Shuttle service was placing a call for us for a taxi. Very expensive hotel. I had been traveling with Cosmo and found the hotels with Cosmo very good. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Very bas experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Veneto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Veneto Palace.
We are deeply concerned to read that you did not enjoy it.
We are sure there was a misunderstanding with the agency.
We are sorry if you were expected to have the breakfast and the shuttle for free. Perhaps, you were told that both services were available, but with extra charge.
Surely, you were disappointed about this point and this misinterpretation affected negatively your stay. You got the impression that everything was wrong. On the other hand, you understand that if some services are not included in the reservation we are not able to guarantee them.
Thank you for expressing your point of view
Best Regards,
Flavia Paglialonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Well-appointed hotel located close to Via Veneto and Villa Borghese. The rooms are clean and lavishly decorated with good hanging space, bar fridge, hair dryer, clothesline, etc. We were happy with the service from the staff, who were efficient and courteous. We had a pair of pants cleaned and they were returned very promptly. The only thing we didn't really like was the area - it's quite a distance from the historical centre and we felt it lacked a bit of personality (having previously stayed in the historical centre). You can walk easily to the Spanish Steps and a bit further to Piazza del Popolo, but you might want to take a taxi or bus if going further. There are several restaurants nearby for dining choices. The included breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, so it was easy to use the stairs rather than wait for the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MumTheOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Veneto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at Hotel Veneto Palace. Nice to read, that you enjoyed your stay, especially the very central location – only a few steps from Via Vittorio Veneto and our professional and very helpful staff. We understand your point about the distance, Rome is a huge city and the travelers get the impression that everything is far.
Rome is so big and there are so many things to see, all the best monuments, museums and churches are located quite far from each other. If you compare other Italian cities like: Florence , Milan or Naples to Rome you will notice that the monuments and the main attractions are located in the center and you do not need to walk a lot to reach them. In Rome the center is enormous and from one attraction to another there is quite to walk.
We really appreciate your comment and look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards from Roma.
Flavia Paglialonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Hotel Veneto this past week. It is a lovely little hotel in a nice neighborhood away from the Easter mob scene. The staff is excellent in every way, from the front desk, to the smiling breakfast barista/servers, to the bartender, to the polite maid service. We always received professional, friendly, and most attentive service from the staff. Mille grazie a tutto.

The breakfast buffet was a very nice selection of Italian breakfast pastries, some cold cuts (salumi) and cheese, breads, cereals, fruit salad, fresh fruit, and non-Italian type of coffee. HOWEVER, be sure to request cappucino (fantastic, among the best we had in Rome!) and espresso for those who don't like their "americano style" coffee. (In response to a previous comment: the juices were not so good, I admit, but that is a small complaint. If you must have your eggs and bacon and all that stuff, just skip the breakfast deal and go to a restaurant for goodness sakes! But when in Rome.... etc!)

As for our room, a triple, it was very nice, with a well appointed bathroom, yes--with hooks for towels, and in contrast to a previous comment, a door complete with a lock! I have stayed in many hotels in Italy, and although this was the not the best I have ever stayed in (nor was it the most expensive!), it certainly rates among the nicer ones. Unless you are very fussy and require an absolutely top-notch American style hotel, for which you will pay dearly, I would highly recommend the Hotel Veneto. (And regarding another comment, who needs to watch a large screen tv in Rome? Really?)

There is a bus stop a block away on V. d. Boncompagni that can connect you everywhere. I don't recommend walking to Trevi fountain, it's too far. You can easily walk to the Via Veneto and the best gelato place we went to in Rome on V. Pieve & V. Venti Settembre called La Romana. All of the hotel's recommended restaurants (Cesarina, La Pentolaccia, and La Lampeda) were really good.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, be aware that there is traffic in the front of the hotel that may disrup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Veneto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at Hotel Veneto Palace. Nice to read, that you enjoyed your stay, especially the very central location– only a few steps from Via Vittorio Veneto and our professional and very helpful staff.
We are extremely thankful to read that you liked the breakfast and our fantastic cappuccino.
We really pay attention to our Guests opinions, and we find your point of view really important.
Thank you again for your kind words,

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Flavia P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We went to Rome for four nights this April, got back yesterday, for my husband's 50th. This was a great base for our visit! All staff we encountered were polite and helpful. Our room was clean throughout. Sheets and towels changed daily. We had free mini bar in our package which was replenished every day-not that we drank it all but cold water after a long day walking and site seeing was well received- I wouldn't bother with the wine though!! However, the wine in the bar was good and on a par, cost wise with local area. I was disappointed there was not any coffee making facilities in the room. If I was being 'pickie', the room could have been slightly bigger but was sufficient.
We did not eat at our hotel, having asked about breakfast before we left, we decided that 15 Euros each for breakfast was expensive especially as within minutes you could get coffee and croissant for less than 2 each!! It's a shame they don't offer anything in the way of room service or snacks in the bar but that certainly didn't spoil our visit.
We thought we had a very good four star experience whilst staying in Rome! Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor 2 doors away from the lift. We did not get any noise from people gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Veneto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Sarah,
We are so glad to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us.
We try our best to go above and beyond and we are happy to hear that we were abel to fulfil your expectations.
Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are really appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team.

We look forward to your next visit!
Warm Regards,
Flavia P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days. Other than fairly decent location, everything else is poor.
There is one chair only in a very small lobby, room was small with no view at all, no nightstands, not even a trash can. No towels hangers in the bathroom. We had to ask for a box of tissues twice. No room service. Breakfast in the morning for € 9 per person includes one type of cheese, 3 types of cold cut meat, Tang type of OJ, horrible coffee and that's it! Walls are thin and you should pray that your next door neighbor is not noisy in order to sleep .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzylora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Veneto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Veneto Palace.
We are deeply concerned to read that you did not enjoy it. Perhaps, you did not notice the comfortable sofas in the lobby. We are sorry that the size of the room did not meet your expectations, but the size respects the italian standard.
Referring the maintenance of our rooms, we really take care of details and we reassure you that the furniture is hand made. Kindly note that all our rooms are fully equipped trash can included and towels hangers in the bathroom.
Thank you for expressing your point of view.
Regards,
Flavia Paglialonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Romanico Palace
Hotel Romanico Palace
#280 of 1,261 in Rome
1,685 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#295 of 1,261 in Rome
1,360 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#342 of 1,261 in Rome
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#215 of 1,261 in Rome
895 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#349 of 1,261 in Rome
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veneto Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veneto Palace Hotel

Property: Veneto Palace Hotel
Address: Via Piemonte 63, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#325 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Veneto Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel (opened in 1962; building dates from 1800) situated near Via Veneto shops & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Veneto Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veneto Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing