We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bitter Dissappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gioberti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gioberti
Ranked #669 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
melbourne
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Bitter Dissappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during our visit to Rome. Ut We were split as a family across two the first issue. The so called wi fi we could not tell if it was free it did not work. The food is average to say the least and breakfast to be honest was a mistake because we were ovffered a brown paper bag package. As for the staff the we're at the very least off putting, rude and taciturn. my children were very upset. We could not recommend this establishment again and we were lucky to shift the next day as the ambience just is not there

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank neilbidgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gioberti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gioberti, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your review our Hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    198
    161
    41
    35
See reviews for
98
181
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel was an unknown quantity when we booked it, but we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived there. Its location is outstanding in terms of proximity to the Termini, from which all parts of Rome are accessible by metro and bus. The locality is a little gritty, but this is typical of station precincts in nearly all large cities anywhere in the world, and is not the fault of the hotels. Many of the hotels, including Gioberti, have gone to some trouble to improve their immediate surrounds. Ignoring the usual goings-on one normally encounters around big stations, the Termini's large concourses have shops selling everything you would reasonably need, including a large department store and an excellent bookshop.
There are numerous restaurants just a few steps from the hotel, and we also found a well-stocked convenience store just one street block away.
The staff were very helpful with anything we asked about, and even followed up on goods that were accidentally left on a tour bus.
There is a busy bus stop right outside the hotel, and we had a room overlooking the street. However, the glazing was sufficient to keep the traffic noise out, and we were not troubled at all by external noise.
The room was very satisfactory, with the only quirk being the tiny shower cubicle.
The breakfast offerings were very good, and well beyond the continental-style breakfast that we were expecting.
Overall, this hotel was very good value for money, and a good place from which to enjoy the excitement of Rome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zitkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gioberti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gioberti, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We arrived at the Roma Termini & had not organized any accommodation in Rome. We wanted to find a place to stay nearby so that we didn't need to drag our luggage too far! Therefore, we booked Hotel Gioberti from an internet cafe near the station.

Positives:
- The Room & Bathroom were both very spacious, and clean.
- Close to the Termini (if you wanted to be, however there are far nicer places to be based in Rome). Luckily Rome is not so spread out, so we could walk around.

Negatives:
- Shower was not very good. It didn't drain, so you ended up standing in a cold puddle of all the water. Bathroom amenities looked horrible - I would not use them.
- The staff were not very friendly, and certainly not helpful (however we did pass an older gentleman on reception who smiled and said hello & may have been friendly, however we never had to speak to him).
- Being so close to the train station, it felt quite seedy walking home in the evenings - lots of homeless people outside.

We did not eat breakfast here so cannot comment on this.
Would not stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank josephine-simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gioberti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gioberti, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Customer Thank you for your review. We will give due consideration to your suggestions. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel has good size rooms that are clean. Make sure we have a back room away from the street as we did. There is a lot of traffic in this area and if you had a street facing room I can't see you getting any sleep. We were in room 403 and heard almost nothing. Front desk staff are hit or miss, some will help you, others wont give you the time of day. Termini station is 1min away which is great as taxis are sure to try and rip you off, so this way you can just walk over the road to the hotel. Even though when we booked we asked for a double bed and a extra bed in a 3 adults room (they class my daughter as an adult) and then again in an e-mail a few weeks before we left home (New Zealand) which they did reply to and said they had our booking and everything was fine, but we still ended up with 3 single beds. The bathroom is a good size, but the shower is hopeless. Whoever came up with it being side on needs to be fired! We were there mid July 2012 in a 3 Adults Standard Room

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gioberti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gioberti, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Customer, thank you for your time in reviewing our Hotel.
I think I remember the details, the booking was for a double bed plus a cot. We felt it appropriate for the age of your daughter, a few months to 14 years, was a more appropriate a bed, rather than a cot.
With the hope of have made pleasant your stay in Rome,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster, Ireland.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have stayed here on three occasions and was not dissapointed at any time, the Hotel is very close to Termini station, bus and Metro, the rooms are spacious and very clean with fresh towels every day; on my latest stay, we walked to all the main spots, taking our time to view and explore all the little streets along the way, the temp was high 20's to low 30's but there was a nice breeze so walking was not a problem, bring an empty water bottle (no point carrying a full one) and fill up at the many water fountains all around the city for free. The local trattorias are best value for food and there are several around the hotel; The room had good air con and double glazing so no traffic noise, and we were at the front of hotel.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor on this trip, no A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank franceg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gioberti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gioberti, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest thank you on behalf of all the hotel staff for your review.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June/start of July. Reading the majority of negative reviews we were rather apprehensive of staying at the Gioberti, however the hotel was lovely. The room was spacious and had all the things that we needed. The room was spotlessly clean and fresh towels everyday. It is hard to see why there are negative reviews about this, moaning about how hard the beds are?! The breakfast was bland but you could eat easily enough to begin a day sight seeing, we had fresh pastries on a daily basis and bread rolls.
Rome itself is a stunning city, be sure to check out Piazza Navona which is breath-taking especially on a night with all the street acts and a great atmosphere.
All in all, a lovely clean hotel in a great location, 2 minute walk to Termini where you can get the Metro anywhere in Rome for 1.50euros.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gioberti, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gioberti, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks for your time spent to review our hotel.
With the hope to welcome you again, sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel may once have been a stylish - even lavish - place to stay. Not any longer. We chose it based on location, as we had an early train when we were leaving. A big mistake as we learned all through the night the first night. Traffic in this part of town is constant, mostly to a fro the train station. The sound of idling diesel engines greets you instead of a dawn chorus. Hawkers and traders also are in large numbers here, shouting their wares (or just shouting - we couldn't decide). So, naturally, we asked to be moved - we were given a *much* smaller room with no offer of discount on our rate.
Breakfast, we can honestly say, with our hands on our hearts, after many years of experience in travelling all around Europe and in Italy particularly, was the worst we have encountered.
In short, not worth the money - we would stay anywhere else other than here given the chance to return. In fact, we have return to Rome on three more occasions, and never once did it cross our minds to come back to HG 4 stars (the stars are in the name, not awarded).

Room Tip: Ask for one in the rear and make sure it is big enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnapHappyCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gioberti, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Good morning and thanks for the time dedicated to our hotel.
We regret that you did not find satisfaction in to stay with us.
We do our best to satisfy our guests, many times we succeed, sometimes not.
If we had an early warning of a request for quiet interior room, for example at the time of booking, we would have communicated in time if we could satisfy it or not.
Move a client from one room to another is not pleasant for both the customer and the hotel.
For breakfast products are top quality and great variety. Maybe some may not like but this may depend on personal taste.
Renewing the displeasure for your dissatisfaction, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#138 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio Hotel
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#537 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#124 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#159 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#258 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gioberti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gioberti

Property: Hotel Gioberti
Address: Via Gioberti 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#302 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gioberti 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gioberti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioberti Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing